Memories from Abroad - Sunset on the Mekong

in #story6 years ago

mekong memories 2.jpg

Thousands of miles from home I stood on the banks of the Mekong River.

Something I'd only read about as a kid while listening to my social studies teacher drone on and on about stuff. Yet, here I was. Enjoying a crazy beautiful sunset on a months long trip across Southeast Asia. Me, my backpack, and a sense of adventure.

mekong memories 1.jpg

What had brought me here was the need to renew my Visa for Thailand. It was either here or Cambodia and since I already had plans later on to go and see the famed Angkor Wat, Laos it was. I had no plans, no destination in mind, just the idea I had to get another stamp in my passport. Stuff, that seems so weird now sitting back in the U.S., but so normal when out on the road. 'Hey, why not go to Laos to renew a visa?' So weird,lol.

mekong memories.jpg

The river wasn't as awesome as it had seemed in my memory. It was different. We have these ideas of things that we hold in our minds, memories of places we haven't been yet, and so of course reality won't match. In many ways it was much better. The feel of the breeze off the river. The sounds of construction at a dozen places along the banks. The colors bursting from a cloud covered sky. The mixed smell of upturned dirt, river, and rich forest green. You could stand for hours just taking it all in. So much better than the textbook photos.

mekong memories 3.jpg

Memories like this are powerful to me.

Like pillars of who I am, they support everything that's come since. I look at these images and I'm taken back to a different time, a different me. Not necessarily a better, or worse me. Just, different. People should try and make more memories like this for themselves. It doesn't take going to Laos, just paying more attention and digging deeper into what life can be. Stepping out from the comfort zone into something completely different.

I was there for a decent amount of time. Something like a week I believe, as the visa went through the process at the embassy. There wasn't much that happened, but, fear not, more stories from Laos will follow. Still lots of pics to go through.

One thing really struck me. And I think I captured it with this final image. It was the knowledge that I may never stand in this place again. That this might be the only time my shadow falls on this piece of earth...kind of a strange moment.

I hope you enjoyed experiencing this memory with me :) If you've ever been to Laos I'd love to hear about it!
Michael

Similar Posts
Memories from abroad - Mt. Kurama ABLAZE!
Memories from abroad - A special birthday
Memories from abroad - A spot of tea in the fields of the Cameron Highlands, Malaysia

mekong memories 6.jpg


Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 07:14:50
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 933.42/1600.00
Total Photos: 61
Total comments: 74
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The color of the sky just fabulous.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-sunset-on-the-mekong


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @mikesthoughts - love your work. This was cool I havent been to Asia before looks nice! Maybe one day will get there. We are doing the Europe thing at the moment - its fun travelling!

Keep up the good work :)

Europe is a blast too! I love the eastern part, like into Prague and such. You should definitely give Asia a try. It's amazing! Thanks for dropping by.

We are going to Poland and Prague for easter cant wait! Prague looks magnificent!

I think in the future we will be doing Asia.

Those images are truly stunning :-) It certainly looks like a very interesting place to vist and to say you have been there.

I sometimes think that, how the place I am currently standing, as I set to leave may be the very last time I am there; never say never of course ;-) But I actually find it cements those memories into my mind much more; they seem more special because they may not be re-experienced.

Like bookmarks in the brain, right! :)

That's exactly it, yes :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74