Cinema T(error) - Chapter 6

in #story8 years ago (edited)

banner

Chapter 6


Otto is 6’1” and at least 450lbs. The hair on top of his head is gone leaving just a monk circle. The hair he has left is long, unwashed and ginger colored. His face is puffy, unshaven and covered in acne. His left ear is larger than his right. He’s missing two teeth on the left side of his mouth and one on the right. Thick drops of sweat are falling from his forehead.

The white tank top he’s wearing is way too small leaving a large part of his belly uncovered. The shirt is covered in stains.

He’s wearing army colored shorts. Also, stained. They are under huge stress from his gut. His zipper is open. His lower legs are covered in varicose veins.

In his hand, he is holding a can of beer. It’s the cheap, brand less kind that just says ‘Beer’. His eyes are shiny and red, I suspect he already had more than one.

“What you want?”, Otto demands.

“You know about my wife’s attack two weeks ago?”, van Hoorn asks.

“Yes.”

“The police say there is a recording of the attack, I would like to have this recording.”

“No.”

“What do you mean, No?”

Otto lets out a sigh.

“No, you can’t have it, the police took it.”

Otto takes a big sip of beer and he lets out a huge belch. It adds more odor to the existing stench. I don’t think he ever brushes his teeth.

“Where is the recording kept?”, I ask.

“I don’t know.”

“Of course you know, you just said that the police took it.”

“Yes, I did.”

“So where did they take it from?”

“What’s in it for me?”, Otto asks.

“Well for starters you can help an old man finding out which animals attacked his wife and second it will greatly help towards your karma. How about that?"

“Karma don’t buy me beers.”

I thought about punching this asshole right then. But it’s not easy knocking down a 450lbs man even if he’s in the worst shape of his life. Plus, it would not have gotten us anywhere.

I turn towards van Hoorn and ask him: “How much money do you have on you?”


Even though the situation is very serious I can’t help but laugh internally. Every time van Hoorn must pass with his money he gets this look on his face. Like he’s about to lose his life savings.

Van Hoorn grabs his wallet from his back pocket and pulls out a five euro note. He hands it to Otto.

Otto looks at me and he doesn’t even have to say anything. I can hear his thought:

This guy for real?

Otto takes the note and says: “The recording is not on the 9th floor.”

“What do you mean the recording is not on the 9th floor? van Hoorn shouts, I just gave you money to tell me where the recording is kept.”

“Maybe if you gimme five for every floor this building has I can help you more.”

I don’t like a crook, but the way Otto is handling van Hoorn is comedy gold.

“This building has 32 floors!”, van Hoorn screams.

“Round it off to 30”, says Otto.

Van Hoorn digs in his wallet and then turns to me.

“How much money do you have on you, Mark?”

This guy must be joking. I know he has the money.

“O…I left my wallet in my car”, I lie.

“Could you get it maybe while we wait.”

“I don’t think Otto wants to wait so long, mister van Hoorn.”, I say.

Otto looks impatient.

“Fuck, ok then, here is the money you bastard.”

Van Hoorn takes three 50 euro notes from his wallet and gives it to Otto.

“That’s better”, Otto says.

“The recordings from all the cameras in the building are stored on a computer in the basement. First door on your left when you step out of the elevator. Let me get you the key”.

Otto gives the key to van Hoorn. He tries to close his door but it won’t close. Van Hoorn has stuck his foot in between.

“What are you doing old man?”

“Give me back my five euros.”

“What?”

“You said pay me five for every floor this building has and round it off to 30. That’s 150 euros.”

“So?”

“I have paid you 155 euros, give me back my five.”

“Ok fine, there is nobody that can say I’m not honest.”

Otto hands van Hoorn back the five euros.

“Pleasure doing business with you”, Otto says while closing his door.

“Let’s go check out the basement”, van Hoorn says.


Previous Chapters:

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65