The Allies of Old; Book Two Renewal: Chapter Seventy Two "Fury, Fear, and Feigned Indifference"

in #story7 years ago



Reborn2.jpg
Book Cover created in acrylic by the extremely talented @therealpaul


If you have not read the first book of the series, "Reborn", it is advisable you do so before reading "Renewal" or you will be lost. This link will provide you with a series summary as well as all sixty-eight chapters of Reborn

Table of Contents for Fifty Five chapters of Renewal, created by @bashadow

Chapter 56
Chapter 57
Chapter 58
Chapter 59
Chapter 60
Chapter 61
Chapter 62
Chapter 63
Chapter 64
Chapter 65
Chapter 66
Chapter 67
Chapter 68
Chapter 69
Chapter 70
Chapter 71



Chapter Seventy-Two


When the male stopped thrashing Jared tossed him on the ground and swore viciously as he pulled a phone from his pocket and snapped a couple of pictures. He slashed the arteries of male number two then pried open their mouths and broke off their fangs. He took a moment to bring his fury under control before turning toward his shaking female.

She had her arms wrapped around her knees, and the tears sliding down her face caused his fury to spike. He wanted to kill the fuckers all over again, but far less quickly. He took a deep breath and let it out slowly before striding over and scooping her up. “You’re safe now,” he whispered, and blurred them back to Boston.


Jess sprang to her feet as Jared thundered into the hotel room with Anna in his arms.

“Is she okay?” she squeaked.

He put Anna on her feet and pulled out his phone, handing it to Michael. “Do you know them?”

Michael’s eyes widened in shock as he looked at the pictures. “Thomas and Jonathan.”

“They were working for someone,” Jared growled and recounted what had been said. “I should have tortured the information from them but every breath they took was an assault on me.” He ground his teeth together in anger.

Jess had Anna wrapped in a hug and Jared turned towards them, struggling to bring his emotions under control. “Did they come to the door?”

Anna stared at the floor and chewed her lip, she definitely did NOT want to tell her furious mate she’d disobeyed him. But she was done lying to him. Tears stung her eyes as she shook her head slightly.

Jared crossed to her and lifted her off her feet by the collar of her shirt, bringing her eye level. “How did they get to you?” he gritted.

The tears sprung free and slid down her face. “I’m sorry, I’m sorry,” she stammered, “I h..heard Scottish music, I was only going to have one drink….

You left the hotel?” he roared into her face then turned towards the others. “Get out! NOW!

The room emptied and his lips pulled back from his teeth as he shook her. “You disobeyed me,” he hissed.

She whimpered and he dropped her to the ground pacing away from her before he did something he’d regret. The terror he’d felt for her as the jet was shooting across the sky returned and washed over him in a wave. He forced himself to face away from her, his large hands clenching into fists that wanted to punish her.

He spoke icily without turning. “Go into the bedroom and don’t you dare come out.”

Anna darted into the room and climbed on the bed, tears of regret sliding down her face. She heard the door to the suite shut and wondered where he was going and how long it would take him to forgive her.

He left because he was afraid he’d hurt me, she acknowledged and shivered. She had forgotten what his anger was like and was infinitely sorry to be reminded of it.



**

Tyros rolled off the female to grab his phone, ignoring her sound of protest. He looked at the I.D. which stated unknown caller. It could only be Demetrius or a wrong number since he hadn’t given his digits to anyone else. He took a moment to grab Alyssa’s head and push it towards his groin. Once her lips closed over him he answered.

“Hello.”

“Tyreguent.” Demetrius’s voice was filled with banked fury.

“What is it?”

“Two of the fucking fools I had in my employ are dead. It seems,” he gritted, “that the jet they were to have boarded with the female had some technical difficulties and they were caught by her male when they attempted to flee in a van.”

Tyros raised his eyes to the ceiling his mouth curved in a smirk. “I hope you hadn’t planned on bringing her straight to Asaria, you do realize a mated male cannot be kept away from his female by any amount of wards.”

“Do you dare call me an idiot? I had a perfect. Fucking. Plan. But they lost our best opportunity and the chances of finding another are slim to fucking none!”

“What exactly do you want me to do about it, or did you just call to vent?” He grabbed a handful of Alyssa’s black hair and urged her take in more of him while he waited for Demetrius to finish swearing a blue streak.

His brother’s voice was a bit calmer when he spoke again. “She knows you. They are not aware of your betrayal, you can resume your place with them fairly easily. You’re the best chance I have in accomplishing my goals.”

Tyros inwardly snorted knowing if he were to get involved in his brother’s crusade it would not be in his best interest for him to show his face around his former acquaintances. No, but he did know of a way he could help. He watched the head bobbing in his lap for a few seconds then held the phone away and instructed her to swallow. She did, convulsively, and he shot his load down her throat, his back arching off the bed.

“Good girl,” he groaned, before returning his attention to the phone.

“I’ll think about it,” he told his brother, then hung up before he could respond.



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls: @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

I have no problems with Jared saving Anna. Heck, I don't think I have problems with Jared being mad because Anna was reverting back to her old self. But, at this point in Anna's growth, I would've like to see her be the one to save herself. I feel she's ready, and that kind of scenario would be enough to redeem her for me, I think. She would save herself just in time for Jared's arrival. Now, that would've been a great mic drop.

I get why Jared's talking down to her, commanding her like a child, because to him she really is. If she continually reverts back to being childish, then that's how he should treat her. I don't like it, personally, but I get it.

I really like Tyros' trajectory into this. I strongly believe that he's going to get a heroic turn near the end. It's nice that he's able to get the evil out, but come crunch time, I just know that he'll make the right decision.

Patience is not a strong suit for you is it? ;) I know because of how this is being released over a long period of time it's making a difference in how it comes across. Imagine if you got the books all at once and read it the way they were actually intended to be read when I wrote them..I think you wouldn't see it the same. I will say that when characters reach their pivotal points hopefully the impact is that much stronger from the journey it took for them to get there ;).

Haha it actually is :D I feel like I would make a good sniper if it comes down to it haha!

I'm just commenting the way how it's presented. I think it's actually cool having a different reaction like this versus if I read it in one go. This way, people could actually react as they read along. Kind of like those reaction videos on YouTube haha!

Seeing the reactions progress with the story is also fun. It's what I miss most writing a whole book with different chapters haha!

I wonder how Tyros can get close to the Allies Of Old without triggering suspicion, especially since they just discovered two spies...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42