Episodes 81-90 of Lando Cruz and The Coup Conspiracy (dystopian cryptocurrency novel)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Lando discovers the truth about his mission and he doesn't like it. Now he's in deeper than ever!

Previous Episodes

119b77d50f8262ec3f1b0d132bf9ebfa.jpg

The United States is in slow-motion economic collapse. The Three Strikes Act funnels the unemployed masses into a national network of work camps for the most trivial of infractions.

Lando Cruz is a scrappy rebel who risks his final strike on the streets of Philadelphia by trading illegal currencies under cover of a burrito stand. He spends his days bribing dirty cops, fending off undercover federal agents and shepherding his little sister through adolescence.

Lando is getting by until beat cops seize his savings and kidnap his sister for ransom. He has thirty days to raise the hard cash he needs to free her before she is sold into sex slavery. His only chance is a lucrative job offer from the black market rebellion's paramilitary startup, the Core. He risks both his life and his principles to get his sister back before time runs out.

Episode 81: Hacked

Lando dropped the duffle bag full of rifles and scopes in the office area, walked into the living area and collapsed onto a couch. He held out his hand and moved his thumb up and down. “Now if we only had a screen to watch something on.”

Alexis popped into his mind. He stared into space and thought about her. What did the bomb do to her? Did she die at once? Or did she suffer?

What about Takoda? Takoda helped me. And now his little girls, what about them?

David came out of the sleeping area. “Can I get you something to drink, Lando?”

Lando raised an eyebrow. “No, that’s alright. I’ll get myself something in a few. But, thanks for asking.”

David sat down at the other end of the couch. He shifted his body left, then right.

Lando looked at him then leaned back into the couch and closed his eyes.

David sighed.

Lando picked his head up. “Is there something you want to say to me, David?”

David shifted his body towards Lando. “Lando, there is some—“

Ryan came running out of the office module, his finger to his ear. “Guys,” he whispered, “I’ve got to head out for a few minutes. Nothing crazy, please.” He went back into the office module.

David wiped his hand across his face. He was sweating. “Listen, something here is wrong. Ryan has a boss. He told us he’s in charge. Who is this boss?”

Lando leaned back again. “I know. That’s weird. Maybe they’re just the financiers. You know the business owners that started this all.”

“What did he have you doing today?” asked David.

Lando chuckled. “Relax. Just because you’re not his favorite at the moment doesn’t mean your participation isn’t valued.”

David stood up fast. “That’s not it! Come on, I want to show you something I found.”

“I’m really not in the mood. I think I’ll take a nap.” Lando closed his eyes.

“I know what he is training you for. I know what the big mission is.”

Lando opened his eyes. “How?”

“I hacked his system,” said David.

Lando laughed. “And here I thought you were an obedient little order-taker.”

David glared at him. “Come on, already.”

Lando followed him into the office. David sat down at Ryan’s computer and logged in. He pulled up a document and started to read it.

Mission Plan 004.

Participants: Lando Cruz, Alexis Mayer, Ryan Jansen, Harold Coleman.

Materials needed: 3 x Barret .50 cal., Nightforce NXS scopes and 5,000 x .50 BMG rounds.

Budget: $2,000,000.

Purpose: Assassinate the President and Vice-President.

Timeline: 10 days.

Episode 82: I’m Done

“Is this some kind of joke?” asked Lando.

“No,” said David. “I saw him once editing this and talking about it.”

Lando eyes unfocused. “Why didn’t you tell me about this before?”

“He’s cryptic. I just realized what it was this morning. I got suspicious after the bombing.” David held his hands out in front of him. “I’m serious, I just pieced this together.”

“It’s a tragedy that you didn’t share what you knew with me earlier. Alexis —“

“— might still be alive. I know.” David stomped his foot on the floor. “I know, Lando.” His face clenched up.

“How about Takoda? I can’t help but think about his little girls.” Lando scowled at David. “Are you going to cry? Do you think this is really the time for that?”

David turned away. “I loved her.”

“Oh, please,” said Lando.

“I know she was sleeping with —“

“Wake up, David. It’s pathetic to trail around behind girls that aren’t even sleeping with you,” said Lando.

“And now she’s dead. We could have stopped it. What do we do now, Lando?” David asked.

“We? Make your own decisions. I, for one, am out of here. I’m sick of his lies. I’m a trader, not a killer.” Lando got up and walked out.

“But, Lando, your pay,” said David. “And aren’t you wanted, anyway?”

“And? Just because I’m wrongly accused, I should go out and validate their lies by doing something worse?”

“I think we should go through with this,” said David.

It took a moment for Lando to recognize that David really said it. “Are you insane?”

“There’s money, there’s training and we can strike a serious blow. That’s good for the agora. Wins all around. We’re all enemies of the state already.” David looked at Lando with an expression that defied him to disagree.

“You can’t participate in this, David.”

“Why not! Who’s going to stop me?”

Lando growled. “I can’t believe you are still this dense. One, you could get killed. Two, you could get put into a cage for a long time. Three, it’s not good for the agora if we get branded as assassins and terrorists. Then we’re public enemy number one. They’ll hunt us d—“

“How much do you think he’ll pay us?” David asked. His lips trembled.

Lando held his breath, then let it out through his mouth. He started to speak but sighed instead. “This is just way too crazy.” He held up his palms in front of him. “I am done.” Lando turned and walked towards the cellar doors.

“But, Lando, what about your sister? How will you get her out?”

Episode 83: Octa

Lando stepped onto the sidewalk, his backpack on both shoulders. He pulled his cap down over his eyes. He closed the cellar door without making any noise. There’s no going back now. I’m done with this and I’m moving on. I’m focusing on my family now. He smiled. This feels right.

He stepped into the cafe across the street, got a simple mocha and sat where he could watch the cellar doors. He pulled out his tablet and searched around for Cadre Mutual’s latest location. Just three blocks over. Sweet.

Lando took a gulp of his coffee and smiled. It’ll be an adventure, that’s for sure. He imagined himself getting his sister out and how happy she and his father would be. But what about Dad? And what about when Ryan kills the President? Lando laid his head against the table. They’ll find the house and my prints are everywhere. They’ll review blimp footage. Where will I hide from that?

Lando jerked his head up and looked around. I don’t want to arouse suspicion or be memorable.

Stop being so paranoid! His head spun from the internal conflict. He took the final swig of coffee. He threw his backpack on both shoulders and tightened up the straps. He sat the coffee cup on top of the trash can. The lid swished open and then closed again. The sound satisfied him.

He walked across the street, opened the cellar doors and proceeded into the office area. He was alone.

He grabbed the bag of rifles and removed the firing pin assembly from each one in turn. He threw the tiny chunks of metal into his backpack front pocket and replaced the rifles.

There was a small brown box next to the bag. Inside was another box with a series of tiny vials. The words “OCTA. Handle with care. High explosive.” appeared on each vial in blue lettering on white. Why does he have octa? Five thin, silver cylinders with protruding wires lay in the other box. Lando stuffed this one into his backpack, too.

“What are you doing in here, Lando?”

Lando whipped around. David stood in front of the doors that led to the street.

“Don’t get in my way, David,” Lando said.

“I thought you were leaving.” David shifted from one foot to the other.

“I am now. Step aside.” He took a step forward.

Episode 84: The O-List

Lando walked down South Street. He found the bakery and sat down across from the guy with the orange and black baseball cap.

A waitress appeared. “The cherry tarts are the best,” she said in a monotone. She did not look at Lando.

Lando looked up at her and squinted. “Just a cup of water.”

“One bottle of water,” she yelled. “That’s nineteen dollars, sir.”

Lando pursed his lips. “No, tap —“

Another girl walked up to his table, opened a bottle of water and set it in front of him.

“Oh, did you want tap water, sir? So sorry but the bottle is open now. Nineteen dollars, please.”

Lando swallowed hard. He pulled a twenty-dollar bill out of his pocket and handed it to the first girl. Both girls walked away.

“I expect my change!” Lando yelled.

The man across from him looked up. “Five percent mandatory service charge.” He gave Lando a lopsided grin.

Lando leaned forward. “You the Cadre Mutual rep?” he asked in a low voice.

The man nodded. “Name?”

“What happened to your offices?”

“IPEC hounded us out of them, one after another.” He did not look up. “Most of our members are in a cage on thinkcrime or a work camp. But some of us soldier on.” He smiled. “Your name, sir?”

“Lando Cruz. I have an insurance pay—“

The man looked up at him. “Lando Cruz? You’re going to have to leave.”

Lando jerked his head back and scowled at the man. He tapped his finger on the desk. “I have been a member in good standing for three years now and I have a pending insurance claim. I’m not going anywhere until I know the status and the estimated payout date.”

“I am a nonviolent businessman, sir. I can’t be associated with you.”

“What are you talking about?” Lando leaned forward and raised his voice. People in the bakery looked up at him.

The man hardened his face. He leaned forward. “I have a gun. And I will use it. Know this, you can take my screen but you’ll never unlock the key on my wallets. The Mutual’s holdings, as puny as they may be, are more secure than Fort Knox ever was.”

Lando crinkled his nose. “Dude, I just want my payout. I’m not a thief. I’m an agorist. My word is my bond. I use voluntary means to satisfy my needs, never aggression. Never!” he whispered. “And where do you get off casting —“

The man typed into his tablet. He raised his eyebrows. “You do have a pending case with us.” He scanned the screen.

Lando glared at him.

“It hasn’t been examined yet.”

“Why not!”

The man shrugged. “Lack of manpower — Wait, you haven’t submitted enough evidence. I can evaluate this right now. Denied.” He tapped his finger a couple times and looked up at Lando.

“You cheap — The cops turned my cart into shards. I just barely escaped. Of course, there’s no —“

The man sat up straight and examined Lando through narrowed eyes. “‘Denied,’ I said. Denied. Now move on.”

Lando took a deep breath and moved to stand up. “Why did you think I was going to rob you? What did I ever say or do to give you that impression?”

“Look yourself up on the Agoranet. Everybody knows all about your latest escapades. You should know better.” He looked out the front door. “And you claim to be an agorist. You’re lucky you’re not on the O-List. I would expect that honor soon.”

Episode 85: Noose

“How did you find me?”

Lando looked at the flowers chilling in the display cases. “The information flows freely through the right hands,” he said.

“Agorist?” The young man scanned the street behind Lando and through the frosted shop window.

“Of course. And ABA member.” Lando grinned.

He relaxed and mopped his brow.

“Aren’t you a little young to be representing the Alliance?” Lando looked down at him.

“I was the next in line. What’s your business?”

“I need a business loan.” Lando made no expression. He felt his throat tightening and ached to swallow. He cleared his throat.

The young man chuckled. “Are you kidding me? We’re through our reserves and in debt ourselves. The noose is closing. They may be surveilling the shop. Get out while you can.”

Lando grunted. “I need that loan. The cops destroyed my food cart. I’ve got a family to feed.”

“You look familiar,” the young man said.

“I’m a long-time member of the —“ Lando started.

“Wait, you’re that guy that’s starting the army, right?” He smiled and snapped his fingers.

Lando reached across the counter and grabbed him. He ripped his shirt open. He felt the backs of his ears and ran his nails across the man’s hands. “Where is it?”

“Where’s what?” The young man scowled at him.

Lando looked around. “The bug. You’re not with the Alliance. You’re trying to entrap me.” Lando pulled out his tablet and took a picture of the man. “I’ll expose you if you’re a snitch.”

“What?” The young man gave him a skeptical look before raising his eyebrows. “Hey, was that you that attacked the schools? That was you, right?”

Lando took a step back. “That’s crazy,” he whispered.

“Bombing kids. That’ll really do wonders for the agora’s public image. Nice thinking, asshole.”

Lando took another step back and shook his head. “No,” he whispered. “Never!”

“What’s next? Assassinate the President?” He doubled over in laughter. “That’ll be great — just super for business!”

Episode 86: No Solidarity

Lando ran out the door and turned right. He stopped and looked across the street. He watched the people walking towards him. He scanned their faces. He turned around. Do they know me, too? He ran back, past the flower shop and crossed the street. A car almost hit him. He turned right at a corner, then left at the next one. He ducked into an alley.

He opened a space between two dumpsters under an awning and squeezed in. He got comfortable. After fifteen minutes, he got up and peeked out. He watched the air for insect drones.

He sat back down and relaxed. He pulled out his tablet and brought up his agoranet account. He had nineteen messages.

“Lando, what’s this army you’re organizing?” said one.

Another asked, “I don’t know whether to believe it or not, but the word is that you’ve turned to violence and you’re doing it in the name of the agora. Stop. Just stop. You don’t want to go on the O-List. You’ll be isolated and no one will trade with you. I need to hear from you now.”

Lando put his tablet down and closed his eyes. There was no strength in his body. No money. No reputation. No solidarity. I won’t go back to Ryan. I won’t be a part of that! He thought of Mariana alone in Colombia. She’d be at the mercy of any depraved asshole that can place some cash in a bureaucrat’s hand. His stomach roiled.

He pictured his dad’s face. “I know what you expect from me, Dad,” he whispered, “but without —“ Lando’s eyebrows jumped.

Episode 87: Loan Shark

“I need a loan,” Lando said. He lowered his eyelids and deepened his voice.

“How much?” The fat old lady swung her heft in Lando’s direction. The wattles under her neck flapped around.

Lando felt sick. “Fifty-thousand.”

The woman looked him up and down. “That’s a lot of cheese for a young man such as yourself.” She took a deep breath out of her mouth. “You know what it means to get into a loan shark?”

“Yes.”

“And are you sure you’re ready to get into a loan shark for that much?” she asked.

“Yes,” said Lando.

She scowled at him and leaned forward. “You don’t want to do this. Not unless it’s life or death.” She lowered her voice further. “They hurt people here.”

Lando raised his eyebrows. “It’s life or death.”

“Alright, young man. Give me your ID.”

Lando took out his Pennsylvania state identification card. He passed it to her through the hole in the bulletproof glass. “You guys ran a check on me just a couple weeks ago and I passed.”

“And we’ll run it again,” she said.

Episode 88: Fifty Grand

“Alright, sir, go in and talk to the boss,” the fat woman said. She pointed him towards a door. “Just go on in. Big Marty’s expecting you.”

Lando walked up to the cheap wooden door and raised his hand to knock.

“Don’t knock!” the woman yelled. “Just go in.”

Lando turned the handle and pushed. He sat down at the desk. The man on the other side was fat, bald and had huge, hairy arms. Lando recognized him from last time. His throat tightened up. “I’m —“

Big Marty motioned him to silence. “Just take care of it, Jimmy. No more screwing around. Gotta go.” He sized Lando up.

Lando handed him his papers and waited.

“Fifty large, kid?” He frowned and laid the papers down. “What does a kid like you need fifty grand for, huh? How old are you?

“Twenty.”

“My grandson is nineteen and he’d send himself to the goddamned grave with fifty grand.” He leaned forward. “So what do you need it for?”

Lando sat up straight. “I have a food cart business. My food cart got destroyed. I need to start over.”

“Tell me more.” Big Marty leaned back and lit a cigarette.

“I, uh, sell burritos. They’re really good. You’ll have to —“

“Okay, don’t bullshit me, kid. I know you. Your food cart is a front for an agorist currency exchange. You trade fiat, crypto and precious.”

Lando looked up and to the right. He opened his mouth.

“Relax, kid.” Big Marty managed a small grin. “I’m happy with a greenback-based business. The fancy stuff doesn’t interest me. You haven’t stepped on my toes — as far as I know.”

Lando coughed to relax his throat. “Anyway, these cops that were shaking me down, they destroyed the cart. A police cruiser ran into it. And they stole from me.”

The man leaned forward. “Listen, kid, I can protect you from that kind of heat if you’re my friend.”

Lando’s mouth went dry.

“You wanna be my friend or not? It’s not every day I extend my friendship to a spic, much less a kid or one of you ideological types.”

Lando contorted his face. He swallowed. “What does that mean, exactly?” he asked.

Big Marty sighed. His jowls sagged. “One hand washes the other. Get it?”

“Oh, okay.” Lando nodded.

“Good. I think we understand each other, then. One hand washes the other. You know how that works. You spics are good with that stuff. And you agorists, what’s that fancy word you call it. Always cracks me up, you guys with your freaking fancy words. What is it, kid?”

“Solidarity?”

He burst out laughing. He made a gravelly sound. His teeth were a rotten yellow-brown color. The smog of his bad breath made its way to Lando’s nose.

Lando expelled air to clear the stench.

“That’s right. Solidarity! I lend you some capital. You store some product for me, sell me some silver now and then. Maybe you can teach me about this bitcoin thing.”

“Okay,” Lando said.

“That’s one thing I admire about you ideological types,” said Big Marty. “You know how to fight for ideas, even if they are weird ones, like standing up for yourself and not taking shit from anyone.”

Lando nodded at him.

“This is the way it works, kid. I give you the fifty grand in a few minutes. You sign the standard contract. Every Saturday before noon — this is important kid, pay attention. I don’t want to have to cripple you young, you hear me?” He opened his mouth wide and looked at Lando.

“Yes, yes, I hear you. I’m listening,” said Lando.

“Every Saturday before noon you come in and pay the lady twenty-five hundred. It’s gotta be in cash. No coinbits.”

“How long will it take me to pay it back?” Lando asked.

The man looked at him, his mouth open. He made that gravelly laugh again. “Go get your money, kid. You’re approved. Don’t think about skipping town either. We can track you down. We can track down your family and friends.” He whipped a metal baseball around from behind the desk and slammed it down on the wood.

Lando jumped. He pushed his chair back and prepared to run.

“That’s your first warning, uh …” He looked at the papers in front of him. “Landon. That’s all you get. Now scram and let me know when you’re back in business so I can try some of your spic food.”

Episode 89: Gut

“Who do I pay, Dad? I got the money,” Lando said.

There were tears in Dad’s voice. “You telling me the truth, mijo?”

Lando smiled. “Yes, Dad. Now who do I give it to?”

He paused. “Jaime knows the guy. I don’t know.”

Lando’s face fell. “What? Dad, Jaime doesn’t answer my calls or texts. He fell off the face of the planet.”

Dad was silent.

“Can you ask around? I mean, you’re there, Dad. I don’t even know where to start.”

Dad sighed. “Call me back in two hours.”

The line went dead. Lando picked up his fork. He sliced off a piece of real steak and eased it into his mouth.

He closed his eyes and savored it.

“Another beer, sir?” A waitress approached him from behind.

Lando smiled. “Yes. Yes, please.” Lando took a gulp of it. He smiled at himself before a pang of guilt ripped through his gut.

Who knows what kind of crap Dad and Mari are eating. Lando put his fork down and looked at the wall. Tears started to flow. “I’m such an asshole,” he whispered.

Lando picked up the fork and chewed it. I can’t let it go to waste now.

His earbud tingled. “Dad?” he answered.

“No. We did some business earlier today.”

Lando thought a moment. “Big Marty?” he whispered.

“That’s right. I need to verify your current location.”

Lando’s stomach groaned. He looked around. “What’s that about? This isn’t going to become a constant thing is it?” asked Lando.

“I just need to make sure you ain’t absconding from the country or some wild-ass shit like that, not with my money at least,” said Big Marty.

Lando sat completely still, stunned. “Of course. I’m at the steak restaurant a couple blocks down from you.”

“Celebrating in style I see. Good taste, kid. Just don’t blow it all in one place,” said Big Marty.

Lando shook his head. “No, it’s not —“

The line went dead.

Lando rolled his eyes. Justifying myself to a loan shark? He took another bite of steak. He followed it with steak fries and another gulp of beer. He held his beer above the table. I’ll get you a meal just like this when you’re out, Dad. Here’s to you.

His earbud tingled again. Lando hurried to chew up the steak. “Dad.”

“I found the man. He will meet you where you are now,” Dad said.

Lando was silent.

“Where are you? I got to call him right back.”

Lando cringed. “It’s called Galt’s Steak Deluxe, on South Street.”

“Galt’s Steak De— Galt’s Steak Deluxe! That place is expensive!” Dad yelled.

“I promise, Dad, when you’re out, I’ll bring you here.”

Dad spoke in a hushed tone. “I don’t know what to say to you anymore. Just wait there. He will arrive soon. You have the money now, right?”

“Yes, Dad. It’s all here and intact. Ready to go,” said Lando.

Dad hung up.

Episode 90: Precious

“Last one?” the waitress asked.

“No, just give me some coffee,” Lando said. “Make it black.”

“We’re closing in fifteen.” She laid the check on the table.

Lando pulled the cash out of his pocket. Where is this guy? He watched the door. A rowdy group exited. The restaurant got quiet. Lando was the last customer. A busboy looked at him.

Lando buried his head in his hands. A panic attack swept over him. How can I go out at 11:30 at night with fifty grand in cash? Lando remembered the call from Marty. Was that really the loan shark? It kind of sounded like him. Lando’s right leg jumped up and down under the table.

A man sat down across from him. Lando jumped in his seat. He slammed his knees into the metal table bracing and flinched. “Who are you?”

“My name’s not important,” the man said. “Call me Marbuckle.”

“What do you want?”

Marbuckle pulled his head back. “What do I want?” He moved to get up.

“Hold on. I’m sorry. I’m a little paranoid. Just give me something, so I know it’s you,” Lando said.

“Your dad called me. It’s about Mariana Sophia,” said Marbuckle.

Lando stared at him. Did I put her middle name on the loan application at the pawn shop?

“Are we going to do this or not? We’ve got a short window tonight to get your sister out.”

Lando pulled the bag out from underneath his leg and passed it to Marbuckle. “It’s all there. Fifty large.”

He pushed it back at Lando. “I told your old man. It’s sixty-thousand dollars.”

Lando looked at him dumbfounded. “But, Jaime —“

“I don’t know this Jaime character. Maybe he has better connections or maybe he’s a con man. You’re free to go negotiate with him.” Marbuckle moved to get up.

“No! Wait!” yelled Lando.

The waitress looked at him.

“I came because I was told you had the money, in hand, ready to go. If you don’t have it, just try me again when you do. Maybe we’ll find a window, maybe not. No guarantees.” Marbuckle stood up.

Lando blocked his path. “Wait!” he whispered. “Why not fifty?”

Marbuckle glared at him.

“Okay. Sixty. I have fifty-eight. I will get you the other two later this week,” said Lando.

Marbuckle leaned into Lando’s face. “Don’t waste my time, kid.”

Lando’s eyes lit up. He took a step into Marbuckle’s path. “Marbuckle. Look. I’ve got the other ten but I need a ride to go pick it up.”

He stared at the floor. “I’m not a taxi service.”

Lando’s shoulders sagged. “I’m begging you. You’re my last chance to get my baby sister out.”

Marbuckle shifted from one foot to the other. He sighed. “How old is this baby sister?”

“Fourteen.” Lando implored him with his eyes but Marbuckle wouldn’t look at him.

“I feel your pain. But like I said, call me when you’ve got it together.” He put on his hat and walked towards the door.

Lando ran and got in front of him. “I have precious.”

What Next?

I’m working on a couple other stories right now, a post-apocalyptic zombie thriller and a cyberpunk detective story called Scorched Myelin, which I'm going to write live on Steemit. Stay tuned!

New Episodes Daily

You're getting 1-4 new episodes up to 5 days per week here on Steemit right around NOON Eastern (New York time).

Let's connect! Follow me to get the next episodes (154 in total!) in your feed: @georgedonnelly

Don't miss an episode. Get a brief email every time I publish new science fiction story episodes on Steemit. Enter your primary email address here. Zero spam. An instant unsubscribe link is in every list email.

283b66886a0abe850c6c4b61e92f1d40.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44