FOR THE LOVE OF JANE (An Original Short Story)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

There's something irresistible about Jane.


The way she talks, the way she moves -- I don't know. I just... I'm drawn into her, for some reasons. That's why I am willing to do everything I can just to make her happy. I know I'll do everything to make her mine.

She never had a boyfriend, which is a real shocker because she is definitely stunning. Other men had probably attempted to win her love, but I assume that no one has ever succeeded, as she remained single until now.

Eager to prove my sincerity, I gave her everything. I did whatever she asked me to do. Most of her requests are not easy, but every time I see her beautiful smile, I forget about all the trouble. What matters is that I've made her happy. So I didn't mind doing it countless times.

When she came to me this morning, I knew that something good is about to happen. The moment she stepped into my front porch with that unusual aura about her, I had this feeling that she'd finally say "yes".

And I was right.

She asked me to do her one last favor, one last gift, to seal our engagement. My happiness was unfathomable. After three long years of waiting, Jane finally agrees to be my wife -- given her conditions, of course. I've never been this excited to finish a task. She gave me the details and went on her way, with a promise that she'll be there with me when I do it.

I was smiling throughout the day, knowing that I am about to be the luckiest man on earth.

Just as the sun prepares to rest beneath the horizon, I arrived on the designated place, and saw the subject of Jane's request. It was a man -- an old, balding man to be precise. He stood by the edge of the cliff, his back facing me. As she had promised, she was there. She was standing right behind the man, and turned ecstatically when she felt my presence.

"There he is" Jane said with her sweet, angelic voice. I can see how excited she is about this, more excited than she had ever been with the previous subjects. Her excitement had always been my motivation whenever she gives me a task. The man turned  slowly, his familiar face revealing itself.

I felt numb.

For the first time in my life, I didn't know what to do. I have no idea how long I stood there as my gaze shifted between Jane and the old man, his sad eyes pleading for redemption, while hers was begging to me to do what we came here for.

"Son, don't do this" the old man said. I remained speechless, my mind in a state of frenzy. I didn't realize I was shaking until I felt Jane's arms wrapped around me, steadying me with her warmth. This woman is my everything, and I can't lose her. "But Jane, my father...", I tried to argue.

She looked at me, her eyes piercing through my soul, "Please".

I broke off from her embrace and walked towards the edge of the cliff. I embraced the old man as tight as I can, before I did what I had to do --



for the love of Jane.



~o~


Thank you for reading. I hope you liked it. :D


Love. Love. Love.

Sort:  

Wahhhhhh, @lyxng is backk! hahaha. Loved ittt! :))) I've been waiting for your short stories for a while now haha, this is simply amazing. I think that Jane is a "tagasundo" lol hahahaha. :)) Anyways, good job again @lyxng! ^^

Thanks @littlerph ^__^ hahahaha! yeah and he was just stupid enough to follow her. hahaha

Thank you . i did sent you a tip to your wallet and also followed you. i hope you follow me as well . i send tips to all my followers who following me twice a week. and greeting from Japan.

thanks @japangaijin :) followed back.

@lyxng look forward to UPVOTING & FOLLOWING your writings, insights and perspectives. I would welcome your following, votes & comments on “Escaping Culture – Finding Your Place in the World”- essays of love, life, death, humor sacrifice, accomplishment and redemption. @escapingculture.

thank you so much @escapingculture :) followed.

This post received a 42.77% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @lyxng! For more information, click here! . this is @originalworks .steem @steemprice BTC

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lyxng to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

$3939.21 USD/BTC
Volume: 51949.44 BTC ($204639638.57 USD)
Last Updated Wed Sep 20 21:48:37 2017

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 1,5K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes

This post received a 75% upvote from @krwhale thanks to @lyxng! For more information, click here!
이 글은 @lyxng님의 소중한 스팀/스팀달러를 지원 받아 75% 보팅 후 작성한 글입니다. 이 글에 대한 자세한 정보를 원하시면, click here!

This post has received a 2.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @lyxng.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lyxng from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 4.00 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @lyxng. Please vote @swelker101 for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61