Today is the first day of the rest of our lives!

in #story7 years ago (edited)

We finally made it! Our new lives have started today. Even though we have planned this all, I still sit here in near disbelief that our dreams are actually coming true starting today.
It sometimes felt like we had been working towards this goal forever and it has not always been easy to to say the least. Life always seems to be throwing monkey wrenches into our plans, but we adapt and overcome the situations instead of letting it destroy our dreams.

This last week has been pretty stressful to say the least. Not only getting everything out of the house and cleaning it, but also meeting with realtors to sell it. On top of that we were packing up our entire lives into the bed of the pick-up truck and doing a 27 hour road trip (1800 miles) from Wisconsin to Arizona in a vehicle with over 235,000 miles on it. LOL. But thankfully the universe had our back and we made it through all of that safely so we could start our new lives today!

This was the first day in years that I didn't have to get up first thing in the morning and work (on my plants). It was truly an odd feeling. I kept feeling like I had something I should be doing all morning long. As happy as I am to be done with work, it seems almost weird not to do it anymore. So instead to fill up time I took my pups on a walk to fill up a few hours in the morning when I would usually be working.

It's hard to believe that the day we have been working so hard for has finally arrived. I sometimes felt like all we did was plan and talk. But the truth is "rome wasn't built in a day" and setting up the groundwork to travel for life isn't exactly an easy or a quick process. It takes time and grind, and it's not fun at all. But I kept my dreams in sight and goals written down and I finally pushed through, and here we are!


A view from our back porch in Arizona

So hear I sit on the back porch, sucking up the beautiful scenery, the blue skies and the 65 degree weather. Wondering how amazing this journey will go. I can't even start to imagine all the adventures we are about to embark on, the stories we will have to share and the friends we will make all over the world. It almost seems surreal.

Now that we made it to Arizona, we will be waiting here until our house sells. Once that happens we will buy the RV and then hit the road. We are hoping that we can get started on our travels by mid to late February. While we are here now we will be doing lots of exploring here and in bordering states.

Tomorrow we are going one the off-roading through the mountains on Can-Ams (they are basically dun-buggies), so that should be a blast. I'm planning on trying to stop at some good scenic views so I can capture some amazing photos to share with all of you on steemit. ;)

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

WOW bro @moderndayhippie. You are an inspiration. Glad all your plans finally panned out and you have began this amazing journey of "travelling the world" you always talk about.

ANd this is happening at a time when morales are high and STEEM , SBD and steemians are getting more and more valued...

I saw where you said "you didn't work today" lolx. You actually did work. What better work is it than to make a post on STeemit?

Keep doing good works...and helping people one minnow at a time...


BTW: I saw you on the #AIR-CLINIC server was messaging you but you didn't reply.

Cheers!

Congrats on the big move. The weather is perfect this time of season, but lets hope you have Air conditioning when summer rolls around. haha

Thanks a bunch! It is the perfect time of year to be in az, but don't worry, we aren't staying here through the summer lol.. we are buying an rv in feb or march and then we will be traveling the country.. if you look through some of my other posts you will see my journey starting to unfold. I have been trying to keep a decent journal of it over the last month or so, if you are interested in following along :)

Nice view you got there. :-) Glad everything is working out for you and yours, and you made it there safely. As for work... good that you ditched that ball and chain. Working on your dreams, instead of someone else's is always a good thing.

Steem On! And have a great night. :-)

Thanks, I appreciate the kind words. I agree, working on your dreams is a good thing. I wish more people would realize that with a little hard work anyone's dreams can come true. And that is why I continue trying to spread my story, hoping to inspire others to do the same ;)

Congrats! I look forward to reading your new posts!

Thanks for the support. ;) Its much more fun when everyone can enjoy it with us!

upvoted 0.033 and resteemed to 420 followers
thank you my best friend

HI - GOOD DAY, PLEASE be advised that i will delay the upvoting for more time as my power bar is still weak..

i will use your post in my blog in google, i do hope you do not mind, i like your writings.

i will post here the link

i need to share as much good posts about all DAILY LIVING TIPS AS MY BLOG(S) NOW ARE GOING VIRAL IN USA AND EUROPE BUT I DONT CONCENTRATE ON STEEMIT AS I NEED THE CASH FASTER THAN WAITING 14 WEEKS

I APOLOGIZE FROM YOU MY FRIEND FOR MY LONG EXCUSES, BUT FOR THIS FRIENDS ARE FOR,

CHEERS BATE.

hi - here is the short link, thank you my friend
samer - red-rose

http://destyy.com/wiO947

No worries about the upvote, just do it whenever u can :)
Thank u for sharing my article outside of the steemit platform. I want as many people as possible to read it because i think it is inspiring to people to go live their dreams. Its not about making money for me on steemit, but if i can help u make some off my aticles then that is great! :) best of luck my friend.

thank you

bot-educ.leb.png

• Great post @moderndayhippie, your post has been resteemed by @educ.leb

@educ.leb Upvoted & Followed you! •

educ.lebthanksyou.gif

• Send 0.1 SBD/STEEM to @resteemyourpost or @educ.leb or @minitnow With Post URL On Memo| You will Be Followed,Upvoted & Resteemed by 3 accounts to over +1500 followers ! •

This post received a 6% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @moderndayhippie! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67