Why we fear trying new things and how I finally got my dad excited about crypto currencysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

'Embracing new things often requires us to embrace our fears, however trivial they may seem. You deal with fear not by pretending it doesn´t exist, but by refusing to give it decision-making authority.' Chris Guillebeau 

The adventurers amoung us may not feel fear, but respect towards change. People like their habits. We appreciate knowing what´s going to happen next. Regardless, life by its nature is not like that. 

There are many constants in life and one of them is CHANGE. 

Why we fear trying new things 

Why do we tend to be resistant to change? Why are we uncomfortable with new processes?  

Hyman Rickover, an ex United States Navy admiral (1900-1986) said once:
'Everything new endangers something old. A new machine replaces human hands; a new source of power threatens old businesses; a new trade route wipes out the supremacy of old ports and brings prosperity to new ones. This is the price that must be paid for progress and it is worth it.' 

Well most people love to be safe. They simply love their cave. They love routines. They enjoy familiarity and sticking with the same approach or method doing something enables them to stay within their comfort zone. 

The comfort zone is a place where we feel content with the processes we are living - because their results are predictable. 

The story about the black door 

Source https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/why-we-fear-trying-new-things-jan-tegze 
That one is copied for @cheetah. I bet you, my lovely bot, will copy that one in your comment 1 minute after publishing the article. If I´ll be right you´ll owe me a beer! 

A general had fallen upon a rather bizarre custom. He permitted the condemned person to make a choice. He could either face the firing squad or pass through the black door and face the unknown horrors. Not knowing what was behind the black door the spy imagined the worst imaginable torture.

Minutes before the execution, the general asked the frightened spy, "What have you chosen: the firing squad or the black door?"

This was not an easy question, and the prisoner hesitated, not knowing what was behind the black door, the spy told the general that he much preferred the firing squad. Not long afterwards, a volley of shots in the courtyard announced that the grim sentence had been fulfilled.

The general, staring at his boots, turned to his aide and said, "You see how it is with men; they will always prefer the known way to the unknown. It is characteristic of people to be afraid of the undefined. And yet I gave him his choice."

"What lies behind the black door?" asked the aide. "Freedom," replied the general, "and I've known only a few men brave enough to take it.

The moral of that story: the unknown scares us. Too much.

There are many constants in life and one of them is CHANGE

Change is an inevitable phenomenon in life. However, most of the people don’t tend to embrace this concept when it comes around. Especially people of an older generation who didn´t grew up in our today´s fast and globalized word have their difficulties in accepting change. 

Fortuntately, there will still be a considerable number of courageous people who forget about their fear and open that black door

The most successful inventions wouldn’t have been possible if some of us had not been willing to keep trying to find a way regardless the numerous 'no you can´t do that' they were facing. 

Finally getting daddy excited for steem

As I already mentioned in some of my previous posts, I am working with my dad. That´s why we spend a lot of time together, share ideas, thoughts, concerns and jokes. Usually we have a common way of looking at things and evaluating them. The only area where we totally disagree is: crypto currency. 

Thanks to steemit I got in touch with digital money for the first time half a year ago. In the beginning I had absolutely no idea about all the concepts related with it. I didn´t even know what a blockchain is. And yes, I was surely sceptical. Even changing your social media habits is a considerable change. 

Now, 6 months later I have forgotten about my previous social media habits, earned almost $1,000 by blogging on steemit and closed my first tradings exchanging Steem into Bitcoin and Bitcoin into Euro. 

Wham! 

Regardless, dad had kept sceptical. It was impossible to convince him of the power this technological evolution provides. It was impossible - until yesterday´s evening. 

Yesterday I invited my mom and my dad for dinner and paid with the money I earned on steemit. Now daddy finally believes in my blogging success and the power of the network behind.
Mom always did. Logical, girls have a better developed (emotional) intelligence :-)

dinnerblackwhitecb1e5.jpg

Final thoughts:
New processes scare us since their results are not predictable. Humans are creatures of habit. We love our cozy comfort zones where everything is going to happen exactly as yesterday. We love routine. 

Regardless, progress needs people who step out of their comfort zones and take others with them. People who tell us: 

It´s been the second time I invited somebody for dinner trying to convince him of crypto currency. That´s a quite expensive marketing!
I´ll have to change my strategy :-)
I hope you enjoyed the read.
Marly - 


Picture sources
Title: pixabay.com
Comfort zone quote: http://www.businesshorsepower.com/wp-content/uploads/
Black door: https://www.linkedin.com/
Everything amazing quote: http://www.thequotepedia.com/images/

IMG_671410d34.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @surfermarly,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Oh wow, what an honor! Thank you so much!!!

Great post! I do believe safety is very alluring to many, especially if that safety brings you a high degree of comfort. On top of that, people's fears get augmented by the "chatter" of the media, telling us things like "9 of 10 new inventions fail!" and "most new businesses have closed by the end of their 3rd year!" For me, statements like that come across as the status quo "marketing" to preserve itself.

Thank you @denmarkguy! You are right. Considering that 'safety' is an especially valuable good these days, it´s comprehensible that people hesitate... The world is moving very fast itself, why complicating things even more?

You are always one step ahead of me! The other day you posted about risk as I was preparing a post which culminated in observing the absence of risk management - now you mention EQ ...
Great post as ever! Suggestion: don't bother marketing or selling - just do the doing and people will see - you have your self-assuredness and the respect of your peers, no doubting that! You are a natural leader.

@ebryans, my advocate! Thank you, you are always too kind and you know that :-)
I wouldn´t ever dare stealing you an idea! Maybe we are just two great minds thinking alike...
Hope you are enjoying your weekend! Big hugs

You have a wonderful rest of weekend too and don't miss the opportunity for the 7 steem contest ...
Collective Noun contest
and contribute to the Steemit Lexicon if you feel an urge of linguistic creativity
Steemit Lexicon
Hugs to you too!

Oh I think that´s something for the natives. For one who doesn´t speak English as a primary language it´s hard to play with words ;-) But I enjoyed the article in any case, thanks!

All our Dads be like "Show me the money!" lol I can relate. That black door story is great, thanks for sharing it

I am happy you liked the black door, I felt the same when I accidentally found it.
Regarding my dad, I swear that he was saying exactly these words: 'Show me that money, and I´ll give it a chance.'
Well then I showed him the money. End of story ;-)

Great post! Upvoted, followed and re-steemed.

Oh you are too kind, thank you!
Following you back :)

Appreciate it! Thx sir.

I´m a lady, sir. But no problem at all :-))

Haha sorry responded to the wrong post :)

Accepted ;-))

Love it! kinda like putting yer money where your mouth is.

Haha, exactly! It was a huge steak to be precise here :-D

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $37.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

400 votes!!!!! Wowowowow!!!

Woooohoooo! Unreal!!!

This was a great title. Doesn't surprise me you are doing well and that this article was so well received.

Logical, girls have a better developed (emotional) intelligence :-)

lol. :)

I presume you agree on intelligent girls...? ;-))
Thank you so much for your kind feedback! The '400' really amazes me and has to be celebrated :-) Wish you a nice day!

You presume correctly and you are funny.

Marly, this was fabulous! I loved it. Especially the first quote. And the black door. Totally relate. Congrats on your dad. :0) And on your earnings as well. Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01