Collective nouns – with several Prizes, totalling 7 Steem - Have some steem weekend fun!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #contest8 years ago (edited)

img

Image: Author

One of my favourite parts of speech is the Collective Noun.

Whoever and however they came about is a mystery in some cases, such as a Crash of Rhinos, a Bouquet of Pheasants or a Murder of Crows.

Here are a selection of Collective Nouns which range from curious, through extraordinary to … someone is on something stronger than Orange Juice!

img

Image: Pixabay

shrewdness of apes
flange of baboons
cete of badgers
sloth of bears
swarm of bees
sedge of bitterns
clash of bucks
wake of buzzards
destruction of cats (wild cats)
rabble of butterflies
army of caterpillars
kine of cattle
cartload of chimpanzees
quiver of cobras
pace of donkeys

img

Image: Pixabay

congregation of crocodiles
parcel of deer
piteousness of doves
parade of elephants
implausibility of gnus
leash of greyhounds
bloat of hippopotami
drift of hogs

img

Image: Author

charm of hummingbirds
smack of jellyfish
exaltation of larks
lounge of lizards
mischief of mice
movement of moles
watch of nightingales
bevy of otter
parliament of owls
bouquet of pheasants
chine of polecats
storytelling of ravens
scurry of squirrels
murmuration of starlings
plump of wildfowl
zeal of zebras

Someone with too much time on their hands has developed an alternative look at the Collective Noun as a part of speech:

A peck of kisses
An absence of waiters
A complement of sycophants
A range of ovens
A bout of estimates
A nun of your business
An annoyance of mobile phones
A lot of auctioneers
A knot of Windsors
A bumble of beekeepers
A wagon of teetotalers
A complex of psychiatrists
A mass of priests
A sulk of teenagers
A whored of prostitutes A crash of software
A muckingfuddle of spoonerisms
A rash of dermatologists
An exces's of apostrophes

The Competition involves the invention of a Collective Noun for the following:

Steemians
Downvoters
Flaggers
1% Voters
Plagiarists

In the interest of humour, if you want to throw in a steemit related Collective Noun, such as an Electorate of Voters or a Gregariousness of Guilds, please feel free, I shall lob in an extra 'Wild Card' category as I think that could produce some classics!

The best in each category will be awarded 1 Steem, the very best will be awarded 1 extra, making 2 Steem.
Competition ends 7pm, New York time, Sunday, 5th February 2017.

Sole arbiter is me. Bribes are very acceptable but will have little (no) bearing upon my decisions!

The exception to this is re-steeming and whale voting, that works very well!

In the meantime, have a great weekend!


Witnesses on steemit are your assurance of confidence in the system.

When you vote for witnesses, think about someone less obvious:

Listed at No. 50 is @timcliff.

@timcliff is a really good steemmate of mine, a very trustworthy and dependable guy who thinks for himself and for you. He is a seasoned developer who is always looking for better ways of doing things but is not one to gloss over obstacles – he solves them.

So, go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses - you need your authorisation password

And be sure to include No. 50 @timcliff

Meantime follow @ebryans

Follow Me for Content:

img

Sort:  

A force of steemians
A drag of downvoters
A signal of flaggers
A pinch of 1% voters
A misrepresentation of plagiarists

These are great @cronk - very creative! I like them all ... a pinch of 1% voters is so descriptive ... but they are all great. Keep going if you feel anything else come to mind - there are no maximums here - just a bit of fun.

Okay, I thought of a few more as it's making my brain happy to think of these: a sinker of minnows, a veto of down voters, a censor of flaggers, a killer of whales, a broiler of steemians.

Great stuff, @kristy1! A censor of flaggers sticks out in this lot , I like it - a killer of whales is always going to meet with a little rebuffing from me as I am a little anal about these matters - a killer whale is not a whale, it is a dolphin - but I very much get where you went with this one!
A broiler of steemians - wonderful imagery!
Thank you for being such a good sport - keep going!

I never knew killer whales were dolphins and it seems like I would have discovered that as a child as free Willy was like the coolest movie ever! I am excited to learn something new today!! Maybe we should call a collection of minnows a killer whale since it looks intense but is really just a dolphin. I prefer a bottleneck of dolphins though.

That's funny - a bottleneck of dolphins!
Yes, orcas are the biggest of the dolphin family and just as intelligent, if not more so - they are adapting in ways which have the scientists absolutely astounded!

Like with the hunting of sharks? I saw something about killer whales learning to trick the shark into jumping a certain way that left them paralyzed almost. I don't remember details but I am sure you have better examples.

A 'revenge' of flaggers
A 'tit-for-tat' of flaggers
A 'copy' of plagiarists
A 'miniscule' of 1% voters
A 'spread' of 1% voters
A 'muddle' of Steemians
A 'sea' of Steemians
An 'ocean' of Steemians

Great work, @nikflossus, I liked a 'revenge of flaggers'! and a 'spread of 1% voters' - you have played this before!! Thank you for taking part. Much appreciated.

Ocean and Copy were excellent choices!

Assholes-Flaggers- lol had to be done

A Plethora of Plagiarists
A Discouragement of Downvoters
An Irritation of Flaggers
A Vapor of 1% Voters
An Excitement of Steemians

Excellent, all of them! Thank you for taking part @papa-pepper - you have plenty of time so come back if more ideas come to mind! Get the kids to do a couple!
By the way, I have a viral music idea which I would like to swing in front of you. Would that be cool with you? I believe you will have a better cross-steemit understanding, especially in this concept!

Sure, run it by me. You can hime up on steemit.chat if you want!

It is all a bit in my head so I am putting some form to it by writing it down. I shall send it through on DM in steemit.chat or we can talk about it on skype if you prefer?

@mama-pepper would have to show me how to skype again... and tonight wouldn't work.

DM on the chat would be good, it would just perhaps take a little longer.

No worries, I would like to just put my excitable thoughts into a format which you can comprehend. So it will be a little while until I get there.
By the way, she is a very beautiful lady! Hats off!!

I always enjoyed "GAGGLE" for geese... as in

A GOOSE & A GANDER WITH A GAGGLE OF GOSLINGS

I have just sent you a word file in steemit.chat - I have stopped short after my pre-amble as I do not want this to be a me thing if I am prepared to share it. I would say though that I do not want the circle to grow. You are the third - actually 4th but one dropped out as he was homest enough to say that he was out of his depth - amazing candour!
Down the track, yes, we will need outside pollinators, thousands of them!

I'll check it

I'm down and i love the idea.

Man, i was on that same post replying too, but missed yours! I like the idea!

Those are excellent @kristy1, I love a forge of plagiarists - that is very good thinking - tough to beat that one! Thank you for joining in! There is plenty of time so if more spring to mind, let them rip!
Have a wonderful weekend.
I shall follow you as you did these so well!!
Woops, I already do - must have seen your brains before.

Awesome. I am glad you already follow me! I followed you before this too. I liked the forge of plagiarist it was my favorite too. I will post more if they come :) enjoy your night.

Fun idea for those that love to "play" with words. Count me in.

A session of Steemians
A denigration of downvoters
A fissure of Flaggers (with fissure meant in the anatomical sense)
A vortex of 1% voters
A polygamy of plagarists

Enjoy this from a master with words:

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

That is a demonstration of enormous skill from a man too old to be able to do it!
You will appreciate Mark Wahlberg and what he learned only to have it cut from the movie!

The follow-up video is hysterical again with Wahlberg, Seth McFarlane and Cyndi Lauper. McFarlane does Lauper songs as if it were South Park!!

A disclosure of Steemians
A hypocrisy of downvoters
A mystery of flaggers
A courtesy of 1% voters
A morality of plagiarists

Such a great competition! I really enjoyed playing with those words. It is such a great exersise. I shall do it more often!

Keep going my friend, if you like, cut-off is 7pm Sunday 5th February NY time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58400.82
ETH 2567.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38