Bone Wars - Chapter 1

in #story6 years ago (edited)

galaxy-note8_design_planet.jpg
http://www.samsung.com/africa_en/smartphones/galaxy-note8/

The following story is a story that I wrote when I was younger it is pretty large so it will be divided into chapters.
i hope you enjoy it

I took a deep breath as the arena doors started to open, hearing the roaring of the crowd as I became visible to them. Millions if not more screamed my name and held up posters and popcorn boxes, dropping most of it out as they were jumping and down. Slowly, I started walking to the center as the crowd started dying out and the thudding of my heart grew louder.
“deep breaths” I whispered to myself while taking it all in.
It was packed as everyone stood shoulder to shoulder. At the opposite end of the arena floated two Mortem’s guarding my opponents still closed gates. Unintentionally I met the one’s eyes and it sent a frozen chill down my spine. These were the kind of creatures, which even your nightmares would be afraid of, and even though I was quite a distance from them I could swear I heard it hissing through its shark teeth as its snake like eyes pierced straight through my soul. The second Mortem payed no attention to me and kept its gaze on the host awaiting my arrival in the center. The host payed him no mind and even giggled as he waited. I’m pretty sure that he was the only one happy about being in here. Once I stood next to him, the opposite doors began to open. His large belly blocked out my opponent and all I could see were two feet walking towards us. It wasn't long before the host stood between two fighters.
“Ladies” his voice echoed as he spoke. “and gentle folk” “My name…” He paused for affect “Is Gustave Boldwinkle” as always he laughed at his own name and the audience joined in. It took a few minutes before he stopped cackling to continue speaking. Taking a deep breath his voice suddenly went deeper as he spoke. “AND THIS ISSS… THE ANNUAL BOAN WARS” He lifted his tentacle like arms causing the already loud crowd to go even louder as the intro music began to play in the background. I closed my eyes and tried to zone it all out. Trying to imagine being in a meadow back on earth. The sun glimmering through the trees and onto my skin, birds rustled the leaves as they flew from branch to branch. Air filled my lungs; a sensational feeling flowed down my throat and reality started flowing back along with it.
Gustave threw a slimy blue tentacle over my shoulder and did the same to my opponent before announcing our names. I let out the air that was still trapped in my lungs, and waited for him to continue
“Quite down, quite down folks and please help me welcome our two very… BRAVE… warriors” He paused for a few seconds and gave a quick glance at each of us. He gave us each a smile, revealing the few teeth he had left.
“To my right” he continued, lifting my arm in the air “We have our long time champion, the one, the only MISS GAILIA ROSENTREE”
He let me go, giving me a nudge to move forward and take a bow. I obliged, and as I went down I caught my first glimpse at my opponent. I was surprised to see that he was human. I have never fought one of my own kind.
“And to my left we have a very new comer to the ring.” He then lifted the young man’s arm. I suddenly noticed a very strange looking tattoo on the shivering hand of my opponent. It looked familiar but I couldn't remember where I had seen it before. It looked like it could be a tribe mark, but witch tribe, was the question.
“So please help me welcome MISTER SHADOW MICLAIN”
Shadow also stepped forward and took a bow. It was clear that he was scared. The fact that his skin was dark didn’t hide the fact that he was pale. He took a step back and Gustave lifted both our hand one last time before the fight began.

It was all just a blur after that. All I remember was looking into the eyes of fear and not long after that, a lifeless body was laying by my feet. It was something I had never gotten used to and just the thought of what I have just done would make me sick to my stomach, but that showed weakness so I tried my best to keep a straight face as the Mortems approached. I watched yet another soul left its beat up and broken down body as it was vacuumed into the mouth of one of the Mortems.
I closed my eyes trying to swallow down my tears as the body below me turned to ash.
This was never something I asked for, none of us ever have, and in a way I kind of envied Shadow because he was out and never had to fend for is life again. He was free.

*“Very well done, maybe next time you can make the fight last a little longer and at least have given the boy a thought of survival.” Solam, my keeper said as I met up with him outside of the arena.
“I don’t have time for games.” I bluntly replied.
“The longer you’re in the ring the more money we-”
“You” I cut him off. He gave me a look of irritation. Blinking his lizard eyes at me.
“WE get payed.” He finished his sentence.
He handed me a towel to wipe my face as we walked towards the autograph stand on the other side of the landing docks.
“You should fix your hair. Someone mhh would someone please fix this mother of all disasters before the whole world sees-”
“That I’m human.” I cut him off again.
“You really need to stop interrupting me Gee” he waved his tail around in frustration.
“And you really need to stop pretending like you care about me”
One of Solam’s many minions was trying to keep up with me while doing my hair. Another one attacked my face with brushes and sticks. I was amazed that they could multitask so well since the both of them only had one brain to share. These two-headed clones always freaked me out but their beauty was every woman’s dream. They had a hypnotic beauty to them that no one could resist. They also made grate assistants since all they wanted to do was please you, which was probably what freaked me out most about them. I would sometimes wonder if they could just be this nice to make taking over the world easier, but Solam seemed to like them which is why he always had at least a dozen of them around him at all times.
“Have you ever thought that maybe I do care. I may be cold blooded, but I’m not cold hearted.”
“All you care about is everything you get when I win.”
We split up before he could reply. I entered the back of the hall and he went to the front. The place was packed with all sorts of creatures. Everyone stood in a line that seemed to never end. It shocked me to see how many of them actually had enough privileges to afford to be in my presence. Some even gave up food privileges just to see me.
“Am I really this important” I mumbled to myself.
I looked out onto all my ‘adoring’ fans. Hours went by, autograph after autograph I had to suffer through hearing how much of an inspiration I was and how everyone wanted to be just like me. Through it all, the only thing I could think about was Sophie. Tomorrow she will be eleven and I won’t be there, yet again. How was I ever going to be there for her? I was the only real family she had and I was gone. Solam woke me from the trance that I was in and reality quickly started fading back into focus. He laid his lizard hand on me and bent down to talk to me.
“We’re done. You need rest”
It was only then that I realised that I still had a marker in my hand, just writing by habit. I put it down and slowly started getting up. I followed Solam and two gourds to a hovercraft waiting for us outside.

signature_4.gif

rsz_460fae561ba736ece444397e4c3b0a805.png https://www.facebook.com/nelnadia96/

rsz_app-icon2.pnghttps://www.instagram.com/nadia_nel96/

rsz_twitter-icon.png https://www.instagram.com/nadia_nel96/

Sort:  

Congratulations @purplerain96! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @purplerain96! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @purplerain96! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88