Episodes 25-28 of The Coup Conspiracy (dystopian cryptocurrency novel)

Lando is catching flak from all sides about his past decisions and is left with no choice but to deal with a man who could get him killed.

Hi guys! As promised, here are episodes 25 thru 28.

Previous Episodes

119b77d50f8262ec3f1b0d132bf9ebfa.jpg

The United States is in slow-motion economic collapse. The Three Strikes Act funnels the unemployed masses into a national network of work camps for the most trivial of infractions.

Lando Cruz is a scrappy rebel who risks his final strike on the streets of Philadelphia by trading illegal currencies under cover of a burrito stand. He spends his days bribing dirty cops, fending off undercover federal agents and shepherding his little sister through adolescence.

Lando is getting by until beat cops seize his savings and kidnap his sister for ransom. He has thirty days to raise the hard cash he needs to free her before she is sold into sex slavery. His only chance is a lucrative job offer from the black market rebellion's paramilitary startup, the Core. He risks both his life and his principles to get his sister back before time runs out.

Episode 25: Voolavoo

Lando stood at the entrance to Malcolm X Park. Cars rolled down the street and pounding sounds came from their trunks. Young black and Hispanic men with mushroom hats stared him down. Maybe this wasn’t such a good idea.

“Lando?” A young white man in a polo shirt walked up and offered his hand.

“Who’s asking?” Lando took a step back.

“Relax, I’m Zared and you’re here for the job, right?” Zared smiled.

Lando nodded.

“Come on. We’ve got to run. It’s the only way to stay ahead of the gangs. They feel like we’re encroaching on their ‘territory.’ Hard core, man.” He winked at Lando and took off running away from the park between two brown-brick buildings.

Two blocks away, Zared looked behind them and listened. “Sometimes cops go undercover as gangbangers and try to get us that way.”

Lando’s chest heaved. “Can —?“

Zared took off again. Lando followed at a slow trot but then picked up the pace. Zared led him across junk-strewn backyards and through abandoned houses into a basement lab.

Lando caught his breath. “Are you going to show me out of here, too? Because I’m completely disoriented.”

Zared unwound a huge metal door that looked like submarine salvage. Inside was another giant door with a thick glass viewport in the middle. He closed the metal door and turned a wheel. A lock clanked into place. “That’s good,” said Zared with a grin. “It’s dangerous to know where we do business.”

Lando stopped and raised his eyebrows. “Maybe we should do the interview somewhere else?”

Zared waved a hand at him. “We take quality seriously here. Safety, too. You need to suit up.” Zared showed him a rack of white lab suits and goggles.

Zared led him through a narrow corridor lined with tall cannabis plants. In a back office, they removed their ventilators. Zared sat at a round conference table and invited Lando to join him. A tall, thin girl with blue and white hair entered the room. She laughed.

“Oh, this place is a blast,” she said to Lando. “You’re going to love working here!”

Lando inched up the corners of his mouth.

“Ooh, a serious one this is, eh, Zared?” She kissed Lando on the cheek. “I’m Sheri. And this is Voolavoo! We work hard, party hard and make good money. What’s not to like?”

Zared grinned. “So, Lando, we run a quality operation here. High standards. Strict safety. We need someone to run the MDMA machine. $1,500 per hour and about 30 hours per week to start, mostly at night. What do you think?”

“Is it dangerous?” asked Lando. He shifted in his chair. He looked at the girl and back to Zared. They’re too happy. Something is off.

Sheri spoke up. “Zared, buddy, are any of those joints left? We’re all about to go on break.”

Zared pulled a clear plastic bag out of a filing cabinet. It was half-full with wrapped white cylinders. “Lando, care for some?”

“Uh, no, thanks —“

“Come on Lando!” Sheri yelled. She clapped him on the back. “It’s good stuff.” She leaned in and raised her eyebrows at him.

Lando moved his chair away from her. This one is creeping me out. “Is the MDMA machine dangerous at all? Isn’t that the one that that guy blew up his —“

“Yes, it can blow up. But we have safeguards in place.” Zared put on a serious face. “Lando, we have to do a background check before hiring you. Are we going to find anything?”

Lando nodded. “Bad credit and two strikes.”

“We’ll take care of those credit problems pretty quickly. As for the strikes, are they violent?” Zared asked.

“No, just copyright stuff.”

“Bullshit, as usual. Fucking cops.” Zared shook his head. “Any questions for us, Lando?” he asked. Sheri lit up her joint and took a deep toke.

“Am I replacing someone?” Lando asked.

Sheri blew smoke into Lando’s face. She turned and smiled at him. “This one’s too uptight for MDMA, Zared! Put him on the modafinil. That’ll suit him just fine.” She cackled, stood up and headed for the door. “The modafinil!” She opened the door and stepped out then stuck her head back in. “I’m prescribing two weeks on the product, then he’ll fit right in!” She closed the door, still cackling.

Zared suppressed a chuckle. “Sorry, Lando, yes, you’re replacing Coty, an old friend of mine. Solid guy. He was here a long time.” Zared looked up at the ceiling. “He helped me launch this operation.” He frowned and looked down.

“Did he quit to start his own business?”

“Oh, no,” Zared said. “IPEC got him while making a delivery. He’s in a camp down south for unlicensed penicillin manufacture. Something about the process they think he used is patented by Pfizer Roche?” Zared shook his head. “It was a real shame, too. He was running that stuff down to the Chavez Clinic. He had two strikes, too. That damned Three Strikes Act.”

Lando folded his hands in front of him. Scary.

“So when can you —“ Zared’s tablet rang. “Give me a second here.” Zared listened for a minute. “Hey, as long as you get paid on time, you don’t fuck with my operation. That’s the agree— Fuck!”

Zared looked up at Lando. “I — let me get back to you, buddy. I’ll call you. Sheri will show you out.”

Episode 26: Interview

This had better not be an elaborate prank. Lando’s wrist communicator read 4:59 PM. He entered the alley where Takoda told him about The Core. It was abandoned.

Lando glanced at his wrist. 5:03 PM. Just a big joke on me, I guess. Lando leaned against a brick wall painted gray and massaged his forehead. He thought about Dad and Mariana. What if I can’t get anything? How am I going to feed them? Maybe we should move to another city and start over? And how would we even pay for that?

At 5:09 PM, Lando stood up and headed for the street. I’m out of here.

A black van raced around the corner. The side door slid open. A masked woman grabbed Lando’s hand and pulled him in. The door slammed shut behind him. She positioned him on a plush bench.

Lando sat for a moment without speaking. He moved his head to the left. Then to the right. The interior of the van was pitch black. “So, are we —“

A male voice spoke up behind him and a strong hand grabbed the back of his neck. “Quiet. Look straight ahead.”

Lando leaned forward to get the hand off of his neck. He counted the turns the van made and strained to hear any outside noise. Did they soundproof this thing? A soundproofed van? Really? Who picks people up in vans anyway? The cops.

Lando’s stomach fell. It’s a sting.

The sliding door opened and the van stopped. A black canvas bag fell over Lando’s face. Lando reached to rip it off but strong arms caught his. Panic rode up his spine. It’s gonna be okay. It’s gonna be okay. “Come on, guys, there’s no need for —!”

“Quiet!” said the male voice.

Heavy metal bars clanged. His knees shook and his body went cold. Shit, a total black bag job.

The bag came off. Lando found himself in a shiny metal and glass floor of corporate offices. It was dead silent. The whole floor appeared empty. Lando strained to see the skyline but the glass conference room walls frosted over.

Four burly, hooded men in black took up stations around the room. They crossed their hands in front of them and stared at Lando. A female voice with a British accent spoke up behind him. “Back here, Mr. Cruz.”

Lando whipped around and stared at her. She was thin, petite and had medium-length blond hair. Wow. Lando stared.

She smiled out of the side of her mouth. “You can call me Kelly, Mr. Cruz. We understand that you are interested in working with The Core.”

Lando ran his hands through his hair and sat up straight. He cleared his throat. “I might be. If the price is right.”

“If all you care about is money, Mr. Cruz, then you will be satisfied working here,” she said.

Lando cocked his head to one side. “Not just money. I just — Well …” Lando smiled. “Everybody needs money!” He swallowed hard.

“Indeed, Mr. Cruz, and we pay well.” She paused to examine a tablet. “Before we proceed further, I need you to sign this non-disclosure agreement.” She passed him the document and he immediately signed his name across the screen with a stylus.

“Please note,” she said, “that this is an agorist contract. If we have a disagreement, we will quietly take you to secret arbitration. And you will end up on the O-List.”

Lando nodded. “Don’t worry. I don’t want to be ostracized. I will not speak to anyone about this.”

“I’d like to give you a little background on our organization.” She read from a prepared statement. “The Core is the intelligence arm of The Network, the leading clique of the global agorist counter-economy. The Core was formed in response to the growing power of IPEC and its allied government agencies across the globe and to meet the need for corporate agorist intelligence. The Core is at the service of all agorist enterprises. Core operatives and analysts are tasked with using all available means to defend agorist interests from the corporatocracy. Our first mission is specifically to reverse the current trend and neutralize IPEC so that agorist enterprise can operate freely and the counter-economy can grow.”

“So basically you want to kick some IPEC ass and get them to back off,” Lando said. “What about the beat cops? They’re almost as bad.”

Kelly smiled and took a deep breath. “We’ve found that we can usually work with them through the use of the obvious inducements. Whereas IPEC has a more political and purist orientation, the local police can be, shall we say, influenced.”

Lando snorted. “Their prices are going up where I do business.”

“Yes, we’ve noticed that as well. It’s market forces at work, really. People are more desperate so the police can afford to charge more.”

“So,” said Lando, “are you hiring for operatives or analysts? Because political violence is not my thing. I can throw a punch but I’m better with research.”

“Both. But, if I remember correctly, your educational profile does not include college.” She narrowed her eyes and examined him.

This again. “I’m an autodidact. School was just wasting my time. I guarantee you I am better read and a better researcher or writer than any college graduate you have here. Give me any test you like. Just this morning I took the Govcorp post-undergraduate placement test and got a perfect score.”

Kelly touched her ear. “We’re willing to consider you for a junior analyst position.”

Lando pursed his lips. “I just want to be clear that I’m not interested in violence. It’s not my thing. In fact, I think this organization should avoid it as much as possible. Violence attracts too much attention. It’s bad for business. You can’t fly under the radar when you’re busting heads.”

“You think we should be flying under the radar?” she asked.

“Absolutely. At least until we reach around thirty-five or forty per cent of the national economy.”

Kelly touched her ear. “If accepted, you will need to complete four weeks of training at our facility. Your presence is required twenty-four hours per day, seven days per week. The program is very demanding.”

Lando thought about Dad and Mariana. “I have a family that needs me on a daily basis.”

“That won’t be possible,” Kelly said. Her face hardened.

Lando thought. “How much does it pay?”

“There’s a $50,000 stipend for the training, in recognition of the risk involved. If you are able to complete it then it’s $100,000 per month thereafter.”

Lando’s eyes got big. His face flushed and he suppressed a smile. Oh my God, this is perfect! He struggled to keep his voice from rising. “That would be acceptable.”

“Keep —“

“Wait a second.” Lando frowned. “Why does it pay so much?”

“As I was saying, keep in mind that The Core is effectively an illegal paramilitary organization. You’re getting in early, so it is likely you would be quickly tasked with a leadership position. Thus, you would soon be a leader in an armed rebellion that is actively attempting to weaken governments worldwide.” She contemplated him for a moment. “You would effectively be painting a —“

Lando held up a hand. “What’s your strategy for the organization? Is it about bombs and assassinations? Or is it more about spying, analyzing, researching …?”

“We’re not looking to start a war, no,” said Kelly.

Lando nodded. “Okay, I understand the risks.” And the rewards. He smiled inwardly. I can always get out after a couple months and be set for a while.

“You would be painting a target on your back. Although we are well-funded by our partners’ wide-ranging international agorist enterprises, there is no guarantee of success. We could be shut down tomorrow by IPEC. We would be tortured as terrorists and spend the rest of our lives in cages.” She cleared her throat.

Lando furrowed his brow. I can get out before it gets that far. I can always get out. He pressed his lips together and nodded at Kelly.

She touched her ear. “That said, there is every chance of success. You have suffered a lot for your principles. You are a very promising candidate for The — Yes, sir.” She stood up.

The door behind Lando opened and closed before he could get a look at the skyline. A man in a black mask and black clothes, identical to the other men in the room, walked to the front of the room and took a seat next to Kelly. He eyed Lando for a moment and then removed his mask.

“Hello, Lando,” he said.

Lando’s mouth opened. He scrunched up his nose. “Ryan?” Him? Involved in this?

Ryan smiled. “So, you’re interested in the position.”

Lando sat up straight. “Yes, I am.”

Ryan narrowed his eyes. “Why? Why is this right for you?”

Lando’s eyes darted to the floor. Think fast! “Uh, it’s in alignment with my values. I want to bring about a voluntary society. I’ve dedicated my life —“

“But why this particular opportunity?” Ryan leaned forward.

Lando looked at the ceiling, then the floor. “It pays well.”

Ryan laughed. “Understood.” He leaned back. “Lando, what’s your opinion of the current President?”

“I don’t like presidents, period. Or senators or governors or any politician or bureaucrat,” said Lando.

“Right, that goes without saying, but what’s your opinion of this one in particular?”

Lando thought for a minute. “At least he is not a friend to IPEC. And he’s directing more money to this basic income guarantee. If they insist on robbing me, I at least want it to go the poor. Then they will have capital to start agorist businesses.” Lando laughed.

Ryan started to frown, then smiled. “Right, of course. Smart thinking. So, is it fair to say you are a fan of his?”

“Not at all. He should resign and go do something productive. He’s still effectively stealing from people and he’s still commanding troops that are killing people. Screw him.”

Ryan whispered something to Kelly. “Very good. What about your family? Are they going to be able to spare you for the first month?”

Lando thought for a moment. “That’s going to be difficult for me. My dad is dying of cancer and my sister is very young. They depend on —“

“How old is your sister?” Ryan asked.

“Fourteen.”

Ryan laughed. “Surely she can handle taking care of your father for a month?”

Lando pursed his lips.

“What’s more important to you, Lando - your family or your principles?” Ryan leaned forward.

Lando looked up. Wow, good question. “I’d have to say my principles. I love my family. They mean everything to me. But without my principles, I am nothing. I can’t do anything for them. If I can’t live in accordance with my values, I’m not sure what value I have — literally!” He smiled.

“At the same time,” Lando continued, “my family is one way I put my values into practice. They’re both very important to me.” He pursed his lips and nodded.

“Fair enough,” he said and stood up. “I have a surprise for you!” Ryan motioned to the door.

David walked in. He made a beeline for Lando.

“Lando, I’m so glad you’re going to be working with us!” said David.

Lando stared at him. “What are you doing here?”

“I took a job with Ryan as well. Isn’t it going to be great, being in training together, working together?” He clapped Lando on the back.

Lando frowned. He turned to Ryan. “You hired —“

David spoke over him. “Lando really needs this now, Ryan. He just lost his food cart, his dad has cancer and his sister —“

Lando turned to David. “Can you please shut up! Stop talking about me!”

David’s eyebrows raised.

“David, this is dangerous. This is not right for you,” said Lando.

Ryan spoke up. “I think that is for David to decide.”

“David is not the right guy for this, Ryan.”

“Yes, I am! I can do this, Lando. Why don’t you believe in me?” David walked away. “You never believe in me. Some friend —“

“You’re too young for this, David,” said Lando.

“Perhaps,” Ryan said, “you can help us keep David safe?”

Lando glared at Ryan.

“By the way, Lando, we will need your answer by tomorrow morning 9 AM. Thank you very much for the chance to speak with you. I look forward —“

This is bald-faced manipulation. Lando balled his fists at his sides. “I can give you my answer right now. No.”

Episode 27: Pigheaded

“There is no way I can leave my dad for a month, David. What if he dies while I’m in training? I would miss the funeral,” said Lando. Why would they hire David - and first? We met Ryan at the same time.

“You’re my best friend in the whole world. I want to do this with you,” said David.

Lando rolled his eyes.

“You can’t put your life on hold, waiting around for your dad to die. This is a good thing and we can do it together,” said David.

Lando rolled his eyes. He’s right but that’s not the point. “I’m going to give it to you straight. You’re sixteen. You’re fat, out-of-shape and lazy. You sit around your house all day and play video games. You are not qualified for this job. Just the fact that they hired you is a big red flag right there.”

The line was silent.

“This is not a good idea for you, David. If I participate, I’m endorsing this for you, too. And I would have to watch out for you. Why should I babysit you when my dad is dying and my sister needs me?”

“This is my chance to shine,” snarled David. “Don’t get in my way.”

Lando laughed and cut the connection. What a tough guy. Lando slid open the closet door and came out into Dad’s room.

Dad looked up from his newspaper. “I thought you were asleep by now,” he said. He smiled at Lando. “How is the search going?”

Lando grimaced. “Not good, Dad. Not good.” He moved towards the kitchen.

“I am reading this article about your Raven,” said Dad.

Lando turned around and waited by the door. Here it comes.

Dad looked at the paper. He said, “He says everybody must be free but he says nothing about responsibility.” He looked at Lando over the tops of his reading glasses. “Is this the guy you listen to, your agora spokesman? Is this the best thing your agora can say?” He hit the paper.

“He’s smart and he’s inspirational. He’s a good leader. So what?”

“Is this the best man you can find to follow? I think even you can do a better job! He just repeats the same things over and over again but he doesn’t say anything about how to keep people in line!”

“Dad, I’d really like to —“

Dad set down the newspaper. “Tomorrow, we are moving next door. I need you here early. Marianita and I can’t do it alone.”

“I need to go out all day tomorrow, Dad. I’m still looking —“

Dad sat up straight in bed and his eyes got big. “You will be here early and you will help us move! That is the final word! We’re in this problem because of your decisions and your pigheadedness!”

Episode 28: The Vig

“I’m interested in a loan,” Lando said. He bit his lip. This is probably a bad idea, but what’s the alternative? Sit around and wait? How are we going to relocate with nothing? I need to restart my business now.

A tall, thin redhead sat behind bulletproof glass. She passed him a piece of paper through a hole in the thick glass. “Dearie, fill out this form. The application fee is $200. We gotta pull your credit report and your agorafax, just so you know. Anything up to $20,000, the minimum vig is sixty per cent monthly.”

“That’s funny. I need exactly $20,000.” Lando’s stomach rumbled. His throat was dry.

“Yeah, hilarious.” She twitched her nose. “Be right back, hon.” She hobbled on high heels to a back room and closed a door behind her.

Lando leaned against the counter and examined the form. Twenty grand plus the ten grand Sarge left me … Lando grimaced. That will cover the cart, repairs and getting-started money for food and propane. I’ll pay back —

A man screamed. A door opened and the sound of a hard hand slapping human flesh reached Lando. A huge, bald man in a sleeveless white t-shirt plodded through the front office. There was blood on his leg.

Lando’s eyes got big. I should sell my spot on the corner. Yes. Wait, it’s too hot right now. They’ll catch me and take the cash. Sarge. He’s looking for me.

Lando turned. He looked out at the street through the loan shark’s floor-to-ceiling picture window. A cop car raced down the street with its sirens screaming.

“Hon, your —“

Lando jumped.

The redhead snickered. “You alright there? Someone after you or something?”

Lando put his hand to his chest. “Just scared me is all.”

“Your agorafax is spotless, but your credit report … The vig is gonna be a little higher.” She grimaced. “We’re required by law to show you the weekly payment schedule.” She passed him a file. It read, “$3,750 per week plus variable principal installment.”

Plus principal? “So how much is my principal installment?” Lando asked.

“Whatever you can pay that week. Sign right there. And write your three closest family members’ names, addresses and phone numbers here.” The woman yawned.

Lando picked up the pen. He heard another scream. A door came open. “Amy, get me a rag!”

“Be right there, Big Marty!” She smiled. “What would he do without me?” she whispered.

What Next?

After I finish this series, what kind of story do you want to read next? Tell me now and I can start writing it.

New Episodes Daily

You're getting 1-4 new episodes 5 days per week here on Steemit. You can expect to not only be entertained by a fast-paced story but also inspired to think more deeply about your future.

Want to connect? Twitter's good: @GeorgeDonnelly

Don't miss an episode. Get a brief email every time I publish new content on Steemit. Enter your primary email address here. Zero spam. An instant unsubscribe link is in every list email.

4ac9e3d857effc81e734b614cadefa6b.md.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61915.54
ETH 3000.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59