UNDER THE BRIDGE: Chapter 4

in #story7 years ago

UNDER THE BRIDGE: Chapter 1

UNDER THE BRIDGE: Chapter 2

UNDER THE BRIDGE: Chapter 3

chapter 4 continues....
images(2).jpg
SOURCE

After that day I met Fela again in the outdoor courtyard - I'd rather say I stumbled upon him. He was practising an army gun ritual with a stick when I emerged from a path of shrubs I was tracing with my fingers as it'd reminded me of my religion. He paused when he saw me in his crossfire, when he clicked the trigger I moved away. I wasn't bothered much when I didn't see him at dinner, but I did a mental check of all the faces I came across on my way back.

I was about to say my night prayers when I heard my name wafting in through the steel bar. The voice sounded more like Fela's after opening the door slide, so I called back settling down next to the steel bars, "I thought they'd let you go."

images(3).jpg
SOURCE

He laughed, "Good to hear you, boy."
"Good to hear you too...."
After a moment's debate, I decided to trust him more, at least I wanted to know more about him, about this place as much as he wanted a companion. He broke the silence first, "I tell you they know the moment I step outside these walls I coming for their government, but first, I owe this place a visit with my two passenger B-12XH bomber."

images(4).jpg
SOURCE

Surprising myself, I asked, "Who are 'they'?"
He cacked evilly for a while, then stopped.
"I kill the sonofagun on his yatch, blow him out of extinction, his friends, his family, I help rid this country of timidity. We peoples, we need revolution. The government lie, announce he hiding in China, so people don't know the way. But, I find him, I blow minister of finance to pieces so the president put me here. Me think he is the president brother. The president and his cohorts know I'm coming for them when I coming out. Since 1960 this country in self inflicted bondage, now 2120 this country still in bonds!"

For a moment, we were both silent - I, thinking to myself, pigs were definitely going to fly before they let him out. I tried hard not to laugh after imagining his face behind the B-12XH jet bomber, letting off streams of missiles maniacally, but I soon bursted into uncontrollable laughter. Unsurprisingly, he joined too. He reminded me of the boss I served under before I got my own auto mechanic shop.
"What bring you here, boy? You no sound like bad man, you no look evil either. Boy? Talk to me." Fela called again.

images(5).jpg
SOURCE

I didn't want him to know that part of me yet, that part filed away in a secret corner. Besides, it was lights out already so I went back to bed. I heard Fela mutterering some indecipherable words once or twice later, but I was too far away to mind. In my head, I'd turned the hands of time backwards until I could see my wife again.

If Binta knew she was lucky to have met the auto mech shop opened early on a saturday morning, she didn't show it (I had had to stay overnight to finish work on an over due car). I managed to smile when she tugged me awake behind the car's wheels - at least she was good to look at. She said she'd gotten my contact from a friend and was hoping I could help get a buyer for her Rover, a powerfully built V-25 engine (which I still think is among the best of Rover's line of electric cars) blessed with lightening switches. I sold it two days later, and kept in touch with her even after the car deal. We got married some months later, and by fervent reasons inspired by my wife, I was soon promoted to a worker in her father's pentecostal curch.

WATCHOUT FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER GUYS, TELL ME IF YOU LOVE THIS STORY SO THAT I CAN CONTINUE, IT WILL BE LIKE AN ENCOURAGEMENT, THANKS FOR READING... TILL WE SAIL UNDER THE BRIDGE AGAIN.

FOLLOW
RESTEEM
UPVOTE

Sort:  

@deeclown nice post

I folllow your ur telegrAm .....kindly visit my page and drop some upvotes. Thanks

Sure will visit, keep steeming bro.
#steempioneers

This is a good series. I've been going through the old chapters too.

Thanks so much, am glad you liked it.
@steempioneers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44