Cinema T(error) - Chapter 5

in #story8 years ago (edited)

banner

Chapter 5


“That’s why I need you.", van Hoorn said.

“What can you possibly need me for?”, I reply.

“A police man told me that my wife’s attack was recorded and I need you to get me the footage.”

“Why don’t you just ask the police for the recording?”

“They won’t give it to me.“

“Why not?”

“They said they can’t show it because it’s part of an ongoing investigation. That’s why I need you to get me the recording.”

“How on earth do you want me to do that?”

“I want you to hack the police database.”

This guy must have been watching too many shows on Netflix. Who does he think I am? A member of the hacker group Anonymous? I maintain systems for businesses and fix small problems for consumers. I couldn’t even hack my own Gmail password. Of course, I’m a little bit flattered that he would think I would be able to pull off such a stunt.

“We are Anonymous. We are Legion. We do not forgive. We do not forget. Expect us.”, I reply in my most serious voice.

He doesn’t get the joke. Only a few would. I feel silly.

“Mister van Hoorn, what you are asking of me is impossible. I know you think I’m good with computers, but hacking the police database is allot harder than installing your e-mail, plus it’s a serious crime.”

“So you won’t do it? Not even for my wife. My wife is brutally attacked and you are the person who we turn to for help. All those years we shared together and in our time of need you won’t even do this for us.”

It seems van Hoorn, the actor, is back. I decide to set things straight right away.

“I won’t do it because I can’t do it. I don’t have the skill”

“Ow”, he says. He looks disappointed.

I decide to take another approach to help him with his request.

“Where was this recording made?”, I ask van Hoorn.

“In the basement. There are storages there for all the residents. They attacked my wife when she was putting away her bike. After some break-ins a couple of years ago they decided to install a camera to deter burglars.”

“Is this the camera footage the policeman said they have?”

“I think so, yes.”

“If they have a camera they usually have a link to a recording device somewhere. Who is in charge of this building. Who is the supervisor?”

“That would be Otto, he’s been the supervisor for the last five years.”

“Have you asked him about the recording?”

“No, I didn’t think about it.”

“Well asking him is allot easier than trying to hack the police. Does he live in the building?”

“Yeah, down floor, number 14”

“Let’s go ask Otto”, I say.

“I don’t want to leave my wife behind.”

“Well, I’m not going there alone to ask about your wife’s attack. He might call the police on me. If you are with me at least it will make sense to him.”

“Let me check up on my wife first.”

Van Hoorn gets up and walks out of the room. He shuts the door on his way out. I can hear another door opening and closing, probably the bedroom. Then silence.

The room I’m in feels even smaller now with the door closed. We are on the seventh floor and looking out the windows on my left I can see the rooftop of the shopping mall. The windows on the roof look dirty even from here. In front of me is a small white desk with the closed laptop on top. The walls are covered with light blue wallpaper with a Crowns motif. On the right hangs a picture of van Hoorn with Carla. They both look very young. Van Hoorn told me it was taken 4 months after they got married. I can’t believe that one day I’ll be old too.

I hear a door opening and closing. Van Hoorn appears not long after.

“Let’s go”, he says.

It takes him another minute to unlock all the bolts on the door. We both step outside the apartment. While van Hoorn proceeds to lock the door I walk towards the elevator door and press the button. It takes the elevator 3 minutes to arrive.

Inside the elevator, I notice the graffiti again.

“Interesting artwork.”

“Nowadays, kids around here don’t respect anything anymore”, he says.

I have to agree with him.

We ride the elevator down to the ground floor.

Otto’s apartment is just across the hall. We walk there and van Hoorn presses the doorbell.

“WHO IS THERE?”, asks the loud voice coming from the other side of the door.

“Does he know you?”, I ask van Hoorn.

“I’m afraid he does.”

Van Hoorn rings the bell again. He doesn’t say anything.

“YOU BETTER NOT BE WASTING MY TIME!”, says the voice coming from behind the door.

I notice that Van Hoorn has taken a step back. For lack of any other knowledge, I do the same.

The door opens in front of us and I’m being hit by an awful smell. A deep pungent aroma of old sweat, rotten food and garbage. Instinctively it makes me take another step back and I close my eyes. When I open them again I see van Hoorn standing one step in front of me, he didn’t take another step back.

He knew what to expect, he was prepared.

Looking towards the door I see the reason for the stench. I’m looking at the fattest, dirtiest and most disgusting human being I have ever seen. This must be Otto.


Previous Chapters:

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67950.48
ETH 2621.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72