'If You Go Down To The Woods' - Story Chain #2 Where You're the Writer and 100 Whaleshares for the Winner

in #story7 years ago (edited)

dark_father_ii_by_karezoid.jpg

The Steemit Story Chain

Welcome to the new weekly story chain where you write the story! This contest is now in its second week after an amazing launch last week. I am proudly sponsored by the fantastic Whaleshares. I want to thank everyone who took part in our first story chain, the responses were fantastic. A big thank you to @krazykrista, @thatindianlady, @tinajordan, @rootingrobert, @whatsup, @jeezzle, @countrygirl and @artmonkey.

The range of creativity was very diverse and ambitious. It was great to see people putting their creative minds to work, so thank you all for your efforts. It was a very tough choice when deciding who wrote the best part in the chain. In the end me and the other judge on the panel, the inimitable @blueskieson-mars, whittled the choices down to three, they were the contributions from @jeezzle, @tinajordan and @krazykrista. It was then an extemely tough choice, but after much deliberation we finally came to a decision.

234592363-congratulations-clip-art-free-clipart-images-2-clipartcow.gif

@tinajordan

You're our winner. You have won 100 Whaleshares. Please reply with your Bitshares account information and I will send the Whaleshares to your account immediately. Enjoy! If you don't have an account don't worry it's very simple and completely free to set one up here - https://bitshares.openledger.info/?r=akrid-1.

If you want a reminder of the winning entry, @tinajordan's part of the story is here:

Letting compassion outweigh my sense of caution, I fumble with the lock and let the stranger in quickly before latching the door firmly behind us. My hands are shaking uncontrollably as I turn to her, hoping beyond hope that I haven't misread her plea. She doesn't seem so scary now, and her eyes are more a normal shade of brown; but she insists that we must head for the secret room which is hidden beneath the bedroom floor. Do I trust her once again? Glancing back towards the window, I note the mob of zombies moving ever closer to the front door; and boy do they look hungry! Pushing back the nauseous feeling that wants to overtake me, I turn and take the old lady's hand, letting her lead me towards the back of the house.


This Week's Story - If You Go Down To The Woods

Right then, let's now turn to this week's story chain - 'If You Go Down To The Woods'. In order to take part firstly you need to upvote and resteem this post. Then it's all down to your imagination. I will write the first part of the story and then it's over to you. Just be as creative as you can and develop the story in your own unique way. Let your imagination run wild and show us your creative flare. And of course have fun! Please make sure you continue the story from the last person's part. Turn the story from drama to comedy and vice versa, or simply stick with the same genre. It's entirely up to you. Only one entry per Steemer, and please remember to number your part of the story.

WhaleShares300.jpg

This contest is sponsored by Whaleshares and I owe a big thank you to @akrid. There is 100 Whaleshares for the winning entry. If you would like to learn more about Whaleshares and how they can significantly increase your post rewards please visit https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@eirik/steemgig-a-complete-guide-on-how-to-use-whaleshares where @eirik will gladly explain more to you.

Again myself and @blueskieson-mars will be looking for:

  • A strong sense of imagination
  • Creative intelligence
  • Originality
  • Narrative fluidity (ensuring the story chain links smoothly)
  • Use of language, grammar and syntax (we need to understand what you're saying!)

The winner will be announced in a week's time. A new post will be published then announcing the winner along with a new story chain.

Now without any further hesitation here it is, part one of 'If You Go Down To The Woods'. Enjoy!

I left the main road almost three hours ago. I've been trecking all this time. My boots are filthy. I'm shattered but I've made it. I've reached the woods. The rain is getting worse and I'm cold, but at long last I'm here. This was where they told me to be. I'm sure of it. I remember the picture. Yes this is the right place. The woods look uninviting, in fact they look bleak. It's getting on for dusk and I will soon lose the daylight. I'm strong but I'm scared. What will they do to me? Why was I summoned now? I like my life, I'd moved on. I don't want to be here but I have no choice. So let's get this over with. Time to enter the woods.

Sort:  
Loading...
  1. I tentatively set foot into the mist that is now engulfing the woods. As my mind is going through the various scenarios that could happen at this meeting, I notice that I everything around me is completely still. The mist seems to be getting thicker by the minute and I realize that I am now totally lost. I have to keep my arms spread out in front of me in order not to walk into a tree. I grope my way further into the woods hoping beyond hope that I will find the designated meeting spot, but as I move along, my hand touches something and it's not a tree!

Thank you so much for your entry. The winner has just been anounced along with the launch of this week's story chain. The quality of the writing last week was so talented I introduced a runner up prize of 25 Whaleshares. Check out the winners here - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/derailed-story-chain-3-where-you-re-the-writer-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner.

2

My hand explores the rock it has touched, the feeling having to take the place of eyes that do not see. My fingers find a crevice in the rock, and a sigh of relief escapes my lips as I trace the outline of a triangle with a circle above. The symbol inscribed in the rock which marks the southern border of the clearing where the meeting was to take place. Dense mist fills the clearing, but I know now that the clearing is there. Somewhere, out in this space, hidden by the mist which they created, were the beings who awaited me.

Now there are three. ;-)

Wow! Did you just come up with that?

Well not in three minutes. but yeah. I saw your Update and went over to read what had been done so far and went with it.

That's the wonderful thing about prompts. I can come up with something to fly with pretty quick. But ask me to do something all on my own and I block up. haha

We have to stop meeting like this.

Thank you so much for your entry. The winner has just been anounced along with the launch of this week's story chain. The quality of the writing last week was so talented I introduced a runner up prize of 25 Whaleshares. Check out the winners here - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/derailed-story-chain-3-where-you-re-the-writer-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner.

3
The bluest one unfogged itself beckoning me with a wave of the hand. I took a step forward and another. Breathing became a challenge. I decided against screaming. Laughter was also not an option. I heard, “Come!” My feet slowly slid forward. The group started chanting, “Let the initiation begin.” My mind was quite bewildered. They were terrible. It was off-key Gregorian. It wasn’t even cheesy Monty Python. The leader gruffed, “Pledge, what do you seek?”

We Seek..... A shrubbery!

Thank you so much for your entry. The winner has just been anounced along with the launch of this week's story chain. The quality of the writing last week was so talented I introduced a runner up prize of 25 Whaleshares. Check out the winners here - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/derailed-story-chain-3-where-you-re-the-writer-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner.

@freedomexists, I'm terribly sorry. I had to slop the hogs, shuck the corn, milk the cows, shear the sheep, and plow the south forty acres. Then I was writing for another contest (I know; such sacrilege.). However, when I do inject myself into the chain, it will never be the same.

Well, well, well. Talk about anticipation. Looking forward to it.

Well, I had a draft 98% finished when the train went off the tracks. I'll keep an eye out for installment #4.

Wow, I'm honored! Thank you! Ok, so I opened the account. You need my account name? I also read the post about whaleshares to try and understand.... looks a little complicated, but I'll give it a go! Thanks again

This post has received a 0.03 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

4
"I have come in search of him" i firmly stated as i looked at the pagan ritual that was taking place. "He no longer belong to man" the barbaric beast yelled. The whole tribe laughed and they continued to dance around this young, pale, helpless boy. The only thing that came to my mind was "Ukachaca". I Whispered "Ukachaca" and everyone stopped. The leader looked at me firmly with imposing eyes. I panicked

Thank you so much for your entry. The winner has just been anounced along with the launch of this week's story chain. The quality of the writing last week was so talented I introduced a runner up prize of 25 Whaleshares. Check out the winners here - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/derailed-story-chain-3-where-you-re-the-writer-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner.

5
With my eyes wide open, i saw the leader heading towards me while the whole tribe stopped dancing and started shouting "HO LA LA" "HO LA LA" "HO LA LA". I started sweating, the leader stared me for about a minute and asked, "WHERE WERE YOU MY LORD?" and shouted loud with a happy face "UKACHACA" "UKACHACA" "UKACHACA". Following him, the tribe hailed : "UKACHACA""UKACHACA""UKACHACA". Then some tribal men put me on their shoulders and carry me towards the leader throne, a golden painted chair with lots of coconut shells and big leaves of bamboo trees. Then the leader ordered them to cook the boy for "UKACHACA". Totally stumbled upon hearing "COOK THE BOY", i murmured in my strongest voice, "for me? Wait what?". The leader came forward and asked "Arenot you hungry my lord?". I replied(confidently) "I am but i want to take the boy home and cook myself". The leader shouted like a beast and said ".....................................

Heyaa will be writing my part today, thanks for reminding :):):):) i just forgot :(:(:(:(

Thank you so much for your entry. The winner has just been anounced along with the launch of this week's story chain. The quality of the writing last week was so talented I introduced a runner up prize of 25 Whaleshares. Check out the winners here - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/derailed-story-chain-3-where-you-re-the-writer-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner.

Loading...

7 -

The lightning strike and fire sorcery had set tinder aflame, and an unusual smoke began to dim our increasingly tense gathering.
Now, I find myself engaged by dozens of the tribesman's eyes, seemingly glowing at me through the fragrant and colorful smoke, with the "Lord" himself now fixated on me! His figure, tall and imposing, with an elder-warrior's face, long-bearded with dark red eyes, gazing at me through the smoke, and indeed, beaming through my very soul. I felt a supernatural presence brush over my heart! It felt like a hand, scholarly flipping through pages of a book that was my life, family, experience, and even my very reason for being here tonight, in these god forsaken woods.

My usual sense of humor now set aside; the elemental's probe of my being had intuitively revealed just how dangerous this situation was. I gripped the boy's hand; his rescue was my priority, and now the "Lord" was proceeding to raise his glowing staff in my direction....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55