LOVE LIKE HIS: Chapter 3 – Monday, & Freedom - An Original Story by @papa-pepper

in #story8 years ago

CHAPTER 3: MONDAY & FREEDOM


A much older, bearded Gary parks his car and begins walking towards the fortress. Surrounded by walls, razor wire, and guard towers; Gary appreciates the fact that he has only been a visitor, and that he doesn’t even need to enter this time.


7:47 a.m. At least he’s not late.


Ray has been waiting long enough, and Gary has no intention of adding another minute to that time. He even took vacation today just so he could spend the day helping Ray get settled back into society. Hopefully he’ll like the apartment, and the job. This will make it a three-day weekend anyway for Gary, and it’s not like he’s made any vacation plans for years now, so it’s a wise use of his paid day off of work.


Deeper in the parking lot, a black sedan creeps along.


It stops when it finds a convenient spot with good visibility. A pair of dark sunglasses stare at Gary, but Gary is too preoccupied and excited to notice. The sunglasses in the sedan join the waiting game. Finally the gate buzzes and begins to slide open. Ray exits cautiously.


If he had tried to walk out of here yesterday, they could have shot him.


It’s an almost sickening feeling to simply stroll out into freedom after spending so many years being confined under constant supervision. To Ray, it feels almost like a dream; or perhaps a surreal nightmare. Ray’s clothing is way too tight, testifying to the fact that he was a shorter, thinner man when he arrived here; just a kid actually, although he was old enough to be tried as an adult. Gary quickly walks up to him and embraces him with the kind of hug a mother gives her son when he finally comes home from war alive. Ray returns the embrace and comments, “You know, Gary, if they would have told me when I got here that you would be my welcoming party when I returned to freedom, I would have been terrified.”


Their eyes meet and both almost tear.


Quickly glancing away, Ray adds, “Thanks though, it’s good to have someone.” The sunglasses momentarily hide themselves behind a camera. It begins to click, and a smile appears beneath it.

“We’ve been through this Ray. Don’t worry about it. Matthew 6:12, right?”

“Right, but still, thanks Gary.”

“You’re welcome. Now let’s go get you some real food. Any requests?”

“There is only one thing I really want right now. Do you have a fishing license?”

“Yeah! I’ll swing by my place and grab a pole. We can get you legal soon too, wouldn’t want any more run-ins with the law.” Gary winces and adds, “Sorry, bad joke.”

“It’s okay. I’ve been hearing a lot worse for years now. I’ll let you make it up to me by catching me lunch.”

They jump in the car and head toward Gary’s place.


The sunglasses, still watching, begin to follow.


At the lake the men are talking. Gary apparently gave Ray some of his clothes to wear while he was picking up the tackle. Ray looks much more comfortable, and a little more relaxed. “Here comes another one!” Gary shouts as he jerks his rod and sets the hook.

“That’ll probably be enough huh?”

“You can have as many as I can catch. How do you want to cook ‘em?”

“The past few years in there, all I could think about eating when I got out was some fresh, deep fried fish. I think these out to do it,” Ray says as he raises the stringer, ready to add the one Gary almost has reeled in.

“I’ve got a deep fryer at my place, so we’ll go there for lunch. Then, after that, we can go check your apartment out.”


Ray looks pained, but agrees, “Ok.”


The two walk back up the slope to the car. As they pull away, the black car creeps around the corner and follows.

Back in Gary’s kitchen, crispy fried fish emerge out of the bubbling oil. Gary quickly puts them on some paper towels to suck the excess oil out and to let them cool. Ray looks up at Gary, who nods, “Go ahead.” After Ray prays for the meal, the two begin to eat, and talk.

“That job I was telling you about is ready when you are. I told them you’d probably show up next Monday. I didn’t want to shove you right into the workforce the second you got out. I had a buddy move down to stay with me years ago when I lived in New Orleans. I had him working two days after he arrived, he didn’t even get to see the city first.”

“Thanks for thinking of me, but I’m really not sure how I will spend my time,’ Ray replies.

“No problem, we’ve got a bit to do first anyway. I’m taking a half day tomorrow. I’ve got a few things to take care of in the morning, plus you’ll get to sleep in. The apartment is nice, and I’ve already got a phone and cable hooked up. We’ll go food shopping after you check the place out, and pick up some clothes tomorrow.”


“I think you are over doing it, man. I got no one to call, and I’ve watched too much TV the past decade. Way too much, it makes it hard to study.”


“The phone is so I can call you, but we can disconnect the cable if you wish, I think. They always seem to get you with those contracts these days. Anyway, you’ll still have the DVD player, and I’ve got some studies I want you to check out. I already put a couple DVDs at your place. And as far as food and clothing go, those are necessities Ray.”

“Gary, I… I’m not even sure…. how to begin… to...”

“Then don’t,” Gary quickly jumps in. “Ray, you are my brother now, and I love you. Once you get on your feet and are able to take care of all your own stuff, fine. If you wind up with extra and feel like paying me back some of it, I won’t stop you. But at least be humble enough to accept these gifts from me while I can provide them for you in your time of need, and don’t worry about it. Good fish, huh?”

Caught off guard by the sudden change in subject, Ray pauses prior to replying. “Yeah, thanks a lot man. I thought a lot about fresh fried fish while I was locked up, and these definitely surprised me and went above and beyond my expectations. “

“Thanks for the compliment, Ray. It has been a bit since I went fishing, so the pleasure was all mine. When I went with my dad opening weekend, we didn’t catch anything, and I haven't gone since. Do you want to check out your new home now?” Ray nods and the two leave Gary’s and jump back in his car.


Their little black tail follows once again; prying sunglasses constantly studying the pair.


Gary pulls into the apartment complex parking lot. The sunglasses park on the side of the street, about half a block down. As the men walk into the main door, the sunglasses are busy writing, taking down the information off the sign, ‘Pine Creek Apartments, 763-884-9022.’ The sunglasses have seen enough for one day, and pull away. Gary is meanwhile busy giving Ray the tour, and the keys.

“If it’s alright with you, can we fill the fridge tomorrow?” Rays asks. “I think I’m about spent today.”

“No problem, man. Whatever you want. I’ll stop over a little after ten tomorrow. You want me to bring breakfast, or should we get something after I pick you up?”

“You know, Gary, why don’t you just surprise me. As long as it’s not oatmeal, okay?

“All right,” Gary laughs, “Have a good night, Ray.”

“You too, and thanks again”

“You’re welcome.”



THE END OF CHAPTER 3



TO READ THE PREVIOUS CHAPTERS, CLICK BELOW:

CHAPTER 1: INTRODUCTION

CHAPTER 2: THE FUNERAL

Sort:  

Versão deste post em portugues:

LOVE LIKE HIS - CAPÍTULO 3
=]

Great story, looking forward to chapter 4.

Thanks for the encouragement. Since I wrote this so many years ago I'm a little interested to see where it's going myself.

I started a book a few years ago 6100+ words... thank god I also wrote an outline lol. I just reread it a bit ago and had no idea where I was headed. Hope you finish it. I'm hooked!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36