Memories from abroad - A special birthday

in #story6 years ago (edited)

A birthday 3.jpg

How do you begin a story that sounds so fantastical in your mind as to border on fiction, even when it actually happened?

It was my birthday, the last of my 20's, and I was on a 5 month backpacking trip across Southeast Asia on my way back to the U.S. I happened to be in Kaohsiung, the southernmost city in Taiwan. I had been chilling in a small hostel for several days figuring my next steps. I had 2 weeks in the country before my visa ended and I had to be gone.

My afternoon had been slightly out of the ordinary.

As if travel across all these countries was anything but... But, today was that kind of day. I had been wandering through an artsy district somewhere near the water when I came across an art show. I really wish I could show you images from it, but I have not yet found them in my archives. It was a collection of chalk drawings that messed with your sense of perspective. From the right angle everything looked just crazy perfect. From everywhere else, everything was distorted.

The high point, though, was the 2 girls I sparked up a conversation with. A local student and her friend. We chatted and the chemistry felt right. It was one of those weird fun moments as her friend ended up convincing her to show me around the city that evening. Not a bad gift from the universe if you ask me.

A birthday 4.jpg

She picked me up on her moped.

The city, in fact, looked like a beehive populated by these puttering machines. We gabbed some food to go from a small street-side restaurant. She ordered a bunch of stuff I didn't recognize but looked really tasty. I can't even remember the name of the temple we went to, but it was the perfect one.

The gates were guarded by a giant pack of dogs. I kid you not. I think there was at least 30 of them. Apparently in Taiwan they are against spaying and neutering strays, or even taking them off the street. I believe the reasons are religious, but it leads to some very sketchy situations. She didn't seem to worried and I did my best to mimic her. Having that many dogs coming up to you that intently, not so much fun.

But, they soon gave we and after a little hike we found ourselves sitting on stairs that looked out over the city and the sea. It was fun. Trying to have a conversation. We both didn't speak each others language, but wanted to find out more about each other and our story. That is another amazing aspect of travel. Hearing about life from a completely different perspective.

We sat and munched on what we had gotten at the restaurant.

Far from alone many couples sat here and there doing the same thing we were. Some were friends, some more. We just enjoyed the conversation. Seriously, On a small island thousands of miles from home I got to spend the last birthday of my twenties chatting with a lovely lady about life looking out over the beautiful city of Kaohsiung. Talk about crazy memory, right? Anyone else have any crazy cool birthday stories in far away places?

My submission to the Steemit Power Of Positivity P.O.P Contest #29

Similar Posts
Memories from abroad - A spot of tea in the fields of the Cameron Highlands, Malaysia
Memories from abroad - Exploring the Cambodian countryside
Memories from abroad - Other side of the hill

A birthday 2.jpg

The city from another angle



Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #cityscapephotography

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 07:54:55
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 882.62/1600.00
Total Photos: 53
Total comments: 73
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=mikesthoughts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=memories-from-abroad-a-special-birthday


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A nice gift indeed. Mopeds look cool.

I like the travel story, I should be spending at least a month in Philippines in July / August. Hopefully, there will be a lot to write about.

That sounds really exciting! Never been there. Looking forward to pics and posts :)

That's defintiely one of those stories for life isn't it? Proper universal engagement you might say. One thing leading to another and another unfolding into a remarkable experience to treasure :-)

I think I would have been putoff by that many dogs too, don't get me wrong as I'm an animal lover, but with strays like that it pays to be cautious.

I find the conversations about life with complete strangers can be some of the most enlightening :-)

It was just one of those days, hehe. Keeping yourself open, especially on a long trip, gets hard. In a way you become so immersed in just the experience that you forget to pay attention to other people, hehe.

And, yeah, the dogs got annoying. They were everywhere and you really had to be careful. Strange to come across them like that. But, different countries, different cultures.

nice photos! follow you!

Thats a great story ! haha , your lucky on Your Birthday !! great photos too thanks for sharing ! 👍👍👍This is not considered contest entry as you didnt use #popcontest as your first tag , but I thank you for sharing it in my #popcontest Tag for others !

Roger that! :) I'm sure I'll write more soon, hehe.

Good to hear ! im looking forward to it ! please enter with another post ! 👍👍👍

Interesting travel story :) :)

Thanks for dropping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97