Cinema T(error) - Chapter 4

in #story8 years ago (edited)

banner

Chapter 4


You know that feeling after an argument when you start thinking to yourself, I should have said this or that. I suffer from this right now. I’m stepping outside into the sunlight. My god, it’s warm. I can feel the sweat making my t-shirt stick to my back. The jeans I’m wearing aren’t helping either. I’m boiling. I want to get to my car. Airco is what I need.

Walking towards my car I see a man and a woman having an argument in the parking lot. They are yelling at each other. “You fucking pig, you think you can screw that cunt and I wouldn’t find out!”

I don’t need this. I know these kinds of people. If you get too close, they will involve you into their argument. I hate this fucking neighborhood.

I have to get to my car, but these two idiots are in the way. I put my head down. I don’t want to exist. I start walking.

“Hey you! Tall guy!”

O no, here we go. I don’t speak. I walk.

“Hey you! Don’t you think my girl looks like a pig? I bet you wouldn’t screw her either!"

I think I now know who those syringes belong to. I don’t speak. I walk.

Only 30 meters to my car.

“Don’t you dare to ignore me, tall guy!”

15 meters, almost there.

“Stop walking dickhead!”

I reach my car, but instinctively I know I don’t have time to get in. I turn around. The guy is walking towards me. He’s about 5’8”, 175lb. He just has his fists. I don’t see a weapon. I’m thinking fast.

I am not a hero nor a fighter. Hell, I haven’t been in a fight since I became an adult. What I do have going for me are my height and my size. I’m 6’6” and I look big. Mainly from lifting weights for years. I’m not strong by any means, it’s all gym muscle, but this guy doesn’t know that. Intimidation is all I got:

“Take one more step and I will fucking destroy you” I shout back. My voice is deep and low.

The guy stops walking. I can see his brain working overtime. He’s doing the same calculations I did but in reverse: I’m 5’8”, this guy is 6’6”. I’m 175lb this guy is 250lb. It takes him a little longer than the average human being to come to the only smart conclusion.

“Fuck you, man!” he shouts while he turns around.

Relieved, I quickly get in my car and drive off. I’m glad to get out of the neighborhood. I need time to think. I turn the air-cool on full blast. It takes five minutes before the car is comfortable. I turn the radio on. “It’s been 15 years since 9/11 and is the world any safer today”, the radio announcer says “I’m here today with...” He starts to introduce some guests. I stop listening. I got other things to worry about.

I drive my car for 20 minutes and reach the docks. There is something about looking at boats that calms me down and I love the sound of sailboats chiming in the wind. Sadly, there is no wind today. I park my car but leave the engine running. Not very economical but at least I’m comfortable. Finally, I can think.

It’s already midday, 13:12. I spend the last four hours with van Hoorn. I should have told him I didn’t want to get involved. I should have left his place the moment he started speaking. I didn’t, I was intrigued, and now I’m the shit.

I start to rerun everything that happened in the last four hours in my mind.


Previous Chapters:

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72