Outracing Light

in #story6 years ago


Table of Contents

LightShip - Image courtesy of Thomas Budach

Outracing Light


Our lightship shudders.

Fighting the helm, I collapse the warp bubble, dropping us into normal space. A neon haze wrecks visibility.

"Where are we?"

Juice works the nav. "Hard to say."

"Try infrared; without a fix, we'll lose this race."

He adjusts, spinning the resulting star field like a beachball.

"You undershot, Ben. We're on track, in a nebula one parsec short." He reads coordinates.

Compensating for my error, I reactivate the Alcubierre Drive.

We exit warp six hours later, bathed in the rays of five suns. The comm chimes.

"Welcome to New Canaan, gentlemen. You're the first to arrive."


© 2018 by Duncan Cary Palmer


~FIN~

Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.


Sort:  

You know way too much. I was certain 'Alcubierre Drive' was something made up, but as @jayna found, it is a real thing (well, a theoretical real thing).

Nice work on the 100 words! It reads much longer and fuller than that.

I've yet to try my hand at the 100 word stories, but I think I will. How hard can it be? :)

Easy peasy! Okay, maybe not easy, but fun. Okay, maybe not fun, but rewarding. Or at the very least, there’s a chance to win some SBD.

Ha!

I've gotta make my fake news as authentic as possible, donch'a know?

Thanks for reading my story. Looking forward to yours. ;)

a trans-dimensional warp drive that's faster than light - all in 100 words or less - that's probably a sci fi version of a haiku. Have you read Flatland? Just asking :)

Yes, I have read Flatland... A real mind-stretcher!

Yes, 100 words is a short story...

But did you miss my crowning short sci-fi?

The New Teleportation Machine

Now, that was short!

Thanks for reading, John! :D

Fascinating, that short bit almost makes me wish it were a whole book that I could read. It almost reminds me of CS Lewis's space trilogy style!

Thank you very much, @prlndra, for your kind words.

C.S. Lewis is one of my heroes. I first read his space trilogy about fifty years ago...

Be careful what you wish for: there are more stories in development for this fictional universe of mine.

Bathed in the rays of five suns.

I can only imagine what that is like. LOL Well done my friend @creatr

Nice work, @creatr! I had to go look up Alcubierre Drive. And I found this:

The Alcubierre drive or Alcubierre warp drive... is a speculative idea based on a solution of Einstein's field equations in general relativity, as proposed by theoretical physicist Miguel Alcubierre, by which a spacecraft could achieve apparent faster-than-light travel if a configurable energy-density field lower than that of vacuum (that is, negative mass) could be created.

Wow. That is interesting stuff!

Thank you for participating in the contest.

Yes, with the potential of up to 5,000 times the speed of light...

Thanks, Jayna! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66