Another Day in the Clouds

in #writing7 years ago

This is not a continuation of the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds.
But, if you have time for a story, then I invite you to read along.


another_day.png
Cloud Sources: 1 2


Full disclosure: This is a scheduled post, so apologies for the delayed response to comments. I hope that this doesn't discourage you from commenting. I'll reply as soon as I'm physically able. As you're reading this, I'm either going to or already am in South Korea with my fiancée and family.


We pick up years after that fateful day, when the events were all but a distant memory. It seems so long ago, but I had only posted the story on the STEEM blockchain earlier this year. Moments like these make me realize how long a year could be. At the end, it feels like the year just went past. But, when we're in the thick of it, days feel like they stretch for months. Funny how time works.

I was inspired to write this because of a recent visit to my relatives in the province. It was @randomli's first time to visit my paternal grandmother's (Mawmah in A Day in the Clouds) house (the middle fortress of the compound), and I was excited to show her the places that I included in the story.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by my cousin, her husband and the their young daughter (all three not included in the story), and my other niece Ace (Ayesa), who has now grown into a young lady. She used to boisterous and quite the chatterbox, but now she's more subdued and almost a bit brooding. Then out came my grandmother, who was still strong for her age.

We ate lunch and awaited the others' arrival for our little Christmas get-together. Sometimes these little shindigs would involve singing and a bountiful feast, while other times it was more subdued and intimate. This year was the latter, which was perfectly alright. What matters is that we get to enjoy each other's company.

After we finished @zeppelin (Ledd) and his dad (Dadier, the person manning Zepp's Steemit account) and his dad arrived. I couldn't help but notice that Zepp had already grown almost twice as tall as when I wrote the story. He's seven years old now, but his other function are still lagging behind a bit. The thing is, he doesn't know how strong he is now, and on a good day, he doesn't even need his viento to outmuscle us giants.

What amazed me the most was when I saw his directorial skills in full display. He really was bent on directing everything. I've seen it before in movies and TV, where people who have autism manipulates things the way they want, but this was the first time I saw it in person. It was really entertaining to see.

First, he was focused on directing my sister to the phone, so that she could act like she was talking to someone. Kuya Erwin (Dadier) said that it was a scene directly lifted from a commercial on TV. My sister went along with it and everyone had a good laugh about it. Zepp repeated it quite a number of times during different intervals.

When Ate Thiella (Mamie) came in with Vedder (Eddie) in tow, she brought with her a laptop to help distract Zepp. Little did we know, that it would enable him even further. A video was loaded where there was someone playing piano, and she chose @randomli as the subject. Mind you, Zepp was now two-thirds the height of @randomli, so he didn't have to exert much effort to pull her wherever.

When I got in his way earlier, he pushed me quite forcefully to prevent me from blocking his path. Let's just say my gonads suffered quite a bit. Quite. A. Bit. So I know that he was way more stronger than I imagined. Took the air out of me. Yes, the viento was strong with this one.

Zepp directed Li exactly how the video looked. Beat by beat, he matched the actions on the video with the real-life position. It felt like he was playing with a toy, and because of Li's stature, it wasn't the first time she was referred to that way. Perhaps it's why he chose Li instead of my heftier sister, because Li was easier to manipulate.

According to Li though, he wasn't that forceful. He was a bit obsessive-compulsive when it came to getting all the details right, but his pulls didn't hurt at all. I told her to tell that to our future children.

The play went on for quite some time, far longer than with my sister. Zepp kept repeating and repeating the video, trying to get everything right. Eventually, Ate Thiella put an end to it since everyone was getting a bit exhausted, and Zepp was on a brink of a tantrum.

So, what was the point of all this?


point.png

I have a confession to make. It's something I didn't publicly say because I didn't want to jinx my chances at the time, and after, I felt quite ashamed of the outcome. There's no easy way to say this so I'll just come out with it. I entered A Day in the Clouds in a contest.

Whew! That feels much better now that it's etched on the blockchain. Not just any contest, a national writing contest. Specifically, the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, the National Writing Contest of the Philippines. The novel division is only available every other year, and the prize purse was the same as that of 100,000,000 Satoshi!!!! :O OMG!! SO MUCH!!



For those of you not in the know, 100 million Satoshi is equivalent to 1 BTC, and at the time, 1 BTC was only at the already exorbitant ceiling of $1000. It wasn't about the prize though, after all, the proceeds would all go to Zepp and I wouldn't see a dime from it. The thing is, I'm really picky with regard to the contests I join. I don't know why it is, but I've always been that way. The reason why I have such a stellar record is because I don't normally join contests that I know I don't have a chance of winning.

I really worked hard when I wrote this. @randomli and @verbal-d, my editors, know how much work I put into it. Blood, sweat and tears were shed on the way to making my submission. I did all of the requirements. Printed a thousand pages, notarized tons of paper work and did every requirement. By the time I was ready to make my submission, I was confident about my chances.


IMG_20170427_224239.jpg


IMG_20170427_234853.jpg

You see, I participated in this contest once before (well, twice because I made two submissions during my first time), three years ago, and lost for the short story and poetry division, so it took some time before I mustered enough courage to join again. I'm sorry to break the illusion that I'm not the picture of confidence that you thought I was.

At the start of the year, I competed in small contests and won, including a papa-pepper contest that became the eventual spark that ignited my epic friendship with @meesterboom. I don't know if it's a psychological thing, but everything comes in bunches for me. When I win, I go on a streak, but in turn, it's the same thing when I lose. With that being said, it's important for me to gain momentum. So, that's what I did.

Every year I set names for the coming year like The Year of Domination, The Year of Redemption. It just so happens that 2017 was supposed to be The Year of Conquest. Even before the start of the year, @randomli and I decided to enter a Startup competition with a 1 million PHP prize. Since I'm unemployed, I had the luxury to take on many contests at the same time, and that's exactly what I did. I joined hackathons, data science competitions, you name it.

I came out of the gate swinging. Every contest I joined, I won. But, I know that they were all just preparations for the big ones. Winning the startup competition would mean that we would get funding for our company, and that we would be self-sufficient from day one, while winning the National Writing Contest would mean that I would have a silver bullet when it comes to contacting publishers for my other novels. Everything was set, and there was no stopping us.

@randomli and I went through the first and second round with ease. We were only a duo, but we had a diverse background. I'm a software developer with experience in web and mobile development, while Li is a business major currently on her way to a Master's degree in Financial Engineering. We were even admitted to Y Combinator's Startup School. The finish line was just within reach.

We made it to the Top 25, and the only one final pitch stood between us and the grand prize. Everything felt like it was on the line, but we were riding an unprecedented streak. You can't blame us for feeling invincible. Our confidence was at an all-time high and we were on fire.

Sadly, we lost. Then I lost another contest, then another, and another. It kept going, but I tried to stay strong. After all, the National Writing Competition was still up for grabs. And, I wasn't about to lose hope when it mattered. My winning streak was replaced by a losing one, but that didn't mean I couldn't stop the bleeding.


IMG_20170430_111002_1.jpg
Not just a random selfie. This is me after I submitted my entry at the CPMA offices.

Months passed and I eagerly awaited the results. On the first of September, @randomli and I attended her cousin's wedding (where we met the Philippine representative of the recent Miss Universe competition) and as we were looking for the reception area, we happened upon the list of events at that hotel. There were only two major halls and they were both occupied that day. One was the wedding, and the other was the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards Ceremony.


IMG_7150.JPG

No matter how much I held out hope, once again, I failed. Suffice to say, I was devastated. I really took it hard. The losses compounded and I couldn't stop the losing streak. At the time, the earnings for A Day in the Clouds declined and the votes dropped off. The silver lining was that loyal followers who had become real-life friends continued to encourage me through the comments section. But, the damage was done, and the writer's block that has loomed over me to this day dawned its ugly head.

By the end of the 6-month posting, the earnings equalled about 0.5 BTC so it wasn't all bad. I mean, other posts made that much with only a couple of chapters, but who was I to complain. Everything was a gift. So, I sent everything to @zeppelin, and gave them instructions how to withdraw. I did give them the caveat to HODL, but I didn't want to dictate anything. It was all up to them.

No one could've imagined the height that BTC reached, so we can't fault Zepp's parents for withdrawing early. It still fetched a respectable 80k PHP, but yeah, if it was HODLd as BTC, it would've amounted to 424k PHP at the height of Bitcoin's bull run or if it was HODLd as SBD, it would've amounted to 700k PHP at the height of the SBD pump. But yeah, hindsight is 20/20 and there are no mistakes in trading cryptocurrencies, only experiences. Anyway, I digress.

When I saw Zepp directing people over and over, this little kid who has autism and was going about his life one inchstone at a time, I asked myself, "who was I to complain?" I have a roof over my head, I'm eating at least three square meals a day and I am relatively healthy. Who was I to bitch about losing a couple of contests? I had the ability to feed myself, bathe myself and live a normal life. Not everyone has that luxury. It really put things in perspective.

If Zepp had the grit to direct people over and over again, not even minding how many times he fails at getting the perfect shot, then I certainly had the ability to take all the losses. It's hard to go against something that's almost second nature, but isn't everything worth it difficult to achieve? Why am I complaining about how many times I fall when there are people who hasn't even had the chance to get up?

When I created Ledd, he was 50% Zepp and 50% me. I guess Ledd's grit was all Zepp, but that doesn't mean that I could learn a thing or two from them. So, I'm heading into 2018 with a renewed sense of purpose. I'm going to fail more times than ever before, but that's because I'm going to join everything without even thinking about the outcome. I'm going to go tubthumping.



Mark it down, 2018 is going to be The Year of Resilience! So, bring it on!


2018, are you a female dog in desperate need of adoption?






Because, I'm going to make you my bitch.



Let's keep @lukestokes.mhth as a Top 10 STEEM witness! Do your part by casting a vote :D



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Sort:  

Some years are rough. Last year was a beast for me and my fam. I've put in my fair share of contest submissions and can feel ya on that entire section! So, I feel ya on The Year of Resilience. Time to tame the beast.

We're not only going to tame the beast, we're going to make it do our bidding. I hope that you bounce back 100x this year, Monique! Let's own this year!

Sounds like a plan to me... Here's to owning this year!

LOL laughed really hard at the gonads. sorry about that. Zepp is indeed strong, that's why I recently got back to lifting weights so he can't outmuscle me.

And wow, didn't know that Lee is @Randomli. Together, you should be able to conquer anything you set your eyes onto. You make a good team.

Good luck on the Palanca, you'll get it soon enough. For now, enjoy your vacation and don't forget to drop by the pet store and get a leash for 2018 -- her adoption papers are ready.

Haha! So that was the ulterior motive for hitting the gym! Zepp really doesn't know how strong he has become, exactly how I envisioned Ledd. I bought a shock collar for when 2018 becomes too rowdy. Gotta show her who's boss!

The way I see it, this it the Palanca Awards

Gypsy's waiting for her pilots, and 2018 is waiting at home for her belly rub.

Sorry to hear about the losing streak. Although you've won more than me, so I am in awe . I'm yet to win anything (Is that violins I hear playing?). But The Year of Resilience sounds promising, so go for it.

I hope to make 2018 I more active year, taking inspiration from my 30 day writing challenge success earlier in 2017. I go through cycles, but attempting to address that now to create more consistency in my endeavours.

But back to you, I'm looking forward to the results of resilience. You've got the talent, but yes it's about action and effort, and as your gif wisely stated, it's about tub thumping.

You certainly have started 2018 active, mate! Happy to see that you've got your groove back. I think I've already caught up with your latest post haha! No violins for you, Scott. When you finally notch a W, I just know that it's going to be the start of a streak that would last a long time!

Tubthumping is going to be the soundtrack of my year. I feel like everyone has the capacity to succeed, it's just that lack of grit that separates the ones that make it. I'm hoping to solidify my place on that side of the equation. And, I'm looking forward to succeeding alongside you, brother!

I have started 2018 strongly. Because I finished 2017 strongly. Not sure who amongst us was responsible for that?

So I have my writing groove back, and in full knowledge that these things can move in waves, I will aim to complete the 30 days, then reevaluate. Certainly wish to post regularly after that (5 days a week?). I will wait and see.

Just really trying to write something everyday. So far so good.

Mate, it's all you. You gained your momentum at exactly the right time. Hoping to catch that wave soon, too. 5 days is a tall order, but I'm sure you'll be able to manage that. For me, I'm aiming for at least 3 posts a week. Haven't gotten my groove back, but I'm working on it slowly. Not going to rush anything.

I felt the need to embed a Tubthumping video but good ones can be a pain in the system to find XD

LoL ahhh the nutshot, JJ can sympathise I think, he has had many an occasion where a precisely sized toddler has run at him full ball for a hug and inadvertently incapacitated him. Not that much has changed when he and now gangly children are wrestling and he accidentally cops a flailing knee in the wrong place. Kids eh XD

The roll of failures can be as crushing as the roll of wins can be uplifting, so don't feel bad about feeling bad. It's how you deal with the feeling bad that matters. You could have wallowed, but you didn't. You took an external factor (in this case the ever adorable Zepp) as a nice reality check and you bounced right back ready for more. And that's golden :)

Enjoy South Korea and don't sweat about answering in a timely fashion, get to it when you get to it :D

goatsig

flying knee from the top turnbuckle is the worst! lol

A lowblow is the best finisher move in wrestling. I realize that now.

I feel like a kevlar cup is a great equipment to have haha! Man, I wish I placed a nutshot scene in A Day in the Clouds. That would've been so prophetic!

Well, I did wallow for a bit last year haha But, that's what I'll try to eliminate moving forward. It has always been a tough lesson to keep in mind for me. I don't know why it is. This time I'm making it stick. You can bet money on that, mateychops! Slowly catching up to everything I missed haha!

First off, you gotta protect your mcnuggets (aka your gonads)!

Second, the more you lose, the closer you are to winning. Think about that. You're doing better than most, if you think about it. Most people wouldn't even DREAM of trying to do what you're doing. You're not getting the results you want but with each loss comes a lesson.

2018 will be the year of resilience, indeed.

I usually do, so I don't know why I let my guard down this time. To this day, I'm still saying sorry to my future children.

That's a great way of looking at it! When you're at the bottom, there's nowhere to go but up. I really have to keep that in mind. It's either I win or I learn.

I apologize for getting back to this so late, I've been out of the country and have only started to catch up on everything a few days ago.

Good luck in the 2018.

Thanks, man! I hope we enjoy tons of success this year!

I'm glad to hear that you haven't given up, when that is an option on the table, but rather you have chosen to keep going! That in itself is worth something!
I'm not a writer but for everything I have heard about the world of writing it is mostly filled with many stories of failure after failure, so it seems to me you're on the same path that many amazing authors took! I'm with you, I think 2018 will be your year! :)

2018 will be our year! Personally, I feel like it's better when everyone succeeds together. Some people want to succeed before they help others, but for me I want to succeed alongside everybody else. Grit and grind, brother. We rise up no matter how many times we fall down.

Tubthumping, yes! We get knocked down, but we get up again, they're never going to keep us down :)
This is really corny, and embarrassing to admit but I loved the movie A Cinderella story when it came out (yes, yes, that's the one with lizzy mcguire from disney and chad something or other from one tree hill) And when I was reading this post the quote from the wall of her dad's diner popped in my head. "Don't let the fear of losing keep you from playing the game". At least I think that's what it said, lol.
It's always great when someone less fortunate than us reminds us that all in all things are pretty good. I know I told you way early on that no matter what happened with steemit I would never regret being here simply for having made some of the greatest friends on the planet.
Of course it's nice when a thirty dollar post is actually worth three hundred lol.
Hope you're having a fantastic time in S. Korea my brother from another :)

Oh huh.. I remember replying to this while I was in South Korea. It's weird that there are no replies here. I didn't get a chance to watch that (or I avoided it like the plague when it came out) but that's such a cool quote. It goes hand in hand with "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take".

Ditto on the not regretting because of the connections made. I couldn't imagine my life moving forward without you @meesterboom and the other friends I've made here. Currently, a thirty dollar post is now only worth 150, but yeah haha! When I was away, STEEM rose to great heights, I wonder if it's in any way correlated to my absence.

oh have no fear, it will rise again. In fact, it will go much, much higher. Have you heard about the porn coin? Vice I think. Apparently people will get paid in vice to watch porn, and steemit is going to to release it, so far they're saying that we each get a certain amount for free based on our sp. I can't remember if it's one for one, but if it is, holy shit that's going to be worth some serious bank. yes it's a little...tacky, seedy, whatever you want to call it, that it's based on that (though with the scenes in my books I really don't have room to judge) but there's no denying that pornography is one of, if not the largest industry in the world. And we don't have to watch anything to get them, because we're just cool ass early adopters who are being rewarded for being cool ass early adopters lol. And that's just the tip of the iceberg- these smart tokens, they're going to be HUGE. Or at least some of them will be, and either way their connection to steem is going to bring in new users and sky rocket the price again. And there's something else on the horizon, I now forget what Howie said it was, but he's talking like we're going to have millions of users pouring into the platform because of it. At leasat. Hold on to you skivvies, lol, we're going for a major ride.
I've always trusted Howie's intuition because in the twenty plus years I've known him he has NEVER been wrong about the big things. Sometimes his timing is a bit off, which he always says up front- could be as early as such and such or not until such and such, but every damn time he hits that nail hard on the head. So if he says steem is his number one pick for all of these reasons, hell yeah man. You and I and boom will not only meet, we will meet in fucking style. And remember what I said before you go pointing out that you've got half as much sp as me- as I have half as much as the boom which bothers me Not at All lol) there are other coins coming our way, falling right out of the sky into our laps.

Dude, you seriously said 30 is only worth 150...think about that fora moment. Because I remember a time when a 30 dollar post was worth fifty cents, so a hundred fifty bucks that is NOT something to be discouraged by, by any means, nevermind what I know is going to happen later on.
And stop doing the self-fulfilling prophecy thing. You are not cursed...unless you believe you are, so stop fucking believing that shit my brother that I adore!! I order you (lol) to say that you are blessed, that luck is now finding its way to you, say it until you know it's true, the year of what did you call it? rejuvenation? Man, you have awesome friends who adore you, a woman you love who loves you in return, you were wise enough to listen to an old boss and jump on a train before almost anyone else knew about it,and it's all going to pay off in big fucking dividends...all you have to do is believe it and let it. (By the way, my dad was dying, and then did die while steem rose to those great heights, and I dropped off my posting significantly when I was posting a consistent once a day before, and not once did I think that it was some kind of bad omen. It's just that sometimes shit happens. But I also know that great things happen too. It's the balance of this place. Take the hits when they come, pay for it as you go, and accept that the good will come with the bad, and vice versa.
You are loved. You are awesome. You no longer need that pesky self doubter sitting on your shoulder, flick that fucker off. Replace it with the uplifter that's just patiently waiting for its turn.

I AM NOT ONLY BLESSED, I'M [HASHTAG] BLESSED!!!

That fucker has been flicked, don't DREEM it's over! It's actually The Year of Resilience, so expect a lot of getting back up after getting knocked down. No use looking back at what could've been, it's time to just look forward to the future. I am hopeful for big things, and if the Seer of Seneca (Howie) says we're heading for the stars, then I'm buying myself a few pairs of astro suits! When you, Boomer and I meet, we would be above our own individual yachts, sipping those fancy wines with gold flakes haha!

I have heard of the Vice coin, I just didn't know that it was going to be called Porn Coin haha! That's actually quite innovative. I, at least, hope that the performers themselves get paid with the earnings from that. I do agree with porn being big business. Even with all the seedy dealings, porn sites actually have cutting edge technology when it comes to the backend stuff and security. Some of the best programmers apparently work on porn sites, so that's a cool trivia haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44