The Search for Snow (Part 7 of 9)

in #story7 years ago (edited)


search-for-snow.png


There are many stories swirling about in the Land of the Morning Calm, and this is my contribution. This is the seventh part of my love letter to South Korea.


koanrea.png


"Five thousand," the vendor replied, with a smug look on her face.

The buyer paused for a minute, mulling over her options. She closed her eyes, sighed and let out a counter offer. "One thousand."

"One thousand!?" the vendor shouted in disgust. "What do you think this is? A charity?"

"Okay, fine. Let's meet at the middle. Three thousand."

"Four thousand five hundred. You take it, or you look somewhere else."

So, the buyer did. Look somewhere else, that is.

The wares went unsold for a number of days, collecting dust while the vendor was losing money. It came to a point where the vendor was sick and tired of looking at it. One day, the vendor came across the very same buyer and offered the wares for a cheaper price.

"You wanted to buy this for three thousand, right?" the vendor asked. "Go on, take it. Three thousand."

"I wanted it for one thousand actually."

"One thousand!?" The vendor paused, thought about it and realized that it was better than nothing. "Okay, okay. One thousand. Happy? Go, take it."

"But, I don't want it anymore."

"Why? It has only been a few days. Nobody has even touched it. It's practically brand new!"

"I saw that the same thing was being sold for five hundred somewhere else. I'll swing by there and buy that instead."

"Five hundred?!" the vendor exclaimed. She thought the price was ridiculous, but her competitive spirit kicked into high gear. "Take this for free, just tell others that my wares are better and cheaper."

The buyer took it without any questions, and walked away smiling, with all her money intact.


Is the title too on the nose? Sorry about that. Back in September 2017, I put up my first and only contest here on Steemit. It centered around koans, and I thought that it would be a good riff off "Korea". I initially planned on doing a music post here, but I couldn't finish the production in time. I do hope that you still enjoyed this little throwback that I did.


<< Part 6


한국, 정말 고마워요!




Look no further than @lukestokes.mhth to solve your STEEM woes. Help keep him as a top witness to keep the STEEM flowing :D


Join me in my Year of Resilience!

Sort:  

A search for snow koan? LOL! I hope that's not what was being bought for a grand, hahaha!

HAHAHAHAHA!!! Finally someone noticed the snow koan!! I was supposed to write in the culmination post how everyone missed it, but apparently you didn't sis! I feel so proud right now haha!

Li and I were eating Korean snow cones (called bingsu) when I thought about this story. I believe it was on Valentine's day. Anyway, I was supposed to do something musical, but I couldn't get it done, so I went with my backup plan haha! I'm so happy someone noticed it hahaha!

Ah the koans! They were good, despite the contest not quite going to plan ;0)

Thank you, Boomdawg! :') It does hold a special place in my heart. Just a little to the right of the left ventricle to be exact. It was a labor of love for sure, and it may be the first and only time I ever post daily for a month. Such a tall order! It's not my place to say, but I think it's even a venti!

7 of 9 already!

And still all kinds of amazing! :)

Woohoo! I'm glad it's able to meet expectations :D

The part of negotiation could bring a price down to zero...... Impressive how you tell it, I always love the way you write, am coming for my lessons oh

Thank you, my friend! I appreciate your continued support :)

Thank you, you're my role model in writing

I don't think anybody has said that before, so I want you to know that I appreciate this very much!

You should meet my dad. He is so old school at bargaining!
And I live in Cambodia since 7 years, I am a nightmare for any vendor.

That's why I thank my lucky stars everyday that I'm not a vendor. I couldn't imagine being haggled down to. I might just curl up into a ball and shut down haha!

Have fun haggling around the place did you? XD

goatsig

Haha me personally, I didn't. But, my lady and my mom had a blast! We managed to buy a pack of 20 something honey butter almonds for the price of one here haha!

You should have read Kim Il Sung I books (I did a bit of the frist one of the collection), for the one side and then watch the documentary The Princes of the Yen, and then this Koanrea would get blown out of all proportions.

I'll try to get to that when my schedule frees up. Thanks!

Perhaps after all was said and done the seller was reminded of the old adage, a bird in hand is worth two in the bush.

Exactly! This was my long winded way of expanding on that adage.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jedau
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-search-for-snow-part-7-of-9


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

In case I ever need it, this is my official alibi.

Thanks for reading, but apparently you didn't like it enough to vote for it. What a shame. I'm sorry but I won't be clicking that link. I'm only going to say this once, you won't ever get clicks for links you post on other people's posts especially when you didn't comment thoughtfully or vote on their posts. What would work is you comment thoughtfully, upvote posts, then hope that you managed to get that person's attention enough for them to bother going to your profile.

Thank you for your response 😊

You're welcome.

AUHAUHAUAHUAHUAHUAHAUHAUH

Sometimes I'm benevolent like that haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79