Episodes 39-50 of The Coup Conspiracy (dystopian cryptocurrency novel)

Hi guys! As promised, here are episodes 39 thru 50.

Apologies for the missed days. I've been busy with the @steemsmart podcast and with a small project to bring "my people" from my blog and mailing lists over to Steemit.

From now on, I'm making a special effort to get my fiction posted by noon Eastern (New York time).

Thanks for your patience and enjoy the story!

Previous Episodes

119b77d50f8262ec3f1b0d132bf9ebfa.jpg

The United States is in slow-motion economic collapse. The Three Strikes Act funnels the unemployed masses into a national network of work camps for the most trivial of infractions.

Lando Cruz is a scrappy rebel who risks his final strike on the streets of Philadelphia by trading illegal currencies under cover of a burrito stand. He spends his days bribing dirty cops, fending off undercover federal agents and shepherding his little sister through adolescence.

Lando is getting by until beat cops seize his savings and kidnap his sister for ransom. He has thirty days to raise the hard cash he needs to free her before she is sold into sex slavery. His only chance is a lucrative job offer from the black market rebellion's paramilitary startup, the Core. He risks both his life and his principles to get his sister back before time runs out.

Episode 39: Epidermis

Lando jogged up 8th Street past the hospital. He opened the door marked “Kidney Clinic” and walked to the back. He opened another. He strode up to the receptionist.

“This is the kidney place, right?” he asked.

“Good afternoon, sir. Here is a pamphlet you’ll be interested in. Please take a seat and the doctor will be with you shortly.”

Lando studied the pamphlet. Blah blah, risks, side effects. Prices. $35,000. Damn. It’s not enough.

He approached the receptionist. “What else can I sell?”

The receptionist studied him. “We accept a wide range of donations. Here is the complete list.”

Lando studied the list. Maybe a cornea. I can serve burritos with one good eye. Hmm, femoral vein, pancreas. I only need $5,000 more.

“Uh, hi,” he said to the receptionist.

She looked at him over a pair of reading glasses.

Lando smiled. “I need $5,000 more. What’s the least harmful, uh, part I can sell for that?”

“Donate,” she said. She took his pamphlet and turned to the back. “How about some epidermis?” She handed the pamphlet back to him.

“Epidermis? Okay, I’ll do that, too,” he said.

“The doctor is delayed. Why don’t we start your intake processing?” She handed him a form on a clipboard.

Lando filled out the form and signed in four different places. He returned it to the receptionist.

“Did you read the disclaimers, sir?”

Lando held up his hands. “Can we just do this? I don’t have a lot of time.”

“I understand.” She passed his form to a young doctor. “Mr. … Cruz,” said the doctor, “right this way. I’m Dr. Juliano.” He grinned at Lando.

Lando’s stomach went hollow and he grimaced. This is creepy.

“This is a perfunctory exam, Mr. Cruz. We’ll do some blood work as well,” Dr. Juliano said.

A nurse entered and drew blood. She did not look at Lando.

“That was painless,” Lando said. I bet Dad will be a lot cheaper to get out. Maybe I’ll hit the loan shark for that. He won’t have to know.

Lando rubbed his hands together and rolled his head back. A wave of exhaustion and euphoria rolled over him. “Thank God.” He held his hands up, palms together, above his nose. “Thank you God!”

Dr. Juliano entered. “Just take off your shirt, Mr. Cruz.” He examined Lando’s back.

“Is that where you’ll take the kidney out?”

He laughed. “Oh, no. We’ll shave this area and then take the graft.”

“How does that work?” Lando asked.

“What we do is use a roller and a really sharp blade. And we shave off strips of skin.”

Lando trembled. He grabbed his back and stood up. “Wait, I thought I was going to donate my epidermis? Oh —“

“That’s right,” said Dr. Juliano.

“Right. I’m really out of it,” said Lando. His back tickled. He imagined shaving off strips of skin. He gritted his teeth.

“Whatever it is you’re doing this for, I hope it’s important,” said the doctor. He suppressed a grin. “Because it’s going to cost a pound of flesh!” He broke out laughing as he walked away. “A pound of flesh!” He chuckled.

Lando massaged his temples. Am I really going to do this?

The nurse entered. “We’re going to prep you now. You’ll need to take off all of your clothes and put on this gown.” She left the gown on the examining table. Flimsy. Slit up the back. Great.

Lando changed into the gown. He grabbed the back of the gown to hold it closed. These things are so embarrassing.

The nurse wheeled in a stretcher. Lando laid down and folded his hands on his stomach. He looked from side to side and breathed through his mouth. The stretcher bumped through a pair of double doors. “Hey, what about my backpack and my clothes?”

“We’ll take care of it for you,” she said.

“Is this going to take long?” Lando asked.

“You’ll be up and around in a few days.”

A few days? At least Sarge won’t find me in here. Or can he?

Dr. Juliano burst through the double doors. “Kenzie, Arti at reception says she hasn’t finished processing him yet and to bring him back to the examining room.”

Kenzie frowned and looked at her watch. “I’ve got my son today.”

“Policy,” Dr. Juliano said and shrugged his shoulders.

Kenzie wheeled Lando back to the area behind the receptionist’s station. She looked at her watch. “Arti,” she said.

“Oh, right,” said Arti. “So sorry!” She giggled. “His medical tests are clear.” She looked at Lando and smiled. “You’ll be happy to hear that the contract has been approved. Now, I just need to run the fingerprints and background check. It’ll just be a minute.”

Lendo tensed.

“Touch this panel here,” said Arti. She waited a beat. A picture of Lando appeared on the screen. “That definitely looks like you.” She giggled again.

A wave of relief passed over Lando. “Yes, that’s me!” This is gonna work. This has got to work.

Arti’s phone rang. “Juliano and Associates. Hello mataji. Yes, the boys are looking forward to it.”

Kenzie cleared her throat.

“I must apologize. I have to take care of something here. We will be there tonight at 7:30. Yes, you too.” Arti rolled her eyes.

“Mr. Cruz, your background check is all —“ started Arti.

Lando sat up on the stretcher. “Yes?”

Something flashed red on her screen. She sat still. Arti turned and looked at Lando.

Lando stood up and walked to her screen. “Those bastards put an APB out on me!”

Arti backed away from him. She reached for her tablet.

Lando looked at her. “Relax, it’s these cops, they robbed me. I’m not going to hurt you.”

Arti relaxed a little. “I have to report you to the police. It’s policy.” She put her hands up in front of her face. “Please don’t hurt me.”

“Just wait,” Lando said. “Do me a favor and wait.”

She reached over and hit return. “I just can’t. It’s my job on the line.”

Lando’s shoulders slumped. “God damn it. Did you really have to —“ He ran to the examining room, grabbed his backpack and made for the front door. He turned back. “I don’t know what to do,” he said to Kenzie.

Kenzie shrugged her shoulders. “Only the agora can help you now.”

Lando rolled his eyes. He ran out the door and around the corner to an alley. He got dressed and made the call.

“This is Lando Cruz. Is the position still available?” he asked.

Episode 40: Amateur Hour

“I want to welcome you,” Ryan said, “to something very special.” He smiled and looked around the parking garage at the faces of seven recruits. They stood between him and a grimy concrete wall. At their sides, two black vans sandwiched them in and protected them from inquiring eyes. The van headlights illuminated Ryan.

“The Core is a project that I worked on day and night for years. Thanks to —“

A car alarm echoed above them. Lando covered his ears. Ryan’s mouth continued to move but the sound did not reach his ears. Amateur hour.

The alarm shut off. “Thanks to that fine group, we have the opportunity —“ He waved his hands in the air. “You know what, let’s just get to it. I want three of you to pile into this van with me and the other four to get into that van with Harold.”

Lando tilted his head to one side and raised his hand. “Where —“

“Please,” said Ryan, “Harold and I will answer all of your questions when we get to the safe house.” He cleared his throat. “Now, I have some important infor—“

A car horn went off. The sound bounced off the walls around them. Lando covered his ears and looked at the blond girl next to him. He shrugged his shoulders at her.

She glared at him.

The noise stopped. Lando opened his jaw wide and rubbed his ears. “Can we get out of here already?” he whispered.

“Some important information, first,” yelled Ryan. “One, you will be hooded in the vans. You may not remove the hood.”

“Is he for real?” asked Lando.

The blond girl made an angry face and shushed him.

Lando suppressed a grin.

“Two,” continued Ryan, “you may not leave the safe house without special permission. And that permission will not be granted. The house is big and we will feed you well, so you’ll be fine.”

Lando blew air out through his nostrils.

The young man in front of him turned around. He wore a bow tie. “Would you please be quiet?” he said. “I want to hear what he has to say.”

Lando narrowed his eyes at him. “Don’t I know you?” he whispered. The man ignored him.

“Three, and I have some good news as well as bad news here, in ten days —“

A low-slung black sports car flew up a ramp and screeched to a halt behind Ryan. The driver rolled down his blacked-out window. Ryan turned around.

“What is this, a convention? The garage is full. Park or get out!” yelled the driver.

“Harold?” said Ryan.

A thin black man in a green army jacket came out from behind a van and approached the sports car. It sped off.

Lando frowned. “Get on with it already.“

The blond girl turned and poked a finger into Lando’s chest. “Shut up already!” she whispered.

Ryan cleared his throat. “Anyway, we’re almost done here. Number three.” He paused and made eye contact with each of the recruits. “Number three is very important. We have a very aggressive vision for The Core, and for this cell in particular.”

“In just ten days,” he continued. “We will strike a great blow for freedom, right here in Philadelphia. The Three Strikes Act? The intellectual property enforcement complex? We will render them null and void!” he yelled. He smiled. “The consequences of your commitment to this mission will be felt in the agora for years to come. And you will be the leaders of a new kind of resistance!”

Lando looked at the blond girl. Her face was taut. She stared at Ryan. The bow-tie man tilted his head in approval. Lando glanced around at the remaining four recruits. They smiled and cheered.

“It may be hard for you to believe this, but it’s true. We have the plan. We have the window of opportunity. The funding is in place and now we have you, the manpower.” He smiled and looked at the blond girl. “And womanpower.”

Lando looked at her. She jumped up and down and clapped.

“But, there is something I haven’t yet told you. I recruited each of you. You seven are the cream of the agora. You are the most effective activists, entrepreneurs, smugglers and thinkers in the resistance. You are the best — the biggest pains in the government’s ass!”

A muscular man in front raised his fist and cheered.

Ryan cleared his throat. “But not all of you will be with us at the end of these ten days.”

Lando raised an eyebrow.

“Only three of you will make the grade for the final mission.” Ryan paused. “Memorize your study materials. Make your best effort. Keep a positive attitude and be a team player. Carry out your missions without debate.” He looked around at each of them again. “If you cannot accept these conditions, do not get into the vans. Go on your way and keep silent about what you have seen here tonight. We must protect our opsec at all costs.”

Lando raised his hand. Ryan acknowledged him with a quick jerk of his head. Everyone turned to look at Lando.

“Do we still get paid?” Lando asked.

Ryan looked down at Lando. “‘Do you still get paid?’”

“If you wash out, do you still get paid?” asked Lando.

“Oh!” said Ryan. He smiled. “Yes, oh, and this is very important. For reasons of opsec — that’s operational security for those of you new to this secret agent stuff — those four of you who wash out must relocate overseas for a minimum of six months before returning to the United States.”

“Overseas?” murmured bow-tie man. He turned around and looked at Lando. “Did he say overseas? I can’t go overseas.”

“Yes, indeed,” said Ryan, “overseas. We have a beach house in West Africa where you can recharge until the smoke clears.”

“I can’t go to Africa!” yelled the bow-tie man. “Is this a joke?”

Ryan looked at Harold. Harold strode over to bow-tie man. He grabbed him by the arm and led him out of the group. “This way, please, sir.”

“Hey, I have some questions about this!” yelled bow-tie man. “Like who exactly is funding this? And who —“

Harold jerked bow-tie man away from the group and walked him down the ramp towards the exit.

Lando turned to the blond girl. “These guys don’t fool around.”

Episode 41: Logan Jackson

“So, you’re still here. I’m Alexis, by the way,” the blond girl said. “Looks like we lost a couple.”

Lando ran his hands through his hair and looked around the room. It was long but narrow with plain white walls. In front of Lando was a bar with plastic curtains behind it. “This must be the safe house, then.” He turned around. Two couches sat against the long wall to his right. Some plastic chairs huddled around them as well as a wide, transparent screen.

He turned back around and studied Alexis’s eyes. “You’re way too young to be here.”

Alexis crossed her arms. “You can’t be much older than me.”

“Hey!” The muscular guy walked over and held his open palm up in front of Lando.

Lando brought his hand up. A little full of ourselves?

“Logan Jackson. You psyched or what! This is going to be awesome.” He smacked his palm against Lando’s and put his arm around Alexis. “I just wish we could keep our tablets for this.”

Alexis shrugged his arm off and pinched her lips. “Yeah.” She rubbed her neck. “And not have this chip thing in our necks.”

“Well, this one’s just a barrel of laughs!” Logan continued across the room.

“I said no to that!” Lando said to Alexis. He looked to follow Logan but Alexis grabbed his shoulder. He looked at her and smiled. Her face was plain but pure. Her hair was in a jumble from the hood. She was cute.

Alexis smiled and looked down. She stepped in closer to Lando and hooked her arm into his. “So, did you pack for six months at a Somalian beach?”

Lando raised his eyebrows and smiled. “I —“

Logan yelled again. He high-fived the only other remaining cell member, a young East Asian man.

Lando grimaced. “Let’s step over here.” He reached for Alexis’s upper arm and pulled her towards the couch. They sat down. “I have something I have to do.”

She angled her body towards him and batted her eyes. “What is it? I mean, if you can tell me.” Their thighs touched.

Lando looked up. “I — my family is in trouble because of me. It’s all my fault. They’re in the camps.”

“Did they get three strikes?” she asked.

“No. They’re — all of us really — are undocumented. But I have fake papers. They don’t. I have to get enough money to bribe them out before they’re deported.”

“Wow, that sucks.” She clenched her jaw. “Was it hard to get the papers?“

Logan brought the remaining cell member over to them. He ran, jumped and landed next to Alexis. “Jerry, this is …”

“This is Alexis,” said Lando. He held out his hand. “And I’m Lando.”

“Lando Cruz? The banker?” Jerry pushed his way past Logan and shook Lando’s hand.

Lando winced and looked down. “Yeah, that’s me.” He looked at Alexis.

Alexis raised her eyebrows. “A banker? I didn’t know we had any agorist banks.”

“He runs it under cover of a taco stand!” said Jerry. He laughed with his mouth open.

“A burrito cart, actually,” said Lando. “I’ve heard of you, Logan, by the way. How many times have you been arrested, man?”

“Ha!” Logan yelled. “I lost count.”

“Aren’t you a little high-profile for this?” asked Lando.

Logan’s face fell. “It’ll be fine. I’m not worried about it.” He looked away.

Jerry cringed and took a step back. “I know one of us has to go but let’s not ruin our first night, huh, guys?” He shook his head at Alexis. “Let’s leave these two lovers alone, huh?”

Lando laughed. “Relax. I was just surprised, that’s all. What about you, Jerry? Do I know you?”

“I’m the Raven,” Jerry said with a straight face. “And I flew here in my agoracopter!” He broke out laughing. “No, no, just kidding. I write for the Agora Standard as Jack Spooner.”

“Hey, I read your stuff all the time!” said Logan. “You write great stuff! I love that.” He clapped Jerry on the back. “This is so awesome, guys. I’m so excited!”

“Do you guys think the Raven is actually here?” asked Alexis. “I mean, he is the most well-known agorist and Ryan said the best people were involved in this.”

“Maybe one of us is the Raven,” said Jerry. He grinned. “Is it you, Logan?”

Logan grinned and looked down. “Nope. Not me.” He looked at Lando.

“It’s not me, either,” said Lando. “I’ve got my hands full with my bank. But I would love to have that helicopter of his. Do you think he would even be involved in something like this? He always writes about how we should be building and trading. He never writes about spying and blowing stuff up.”

“Ooh! Do you think we’ll get to blow anything up?” asked Logan. He smiled wide. “I sure hope so.”

“I’d like to know,” said Alexis, “how they plan to counter all the surveillance. The drones, the blimps, the insect drones. We’ll be identified anytime we set foot outside this house. Game over right there.”

Harold sat down next to her. “Don’t worry —“

Alexis jumped forward and wrapped her arms around Lando. She took a deep breath and glared at Harold. “You scared me!”

Harold smirked. He spoke in a low voice. “Don’t worry about the surveillance or the cops. We have that situation handled.” He regarded them with cold eyes. “Now, I want you all in the sleeping quarters.” He clapped his hands twice. “We’re up at 4 AM tomorrow for a workout, then basic training. Another recruit is coming in so don’t think you can backslide. The competition is keen.”

“Where am I sleeping?” Alexis asked.

“Same place as the other recruits,” Harold said. “Let’s get moving. Your bags are already in there.”

Alexis held her ground and frowned. “I need my own sleeping quarters.”

“You’ll make do.” Harold put his hands to Lando’s and Alexis’s lower backs and pushed them in the direction of the sleeping quarters.

Lando passed through a narrow opening and searched the wall to his right for a light switch.

Harold pushed the others through and stuck his head in. “Lights!”

Lando looked around the newly illuminated space. “Bunk beds. I like bunk beds.”

The door closed behind them and a metal deadbolt clanked into position.

Episode 42: Alexis

“Lando.” It was Alexis.

He turned back from the bathroom and kneeled down next to her bunk. His wrist communicator said 1:07 AM. He put his face in front of hers and smiled. “Can’t sleep either, huh?”

“What do you think it will be like tomorrow? What will they make us do?” she asked.

Lando turned his head sideways and looked straight into her eyes. He gave her a bemused smile.

Alexis giggled.

Lando put his mouth close to hers. He searched her eyes. Then he kissed her. Alexis received the kiss. Then her eyes got big and she pulled back.

“I can’t do a relationship right now,” she said.

Lando sat back. “Yeah, me neither. At any moment, one or both of us could be exiled to a West African beach house.”

Alexis giggled. She put both hands under her head and looked him up and down. “We really have to get to sleep. Go to bed!” She laid a finger on his cheek and then rolled over.

Episode 43: You Don’t Belong Here

“You don’t belong here, Lando,” Ryan said. He looked Lando straight in the eye.

Lando looked around the large room. Over at the table, diagonal from the couch area and next to the bar with the plastic curtains, Jerry, Logan and Alexis ate breakfast with Harold.

Lando squinted his eyes. “Excuse me?”

“You don’t belong here,” said Ryan. “It’s that simple.”

Lando shook his head. I hope he doesn’t throw me out. I need this money. “I don’t belong here? Yes, I do. And don’t expect me to wash out, either.”

Ryan smirked and crossed his arms. “No, that’s not what I meant. You’re special. You’re not like the others.” He gestured towards the breakfast table. “These are privileged people. They grew up with food in their mouths, new clothes on their backs and they received an education.”

Lando looked at them.

“But you,” he continued, “you made the trip across the border at an early age, didn’t you?”

Lando looked down and kicked at the thin carpet.

“You did chores at an early age. That’s why you’re such a good cook. Did you even have time to go to school?”

Lando’s cheeks burned and he felt a tightness in his throat. “School? I was locked out of school. I didn’t have the papers.”

Ryan took a small step towards him. “Who taught you to read?”

Lando shrugged. “Who? Nobody! I learned online. Khan Academy. BitTorrent books. You know, all that stuff.”

“All of this while taking care of your younger sister and nursing your d—“

Lando jerked his head up. “How do you know all this about me?”

Ryan threw his head back and laughed. “Relax. We looked into you, of —“

“It was David, wasn’t it? Where is he, anyway?”

“Oh, he’ll be here today.”

Lando cleared his throat. “He’s not a regular recruit like us. He’s too young. If he washes out, his mother — it just wouldn’t be right.”

“David has been hired for an administrative position.”

“Administrative?” asked Lando. Didn’t know that was an option.

Ryan leaned in and put a hand on Lando’s shoulder. “You don’t belong here.”

Lando’s shoulders fell and he rolled his eyes. “What are you saying? You want me to wash out?”

Ryan looked at him with a bemused smile.

“I’m the toughest recruit you have. There is no way I am washing out. And, anyway, why are you washing people out in the first place? Send some of our best people out of the country? Why not just reassign them? It makes no sense. It’s going to weaken the agora as a whole.”

Ryan looked over his shoulder at the breakfast table. Logan laughed. His plate was overfilled. Alexis looked up at him and smiled. Jerry shoveled food into his mouth without looking up.

“That Logan seems pretty tough. He’s a big guy, sociable —“ started Ryan.

Lando ejected air through his nose. “Logan? His face is all over the media. Everyone knows him. He’s too high-profile for this. How is he even —“

“Let me just stop you right there.” Ryan held his palm in front of Lando’s face.

Lando scowled and stepped to the side. He opened his mouth.

“Logan,” Ryan continued, “is here for a very important reason, a reason that may or may not become clear to you later on.”

Logan inserted himself between Ryan and Lando. “Talking about people behind their backs, huh, Cruz? Aren’t you starting a little early on that?”

Lando took a step back and opened his mouth but Jerry came up next to him.

“Yo, Lando, let’s just chill out,” said Jerry. “You haven’t even had breakfast yet and you’re already bad-mouthing us? Take it down a notch, bro. Delicious pancakes, by the way.”

Lando rolled his eyes. “I was just —“

Alexis walked up and stood between Ryan and Logan. Logan rested his bulky arm on her shoulder and leaned into her. Alexis steadied herself and smiled. Logan wiggled his eyebrows up and down at Lando.

Lando threw up his hands and ran them through his hair. “I’m going to eat.”

Ryan raised his wrist to look at his communicator. “Better hurry up. Five minutes until you start your first day of training.”

Episode 44: Harold

“And that, is how, in general terms, we, a small but capable force, will outwit a larger, stronger and yet slower opponent,” said Ryan.

At the far end of the room, diagonal from the couches and next to the sleeping area, Ryan stood in front of a white wall. Harold leaned against the wall a few paces behind him and on the other side of the door to the sleeping area. The recruits sat on thin plastic chairs in front of Ryan, their backs to the eating area.

Logan raised his hand. He stood up, pushed down his pants legs and said, “That sounds great. What is our mission going to be? Are we going to embarrass them? Is it an occupation? Are we going to knock the surveillance drones out of the sky? I need to know what our goal is, what our —“

Ryan crossed his arms. “All in due time, Logan. Now —“

“How do you plan to get us past the surveillance drones, anyway? And the blimps? They watch everything, all the time,” Lando said. “And they store those video feeds for years. Five years from now, they can —“

Ryan held up his hand in a stop signal and tightened his face. “Harold and I will provide you with the right equipment at the right time. Let’s not get ahead of ourselves.”

Ryan gestured to Harold to come over. “Now, Harold is going to —“

Harold sauntered past Ryan with a devilish grin on his face. He turned to face the recruits and whipped his hand back, under his shirt. He pulled out a pistol and swept the group with it.

Jerry dove behind Logan. Logan yelled. Alexis scowled and Lando watched the scene with his eyes big.

Harold let the gun fall to his side and doubled over laughing. “You chickenshit pussies! I’m going to show you how to handle a gun. And how to hit a target with it! Handguns, rifles, shotguns — you’ll get used to hitting your targets with all of them.”

He strode over to the bar and hit a button. The plastic curtains retracted to reveal an open space at least a hundred feet deep. “This,” he turned to face them, “is your shooting range. You will observe proper firearm safety at all times. There will be zero negligent discharges!” He smiled. “Even if you like to screw around — like me.”

Episode 45: IPPPA

“Cease fire!” yelled Logan. He removed two bright orange earplugs from his ears and smiled at Lando. His black pistol, the action open, and the magazine out, sat in front of him on the bar.

Jerry squeezed off another shot. Logan winced in pain as the sharp sound deadened his hearing. “What the hell! I said cease fire! Cease fire! Cease fire!” yelled Logan.

Alexis tapped Jerry on the shoulder and moved her palm towards the bar. Jerry looked around, raised his eyebrows and then laid the gun down. He held his hands up in front of him. “What?”

“Cease fire! I said.” Logan strode over to Jerry and pushed him. He rubbed his ears and hyperextended his jaw.

“Hey, I didn’t hear you, bro. Chill out!” Jerry took his earplugs out. “I’m exhausted. Let’s see what we can get on the screen.” He stretched his arms above his head and yawned. “We really need a break, huh?” He headed for the couch area. Alexis and Lando followed.

Lando found the remote control under a cushion and unfolded it. The screen blinked on a few feet in front of them, a sixty-inch model. “News,” said Lando.

“News? No way, man, too much of a downer. H—,” said Jerry.

“Lock,” said Lando.

A fat face appeared on the screen. “Today, the House approves historic legislation to curb the rising power of the agora, these terrorists —“

“Oh, man, you are just bringing me down something awful!” yelled Jerry.

Lando turned up the volume. Alexis inched closer to him.

“The Intellectual Property Prosperity Protection Act gives the IPEC increased police powers and funding to combat the threat to our nation’s vital intellectual property posed by these pirates, these outright thieves, who are stealing the American dream from our people, who are causing the corporations to offshore and automate American jobs.” Underneath the fat face it said “Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mark Daniels”

Logan sat down between Lando and Alexis. “This guy is bought and paid for. And the IPEC are just the corporations’ secret police.” He cleared his throat. “Intellectual property is bullshit!” He turned to Alexis and rubbed his ear. “The ringing is starting to go down.”

A thinner face appeared on the screen. “President Gareth Radabaugh,” it said at the bottom of the screen. “I will veto HR 8004 should it reach my desk. The lawlessness of the agora is unacceptable and my administration has plans in place to combat it. But we must also recognize that corporate sector employment is at an all time low and that the agora has taken up that slack. Change must —“

Jerry hit a button on the side of the screen and it went off. “Sorry, Lando. I prefer to read their bullshit and in small doses. I just can’t take it whole like that.”

Lando rolled his eyes. “We need —“

“So the President is almost like an ally to us?” asked Alexis.

“The President,” said Logan, “is a tyrant and he is no friend of ours.”

“We’re fifteen percent of the national economy,” said Jerry. “Eighty per cent of the corporate layoffs transition into the counter-economy now, and they bring their patented corporate tech with them. We’re kicking their asses!”

They all laughed. Except for Logan. He continued to massage his ears.

The door at the end opposite from the sleeping area opened. Harold escorted two black-hooded people into the room.

“Fresh meat,” whispered Logan with a smirk.

Alexis scowled and elbowed him.

Harold reached to remove their hoods.

Episode 46: David

Harold removed the first hood. It was David.

Lando grimaced. He shouldn’t be here.

Harold removed the second hood. The person had his back to them.

Logan strode over. “Hello guys and welcome! I’m Logan!” He grabbed David’s hand and shook it.

David looked at Lando and scowled. Lando walked over and clapped him on the back.

“So, you really did join,” said Lando. “What did you tell your mom?”

The flaps of fat on David’s face shook. “Well, you know, I told her I was —” He took a deep breath. “That I would be — well, I am going —“

“You told her you’d be with me, right?” asked Lando.

David looked down and rubbed the back of his neck. He nodded his head.

“And when she can’t reach me or my dad or Mari or you? Then what? What do you think she’ll do? Because we’re incommunicado in here for who knows how long.” Lando shook his head.

Alexis came up behind Lando. She put a hand on his shoulder and leaned into him.

David studied the floor. He shrugged.

“She’s going to call the cops, David, and report you missing!” Lando whispered. “That’s what she’s going to do! And they can’t find you, because if they do —”

“Don’t be so hard on the little guy,” said Alexis. “Hey, what’s your name?”

“He’s David,” said Lando. He expelled air through his nose. “You should settle in,” he said to David. “The sleeping area is straight back through that door all the way back there.”

“You can bunk next to me!” said Alexis. She grabbed his hand and led him to the sleeping area.

David smiled and looked her in the eye. “Thanks!”

Lando stretched out his jaw to release tension. I won’t be responsible for him. I warned him off. Lando felt a tap on his shoulder. He spun around.

“Lando,” said Logan, “ meet —“

“Takoda!” said Lando, “What are you doing here?”

Logan did a double-take. “You two —“

Takoda hugged Lando. He swallowed and positioned himself next to Lando with the entry door to their backs. “So, my connection got you in.”

Lando studied Takoda’s face. “Are you okay?”

Takoda raised his hand to fix his hair. It shook. “I’m great. Thrilled, in fact. It’s just the hood, you know. Freaked me out.”

Lando tilted his head to one side. “You have kids, right?”

“Two girls, beautiful darlings. That’s why —“

“You know about the washout, right?” asked Lando.

Takoda turned to him and raised an eyebrow.

“They told you about it, right?”

“What is it?” Takoda asked.

Lando told him.

Takoda took a step back and shook his head. “No, that’s —“

Lando turned to Harold and raised his eyebrows. “Hey, does the washout apply to Takoda here?”

Harold leaned back next to the door with the bottom of his foot against the drywall. He nodded his head. “He’s a recruit, just like you.”

Episode 47: Knight to Castle

Lando looked up at the skyscrapers around him. The moon hung between a sharp-angled building and the William Penn statue atop City Hall. “Center City is something else, don’t you think?” he said to Alexis. A police siren sounded near them.

She grabbed his arm and pulled him toward the group. “Just another jungle. But this one made of concrete and with a castle in the middle,” she said with a wave of her hand toward City Hall.

Lando frowned. Each of these glass and steel behemoths was put together by a man, many men, working together one small action after another. He felt despair. Will I ever build anything to match this? A feeling of hope passed through him. If they did it, then maybe I can be a part of something like that, too.

Lando looked around the group. Logan pulled his leg up behind him in a stretch. Jerry listened to music, his black hair bouncing over his face. Alexis smiled up at him. Takoda stood next to the van, smoking a cigarette. Harold stared at him.

“Sizing up the competition, I see,” said Harold.

Lando furrowed his brow. “Actually I —“

“Alright, guys, gather round,” said Harold.

“Where’s Ryan?” asked Lando.

Harold waved his hand to dismiss the question. “He’ll be watching — and evaluating.” He raised his voice. “Tonight, we will carry out The Core’s first mission.” He looked around at them and sneered.

Alexis jumped up and down and clapped without making noise.

“Our mission is to wrap the William Penn statue atop City Hall in our flag — the black and yellow agora one. Now, we’re —“

Lando wrinkled his nose. “Are you serious?”

Harold stopped and looked at him. “What does it look like, Cruz?”

“This plan is insane. Surveillance cameras have probably already picked us up. Center City Philadelphia is full of cops and City Hall is probably full of security and cameras. How are we going to get past all of that?” Lando asked.

“Lando —“ started Logan. A police car ambled past them.

Lando emptied his lungs through his mouth. He felt a light dizziness at the top of his head. “And then they’re just going to take it down, probably even before dawn. So there’s no point,“ said Lando.

The police car turned the corner and jetted off.

“That’s negative thinking,” said Jerry. “Let’s hear the man’s plan before we jump all over it.”

“Settle down, guys. There are no working surveillance cameras in sight of this location. We checked. And we disabled them all, just in case.” Harold pressed his lips together and glared at Lando. “The blimps are all watching the neighborhoods at this time of night.”

Lando crossed his arms and Alexis punched him in the back. He turned to her and rolled his eyes. She smiled at him.

“Pay attention! You can wash out at any time — and for any reason,” said Harold. “Jerry, there is a box in the back of the van. Can you get that? Huddle up. I’m going to run you guys through the plan.”

Episode 48: Shimmery

“Come on, Lando,” whispered Alexis. “We might just have some fun!”

Lando scratched at his neck through the slick material of his invisibility cloak. Above him was the giant statue of William Penn. The street was quiet. There was no foot traffic and the police sirens were now far away. “How did they get their hands on these things anyway?”

Alexis giggled. “You’re all shimmery now. Move a little.”

Lando took two steps forward and three steps back. He grabbed the bottom of the cloak. It was more like a potato sack. It flapped to and fro at his feet. “It’s a little stuffy in here.”

“Very cool. You can see that something is there, but it’s like a smudge on —“

“Let’s go, guys. Enough fooling around,” said Harold. “Huddle up. Now, you will enter this doorway, then turn to your right. There is a security door. Logan will open it.”

“My man,” said Jerry. He bumped into someone.

“Straight ahead there are stairs. We go up the stairs. They’re circular and it could take a while. Walk slowly and don’t make a lot of noise. At the top, there is another security door which Logan will again take care of. Alexis will enter first. This is important.”

“That’s my lady,” said Logan.

Lando bristled.

“Quiet,” said Harold. “Alexis will fire the ladder device through the hollow statue. The hook will pop open the hatch at the top of Billy Penn’s hat and Logan, you will make the climb up to the top.”

“My man!” said Jerry.

“I will hand you the flag and the bungee cords at the right moment. You will then secure the flag using the cords and the hatch as best you can. Everyone clear?” asked Harold.

“What about the getaway?” asked Lando.

“Come on, Lando,” said Logan. “Stop your whining already.”

“We’ll come back out the same we came in and rendezvous right here,” said Harold.

“Right,” said Lando, “but how do we get out of Center City before the cops catch up to us? That’s the —“

“We got it handled, buddy. Just relax,” said Logan.

Episode 49: Staircase

Near the top of the stairs, Lando opened his mouth. “Guys, I think —“

Jerry whipped around. “Lando, if you’re so unhappy with everything Logan and Harold are doing, then why don’t you just leave? You could get away before they caught you. You’re an agorist. You can live underground. They might never find you. They probably wouldn’t even care.”

Lando looked out of his invisibility cloak. He couldn’t see Jerry’s face. “The cops are after me. And they’ve got my family in a camp. This is the only job —“

“Then, maybe you should respect it,” said Jerry.

“Both of you shut up already!” whispered Harold. “Logan, we’re almost at the second door. Get ready.”

Logan pulled a crowbar out from under his invisibility cloak. A door opened. It was at the top of the steps. Three pairs of feet clattered on the granite stairs.

Lando threw himself against the outer wall of the spiral staircase next to a window. Jerry swore under his breath. Lando looked up and waited. The crowbar disappeared back under Logan’s cloak.

A pair of shiny black shoes appeared at the top of the stairs. Then black pants and, after a moment, a gun belt. Lando steeled himself against the wall. They’re going to see us. They can’t not see us.

Three cops appeared. Lando recognized them: Sarge, Jaffari and Kowalski. Lando struggled to keep his breathing under control. Sarge stopped in front of Lando. The other two lagged behind.

“Why did you two goofs send us down the stairs? Where’s the elevator?” Sarge yelled. He turned and looked straight at Lando.

Lando held his breath. He looked behind Sarge at the railing. I can just kick him off, I guess. And then we run.

“They shut down the elevator for the night, Sarge,” said Kowalski.

Sarge narrowed his eyes. His gaze stayed on Lando. “Well, tell them to reopen it! Philly PD. Don’t be so dense, Kowalski.” Sarge turned and climbed the steps again. He stopped, turned around and poked a finger at Lando.

Lando pulled himself back to avoid it.

“Huh,” said Sarge. “Damned old eyes.”

The door at the top of the stairs closed behind the cops. Lando breathed out through his mouth and coughed. “Damn, that was —“

“Quiet,” whispered Harold. “Now, let’s keep moving.”

Lando took a step up. He hit something soft, lost his balance and fell forward. His elbows smashed into the granite steps. “Ow! What the —“ Lando reached down and found the edge of the cloak. He pulled it back. “Guys,” he whispered, “Jerry fainted.”

“Smack him!” said Harold. “And get his cloak all the way back on.”

Lando tapped Jerry’s cheek. There was no reaction. Lando hit him harder. Nothing. Lando smacked him hard across the face. Jerry sat up.

“What the f— !“ he started.

Lando pulled Jerry’s cloak back down and helped him get up. Above him, Logan cracked the padlock on the door to the statue and they all shuffled in.

Harold closed the door behind them and flicked on a light. “Alexis,” he said. He laid his ear against the wall at the tiny space between the door and the door jamb.

Lando looked up. The inside of the statue was irregularly shaped and covered in light green splotches. The feeble light bulb did not illuminate the area above the torso.

Alexis threw off her sack and pointed a long gun with a hook at the front of it straight up into the statue. She blinked and brought it back down again. “It’s too dark. I can’t see the head. I can’t take the shot.”

Episode 50: Climb

“What do you mean, ‘you can’t take the shot’?” asked Harold. “Just take it.”

Alexis raised her eyebrows and shrugged. “Look at it. It’s dark up there. This statue is way taller than I thought.”

Harold scowled at her.

“Take a look for yourself if you don’t believe me,” she said.

Harold sauntered away from the door and looked up. He sighed. “Anyone have a flashlight?”

They all looked at each other. Jerry scowled at Lando.

“Let’s —“ started Lando.

“Shut up already, Cruz,” said Jerry.

Lando snorted. “They must have one around here. Let’s look around. Maybe there’s a toolbox or something?”

Jerry looked down. “Good idea,” he mumbled. They searched the small space.

“Got one!” said Logan. He pointed it at his wide smile and turned it on. The light reflected off of his white teeth.

“Good job, Logan,” said Harold. Harold grabbed it and shone it up into the statue. He shook his head. “Nope, still not enough light. What do you say, Alexis?”

“I could shoot but if it misses and makes a lot of noise, will we have time to shoot again? That’s what worries me,” she said.

“Logan,” said Harold, “you’ll just have to climb up without the line.” He squatted and held out his hands together in front of him. “Come on, I’ll give you a boost.”

Logan stared at him, his eyes wide. He shook his head in a short, fast movement. “I need the line.”

Harold rolled his eyes. “Come on, let’s get this done. Hurry up.”

“I can’t do it without the line. I could fall.” Logan took a step back.

Lando stepped forward. He put his foot up on Harold’s hands. Harold launched him up and Lando grabbed the inside edge of the base of the statue.

He dangled there for a brief second. He hung by his fingertips. Oh shit, I can’t do this. I should drop and try again with a stronger push.

“Try harder than you thought possible, son.” Dad said it. He remembered it and it was like he was there. Lando kicked and swung a forearm up on the narrow edge. He kicked again but the other side slipped off.

He felt a push from multiple hands below. He got his other forearm up on the edge and then a foot. He stood on uneven ground and fought for his balance.

“Toss up the flashlight,” he said. He caught it and pointed it up.

“I can see it!” whispered Alexis. She clapped and jumped up and down. Her face fell and she turned to Harold. “But I can’t shoot it if he’s up there. I might hit him.”

“Aw, don’t worry about that,” said Harold. “He’ll get out of the way.” He grinned.

Alexis shouldered the long gun again.

“Hold on a second,” said Lando. “Hey, wait! I’m already up here. Why are you going to send Logan up, too?”

Jerry turned to Harold. “He has a point.”

“Can you get to the top?” asked Harold. He craned his neck back to look at Lando. He checked his communicator. “You know what, Cruz, check that. You have to get up there. We’re behind schedule. Throw the flag up to him. And hurry up!”

Alexis threw the tightly folded triangle up to Lando. He caught it and lodged it under his belt at his back. He stuffed the flashlight in there, too. He studied the inside wall of the statue above him. It was smooth. How am I going to get up there? His foot slid and he lost his balance for a moment. He looked down and felt dizzy.

“You can do it, Lando,” whispered Alexis. The sound bounced around inside the bronze statue.

Lando smiled down at her.

“Cruz,” said Harold, “you have fifty-five seconds to get to the top, otherwise we scrub this mission. And that falls on you.”

Lando’s chest tightened. This is Logan’s job, not mine. He looked up and found an indent. He stuffed his fingers in there, swung a foot up and got his back against the other side. He pushed hard against both sides. He walked up little by little by pushing his feet up, one by one, and then sliding his back up against the other wall.

His knees and upper legs ached from the pressure. He hit a rough spot at his back. It dug in under his vertebrae and he eased off the pressure. He started to slide down.

Grab something! There was nothing. He looked down to his left and vertigo gripped him. He imagined himself falling. There was nothing to hold onto. His heart jumped.

He recovered his wits and scooted upwards some more. He reached for the flashlight and shone it upwards. “Guys? The hatch is padlocked.” But it was loose. Lando pushed the hatch open a little. He clamped his hand onto the edge for extra support and relaxed his back. The cool night air licked his fingers.

“You’re out of time, Lando. A good effort but we have to go,” said Harold. “Pack it up guys. We’re heading out.” He raised his voice. “Lando, once you make it back down, meet us at the rally point.” He donned his cloak and opened the door. The other recruits followed suit.

Alexis hung back. “You were right. The original plan was no good.” She pursed her lips, put her cloak on and walked out.

Lando’s leg muscles were on fire. This is so wrong. His stomach sank. They abandoned me. What the hell. The area behind his eyes tightened up. I’m already up here. Might as well. He pushed up on the hatch. It would not go up. He grabbed the latch that the padlock was holding closed. It was loose.

He pulled hard. His feet lost their grip and he hung again, this time from the loose latch. The thin metal bit into his fingers. He jerked his feet.

He punched the hatch door. It flew open. The latch broke off from the door and Lando felt free fall.

He shot his hand onto the hatch edge at the top of the statue. He laughed. That was close.

He pushed himself up into the cold night air. Made it! He looked around. There was no guide rail. He looked at the street below. The vertigo came again.

He grabbed the flag from his lower back. The wind caught the plastic wrap and it twisted to and fro in front of him. The metal pushed on his gut and he breathed in small bursts. I’m going to be sick.

He let the flag unfurl. He hooked a finger through the hole at the top and pulled the broken latch through it. It hooked just a little and the flag floated free in the wind. It’s not much, but it’s done.

He smiled and felt the cool evening breeze caress his cheek. Wash this out, Harold!

The hatch edge dug into his abdomen. He lowered himself down again. He hung thirty feet above the floor by his fingers. He swung his feet and kicked himself over to an open area at the bottom of the statue. He landed but slammed his head against the thick copper-colored leg. Ouch!

Lando took a step back and lost his balance. He fell through the open bottom of the statue and hit the wooden floor below on his back. A loud boom reverberated through the stairs and the courtyard below. He gasped for air. He sat up and massaged his head.

Loud voices sounded below. The gears of the elevator churned into motion. Footfalls cracked on the granite steps. Lando swung himself up and stood. He pulled the cloak out of his back pocket and threw it on. He opened the door and took quick steps down the stairs.

He got ahead of himself, slipped on the worn rock and threw himself onto his butt in order to avoid a forward fall. Jaffari flew up the stairs below him. Lando secured a spot next to an outside window and stayed still. Jaffari passed him and Lando continued downwards.

He reached the street. There was no one. “Where are you guys?” he muttered.

A hand grabbed him through the cloak and Lando jumped.

What Next?

After I finish this series, what kind of story do you want to read next? Tell me now and I can start writing it.

New Episodes Daily

You're getting 1-4 new episodes 5 days per week here on Steemit right around NOON Eastern (New York time). You can expect to not only be entertained by a fast-paced story but also inspired to think more deeply about your future.

Let's connect! Follow me to get the next episodes (154 in total!) in your feed: @georgedonnelly

Don't miss an episode. Get a brief email every time I publish new content on Steemit. Enter your primary email address here. Zero spam. An instant unsubscribe link is in every list email.

4ac9e3d857effc81e734b614cadefa6b.md.jpg

Sort:  

Can't say i read it all, but what i did read ...i was entertained :) thank you.

Glad to hear it. There's a lot of story up already so indeed it is easy to get overwhelmed with it.

So I just binge read everything that you have posted so far in this series and I have to say that I am definitely hooked. Very well written and I feel like I know Lando personally now. I really cannot wait to read more of this story and your other works. Thanks!

Awesome! Thanks. More than 100 episodes still to go so there's lots of story ahead. :)

You are posting these faster than I can read them. And I LOVE it.

Haha, sorry! And thanks for commenting.

As a writer, I frequently feel like I'm tossing bits of myself into an abyss, like in 300 when Leonidas kicked Xerxes' messenger into that pit and was all, "This is SPARTA!" For me though, it's like, "This is what it feels like to write. Ahhhhh...."

It's awesome to see quality writers on Steemit. I look forward to checking out the previous episodes!

That's very kind of you, Jake. Folks, please check out @jakevanderark as well, a promising up-and-coming science fiction writer, like myself (in the up-and-coming department, tho not exactly in the promising one). @piedpiper actually hired Jake via Steemit with SMD to produce scripts for movies they're going to film together in Chile. Exciting stuff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84