LOSING OUR HUMANITY

in #story8 years ago (edited)

I see our humanity slipping further away each day. In the past year I’ve learned how big of an issue mobile phone addiction has become. I cycle to the office as much as I can during the warmer months and this summer I’ve almost been hit by distracted drivers on the average of twice a week. More often than not the driver using their mobile phone. After a flurry of curse words and/or a magnificent one finger salute, I always ask myself was that Facebook message or text was worth ending or drastically altering a human life? Many of these close calls have happened while crossing the street in crosswalks. I’ve learned not to cross, even if I have the walk light, until I lock eyes with a driver who is making a right turn (on a red light) or left turn (on a green light) to make sure they notice me.

Distracted driving is just one facet of our society’s growing mobile phone addiction but I’m afraid it goes far deeper than this. All you need to do is look around in any public place to see how widespread the reliance on this technology has gotten. Mobile phones are the new social crutch. Entire tables of people in restaurants will have their heads buried in their devices instead of enjoying the company of the people they’re with. While waiting for public transit or an elevator people quickly whip out their phones instead of having to risk engaging in conversation. It might sound strange but what saddens me the most is to see people walking their dogs or out with their children at the end of the day not paying one bit of attention to them because they’re hypnotized by their phones. I think about the dog who has probably been alone waiting for them all day while they were at work or that very short window of time that their child will be this young. What are we missing?

Sci-Fi authors have warned us about the dangers of Artificial Intelligence and the, “rise of the machines.” What many don’t realize is, this rise of the machines is well underway and our widespread distraction from the physical world is proof the machines are winning. A huge wake up call for me was the moment I realized that, instead of thinking critically, I was beginning to think in internet search terms. There's no denying that mobile phones have become an extension of us.

The important question is how do we find balance and prevent technology from stealing our humanity? I feel that we need to consciously facilitate authentic and creative human interaction. We have to have the courage to be the one to strike up a conversation with a stranger. We can do better than, “How are you today?” or “How was your weekend?” We can infuse humor and wit into everyday life, really anything outside of the normal, robotic, responses that we’ve been programmed to utter throughout the years. Have you noticed that no one tells jokes anymore? Tell a joke, play a prank, be interesting for God’s sake. Unfortunately, the reality is we must compete with things like Facebook, Snapchat, and Pokemon for people's attention to prove that human interaction is enriching enough to be worth saving.

I’ve heard about many people who’ve had near death experiences say that as our souls are transitioning to whatever is next a life review flashes before their eyes that is comprised of all the memories of their lifetime. During my life review I want to see so much more than Facebook status updates, witty memes, and the temporary rush of finding a rare Pikachu. I want to remember a deep conversation I had with my wife while walking on the powdery sand of a beautiful beach in St. Thomas, sharing an authentic laugh with a cashier who I may never see again, holding the door for a stranger and recognizing from their micro-expression that the gesture was noticed and appreciated.

Each of our lives are comprised of a finite block of time and the countdown clock begins the very moment we take our first breath.

Once a second ticks off of our countdown clock it’s gone forever. Yes, there is time for technology, it can greatly enhance our lives if we make it work for us instead of vice versa. Make the most of each of your seconds, be present, more than ever the world needs your authenticity. Now, take a deep breath and for a moment focus on nothing but your breathing. It feels good doesn’t it? This simple exercise instantaneously renews your connection to your soul. Life is all about finding our balancing point and once we do, life gets easier, and our path forward becomes crystal clear.

(gifs sourced from Giphy.com)


Eric Vance Walton is an acclaimed American poet, novelist, and blogger. Eric won a 2005 Thurber Treat Prize for his fable The Heiress and the Pea. Eric’s poetry, essays, and short stories have been published widely in literary journals, magazines, and he has authored eight books.

To follow his unfolding story please visit his website here to sign up for his author newsletter.

Sort:  

The worst of it is all the exposure to radiation. I keep my phone off all the time, except if I really have to make a call. It's quite scary sometimes looking around and everyone is on their phone except me... it's like being in some kind of sci-fi movie

I worry about the radiation @woman-onthe-wing. The cellular radiation study from Sweden is the best I've seen and seems to have vastly different results the a lot of the other ones. There's too much money involved for the product to be deemed dangerous at this point.

if the internet goes AI there is no reason to be here until we clean it up again. great post buddy!

Yes, Eric. It's a sad state of affairs. Even I am guilty of feeling nervous if I don't have my phone. Remember the days when we heard busy signals? Thanks for such a thought provoking post.

You're welcome, @fairytalelife. Thanks for reading and commenting. Have you ever noticed how when one person in a group pulls out their phone, the rest tend to? I sometimes forget my phone when I'm walking Amstel and it's such a feeling of freedom. Sadly, people expect to get ahold of you instantly these days and worry if you don't respond right away so unless I forget I usually have mine with me. I'm contemplating the Apple Watch because, if used with some forethought, it might free me from the phone. The hepatic touch would alert me of a message and a quick flick of the wrist would tell me if I needed to respond right away or if it could wait. I'm not sure if the watch would take me further down the rabbit hole though. It's tough.

There was a time when I wanted them to put on my headstone: "Never Owned A Cell Phone." Now, unfortunately they can't put it on there because it isn't true :(

I really like certain aspects of having the phone. The good think is, being a writer, it allows me to work from anywhere. The bad thing is, being a writer, it allows me to work from anywhere...a double-edged sword. : )

I have a strict policy. When we sit down to eat, whether at home or out, the phones stay in one's pocket or purse. My sister-in-law sent me a photo of her Thanksgiving table, beautifully set with her family around it and all of them had their heads down with iPhones in hand. They couldn't even be bothered to look up for one moment for a smile. It's sad.

I think the policy of the phones being out of sight during meals is a very good idea!

As always an excellent, true and well thought out post. This only scratches the surface of it though. The reason? In the United States, it is rare that a device is made here. All if our information goes through a filter, various surveillance programs here and in other countries, most notably those who manufacture the electronic equipment.

In addition, the spread of total bullshit for news occurs, where information can be taken, manipulated and ground out by the media to tell us what we are and should be as human beings, all for lust to lure advertising dollars or outright population control of thought. One specific example is global warming. There are vast events witnessed in my life that have proved the whole thing is bull, global warming. Yet, a revelation by my alma mater detailed how 582 and eight-two separate degrees were now taught and awarded by the faculty.

That people even believe any if this is absurd and caused by the dissemination of the thought that our weather prediction ability is profound and all knowing, when for example, it rained here five days in a row and on each day they predicted no rain. The ability to predict five days ahead is poor and yet fifty or a hundred years in advance is somehow certain?

Yep, I voted you up because I suspect like me, you grew up when none of this instant communication existed and remember when life in America was one hundred percent family oriented and faith oriented for so vast a number of the population, that most everyone also had a life long trade or skill they expected to last them their lives, instead of to next week.

You bring up some very good points, @jeff-kubitz. We grew up in a very different world but, in retrospect, the propaganda was even far reaching back then. Today our advanced tech allows for surveillance on an epic scale. I'm pretty much resigned to the fact that all electronic communications are being monitored. This Presidential election cycle has shown how sophisticated the manipulation is. I'm going to really touch on this in the novel I'm working on now, Truth Is Stranger. In the book there's a group called, "SQ1" that is responsible for releasing a counter-story for every story released in the media...the result is a smokescreen so thick the public can't discern truth from fallacy.

Yeah, it's tough to map this road. We also see many pulling away, turning to minimalist or more natural living. With advances coming so quickly, it can be challenging to find the right balance.

I agree, @anotherjoe. The introduction of A.I. and Virtual Reality into the mainstream population is going to take this to a whole new level. I hope humanity develops some kind of discipline with mobile phones before this next wave of innovation hits. The potential for V.R. to create large numbers complete shut-ins who are plugged into V.R. almost 24/7 is a very real concern of mine.

Right. People have abused drugs to escape reality for millennia. What if you could build your own dream life, and live it, virtually?

  • My job sucks - No problem, I'll go to my virtual job.
  • My spouse sucks - No problem, I'll go to my virtual marriage.
  • I want adventure - No problem, I'll build my adventure
  • etc - virtual etc

Epitaph -
Here lies NAME, we don't really know how he lived.

You totally get it. This is going to be the true test of our humanity. We're just dipping our toes in the pool with mobile phones. It's downright scary if you think we might be among the last generation to totally remember what it's like to be unplugged. Plus, how will those in power use V.R. to gain even greater control? This is what truly frightens me.

Capable of great compasions and great violences :(

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

There is nothing like in-person human interaction. As you said, a smile or any friendly openness makes all the difference and we all feel it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71