The Search for Snow (Part 8 of 9)

in #art7 years ago (edited)


search-for-snow.png


To start the year, my family, my fiancée and I went on a trip to South Korea. This is part eight of my nine-part love letter to the land of the Morning Calm. Strap on your seatbelts, because this post is going to be verbose!


mural-1.png
mural-2.png
mural-3.png
mural-4.png
mural-5.png

I don't want to discuss each and every detail, but I do want to touch upon the central themes of each artwork. The theme that I was going for was "past, present and future". To round out the mural, I've snuck in some blackout poetry (or what's commonly known as Erasure) inspired by the works of @beginningtoend. The words were from two books that Steemians have suggested for me to read, namely Awakened Imagination by Neville Goddard (suggested by @johleen) and Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke (suggested by @finleyexp).

Past



Korea has a rich history of War. So much so that they have a museum dedicated to it. From ancient times up to the present, the whole peninsula seems like it's forever going to be plagued by conflict.


Present


Through it all though, it has progressed to become a technological marvel onto itself. Not only that, it has also excelled in the arts and other aspects. Well, at least half of it anyway. However, the South has been landlocked by the North, impeding its huge economic potential. The conflict between the two countries could be traced back to contrasting principles. While it has blown up beyond that, it still proves as the bottleneck for exponential growth.

Future






They have made great strides in terms of bridging ties as of late, so that's always good news. Some say that the stranglehold of Dear Leader grows weaker with every passing generation. While it's not there yet, hopefully they could begin healing old wounds and finally start the mending process to become one united nation once again. Not only will their people benefit from the union, but the whole region would reap benefits as well. Korea as a nation has been underrated for so long. It has huge upside, and it has the potential to go toe-to-toe with every other superpower once it would be made whole again. Undoubtedly, some pushback would be felt, but it would ultimately be cancelled out by a united effort to progress. That's what I wanted to show through this whole piece.

Hmm... I guess it wasn't as verbose as what I usually write haha! I just thought to add to the chilly goings on especially since @meesterboom's knee deep in snow. Here's hoping this warms you up a bit, daddy-o! For everyone else, I hope you enjoyed this miniseries within this series. One last post to go, and I'm due for a retrospective of sorts.
<< Part 7


한국, 정말 고마워요!




Look no further than @lukestokes.mhth to solve your STEEM woes. Help keep him as a top witness to keep the STEEM flowing :D


Join me in my Year of Resilience!

Sort:  

I must commend you for the way you have used different forms of art(fiction,haiku, visual art etc.) to campaign for the unification of Korea in this your series--The Search for Snow.
Your style keeps things interesting. Really, I can't claim to have understood it all and have thus refrained from commenting most times but still I find it interesting enough to at least take a peek on occasions where I can't totally relate. Well done.

PS: Maybe one day I would be able to emulate your style. :-)

Thank you for the kind words! I appreciate it, man :D I'm glad you enjoyed how this series has gone so far. I would've expanded this even more with other media like music, etc, but I was pressed for time. I've always wanted to do a mixed media series, and I felt like this was a perfect time to try it. I have to admit that there are a few kinks, but I'm happy with the overall product. I wish that there were more people who saw it and interacted though.

Thanks for letting me know that you've been keeping up with the series even though you've refrained from commenting up to this point. Like you said in your latest post, fight the fear and just do it. I'm sure you're going to come up with something great :D

Thanks for your kind words too. Looking forward to the last installment.

Awesome! I hope it doesn't disappoint.

One more to go!

Honestly? I am going to miss this series. It turned out to be a really awesome journey.

Aww that's so nice of you to say, buddy! Thank you for sticking with it :D I appreciate it! I feel like I'm going to miss this series as well. I grow attached to every post I write, but this one holds a special place in my heart.

It's really interesting! I do not know much about that country, but it seems that Korea is a nation with great potential. Thanks for sharing. The story is of the world is fascinating

I do hope that this series provided a look at the country from an outsider's perpective. It's really an awesome place, you should definitely visit there when you get the chance.

That wasn't verbose at all. You are such a good writer. I am jealous. I shall practice more.

Ha! That was a sleight of hand! A feint, if you will. If you've seen my other posts, you would notice that I average close to 12 minute reads. So, this was my way of mocking myself haha!

The thing is, I don't consider myself a writer at all. Story takes precedence for me, and writing is just a means to convey it. I'm sure that if you just put in more hours writing, you'll exceed the level of skill that I currently have :D

What a fantastic mural, your creativity knows no bounds bro. I love your verbosity ;) And I'm about to be knee deep in snow once again myself, another storm a'coming (blech)

You and Boomy knee deep in snow!? Why do I always feel like I'm missing out??

Was it what you hoped for? Were you disappointed how anti-climactic it was? The last couple of parts were received quite poorly, vote-wise. I even lost money in a part or two haha!

Because you haven't had to deal with it for half of the year every year, trudging, and shoveling, and slipping, and sliding, and pins and needles when you thaw out, hahaha, dude you are romanticizing this white stuff that plots to kill me!

I loved this series, and there is still one more to go...of course I'm still waiting for something... ;)

Ah man, it's not your posts, it's the preoccupation of the whales on this platform with some whale wars, and creating ico's for the...upcoming smt's. At least some people believe they're coming soon ;)

I had to do some link dropping for my brother because people aren't making the rounds like usual.

Hahahaha! That thought did cross my mind. The thought of romanticizing it while other people suffered did make me question the whole series for a while. Ultimately, I thought it would give people who live long winters perspective with regard to where people who live in perpetual thought about it haha! I hope it eased it a bit :)

Yeah, no, that's alright. After months of getting snubbed, I'm kind of used to it haha! I average less than 25 votes, with only a fraction of that who care to comment, so that's alright. I'm grateful for the whale votes when they come, but I'm not expecting anything anymore. Just the other day I had a post that barely broke the $10 barrier so yeah hahaha! SMTs, whale wars or no I'm just not an attractive destination, and I'm cool with that. Mirrors life :D

I am laughing slightly at verbose.

There was me wrapping the blanket around my self and getting a cup of tea for the long haul and then I got to the end! One can only hope that they do unite and become even greater again!

Only slightly!? Hmm.. then I haven't done my job. I had thought to throw a curve ball with the verbose one, as I know many of my usual readers expect a 15-minute monologue. But then I thought why not experiment with it. This whole series has been one big experiment, and I do wish that more Koreans got to read this. Oh well... I do hope that they unite though!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jedau
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-search-for-snow-part-8-of-9


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Who are we without our souls?

bots? dead? 😄

Exactly ;)

it's really amazing, continue your writing work. the information you give is good enough, good luck

Thank you! I appreciate it :)

Looking forward to part nine!

Awesome! I hope you take the time to read through the past parts, too.

always a pleasure to support!

I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84