Cheapest Office Space ever with No Overhead!

in #story6 years ago

You're an entrepreneur? You're working alone or have a small team? Maybe you're a stay at home mom or dad and want to study a few hours a week. Where to find an office that is suitable for you?

32349613_10213882422247446_2189803266437545984_n.jpg

Outsourcing

Look, if we're being honest one of the last things you need as an entrepreneur, solopreneur or small business owner is more overhead. Pay as you go and on demand is not even hot any more, it is the new standard. Is it really necessary to pay for an office space though? There may be many moments during your working week where a desk and chair may suffice.

Pay As You Go

There are many places nowadays that offer conference rooms, or small rooms for reasonable rates which you can rent per hour, half day or full day. This is, in my opinion, more feasible than actually renting a complete office building, having to pay for utilities, and putting in your own coffee machine and stereo system, white boards, etc etc. These places are rather neat for those of us who manage small teams or even larger teams. Yet what about the entrepreneurs and solopreneurs?

32542340_10213882422527453_4480674307420192768_n.jpg

Solution

For me personally the best place to work is at my favourite coffee place: Inspire. It's nice and quite during the week and I'm meeting other entrepreneurs working here. I just pay for drinks and sometimes a bit of food, which by the way is fully deductible as a business expense. A man has got to eat, yet when I eat at home I have to jump through all kind of hoops to deduct the cost of food and coffee there. This place is rent-free and I pay an average of $9-$12 a day on food and drinks.

I'm not restricted to a certain planning, the place is open every day from 09:00 - 18:00, also on Sundays of course. this means I can work whenever I want, for nearly free, and the small costs I do have are deductible. Apart from that I'm way more productive here because there are no distractions (comparing to working from home). Inspire, I love it!

Sort:  

I always dream to have such profession! But reality is that, I have to go to office from long distant apartment of me. I have to face terrific traffic jam for both up and down move for my office. Whatever, trying to have such entrepreneurship very soon. Highly motivated from your post. THANKS.

Thanks @layesmia. Is there any way you could live closer to your office?

Yes, I can but it will bring sufferings to my wife! She is a service holder too. We go for work at opposite direction from our home. thanks for your reply.

I feel you man! I am pushing for it too.

lets have freedom of life.

That’s great as long as you have a smaller business and depending on the industry. When I first started my company , I worked from home all the time bc I was a one man office. As the company expanded , and I had to hire employees, it just made sense to get a new office.

@lostandconfused yes of course at a certain moment it makes sense to expand and get your own office :) I personally really like to apply elegant approaches to business and therefore minimising expenses and overhead where possible :) yet investing in office space can actually prove to be very rewarding for the company and create a high ROI :)

It does depends on the type of business really but it's sure is better to stay at a comfortable region where you can think and do your work more efficiently.

@shadoww yes of course it really depends on the business :) however I've found that not having to rent an office space for just myself is super beneficial :)

Looking to semi-retire soon. Considering a couple different options for 'entrepreneur-ing' at that time.

I will tuck this excellent piece of advise at the top of my Good to Know list.

Thanks @nananini Really good to hear you are going to semi-retire soon btw! :)

All you younguns out here on Steemit will probably retire very young! I'm jealous.

If I pick up any speed on the platform it will be part of our children's inheritance. The joke is...they don't know I have a Steemit account. If it never grows they won't know, won't care, if eventually I do well how fricking cool will that be......they will be very surprised.

Haha yes absolutely! Make sure to leave them your master key though ;) otherwise they cannot access the account.

Yeah I'm planning to semi-retire around 35 years old at the moment. Which is insane, but it also feels really good. If it happens to be 40 who cares. I'm never going to stop working on projects anyway. It would however be cool to never have to worry about money every again ;)

This post has received upvote by @bestboom!
|| An upvote service which gives 2.3x return ||

Thanks @bestboom :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.94
ETH 3490.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90