You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LOSING OUR HUMANITY

in #story8 years ago

Yeah, it's tough to map this road. We also see many pulling away, turning to minimalist or more natural living. With advances coming so quickly, it can be challenging to find the right balance.

Sort:  

I agree, @anotherjoe. The introduction of A.I. and Virtual Reality into the mainstream population is going to take this to a whole new level. I hope humanity develops some kind of discipline with mobile phones before this next wave of innovation hits. The potential for V.R. to create large numbers complete shut-ins who are plugged into V.R. almost 24/7 is a very real concern of mine.

Right. People have abused drugs to escape reality for millennia. What if you could build your own dream life, and live it, virtually?

  • My job sucks - No problem, I'll go to my virtual job.
  • My spouse sucks - No problem, I'll go to my virtual marriage.
  • I want adventure - No problem, I'll build my adventure
  • etc - virtual etc

Epitaph -
Here lies NAME, we don't really know how he lived.

You totally get it. This is going to be the true test of our humanity. We're just dipping our toes in the pool with mobile phones. It's downright scary if you think we might be among the last generation to totally remember what it's like to be unplugged. Plus, how will those in power use V.R. to gain even greater control? This is what truly frightens me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45