Zombie Journal The diary of the dead Short Story By Cookbloger

in #story7 years ago (edited)

The Deads journal
By Cookbloger
To whom ever finds this please read my journey through the land of the dead.My name is Max Vaga and i am starting this journal to record a time in the past that seemed to have no end. -MV

June 16th 2017 5:00 Pm
Tomorrow`s the day i have to venture out into the deads land. I have
almost run out of food water.There is a dozen or more of these things roaming about just that i can see from my window.There slow and smart
but there dead inside once normal people infected by a mosquito bite
that infected the food supply as well as people directly.It just
spread like wild fire i still remember it what i was doing when i
found out.I was in town coming home from the grocery store when the news broke on the radio.I did not pay much attention to it thought it
was just a test of the emergency broadcasting system. But as i was
coming home from the grocery store. I started to look around there
where people running every which way scared frightened like the end of
the world had come Well little did i know it had.As i got further up the road looking around at everyone panicking and wondering why.I had
to slam on my breaks someone was just wandering around in the middle
of the road i kept honking at the person so they would move. Then when
he turned around i knew something was not right. There was no life to
his eyes. He just screamed and came after the car. Hitting it flalying his arms in rage. Smashing the passenger side window .I was
in shock it grabbed my arm and i just put my foot on the gas and took
off.I got home put on the TV and saw what was going on.They said to
barricade yourself in your home. Don't let anyone in and wait to be
rescued.Rescued what a joke its been 6 months and not a god damn thing has been rescued.I guess this is what they tell you to give you
hope.Tomorrow will be the first time in 6 months i have stepped out in
the dead lands. And i am not looking forward to it not one bit. June 17th 2017
7:30 am- I got up early gathered all the things i would need to

survive in the dead lands. I had a crowbar,Remaining food i had
left,Water,Basic First aid kit, Insect repellent, And a spare can of gas i had in the garage. Everything is all set for me to take off Ill
Write more when i can.
1:00 PM - I barley made it out of my own neighborhood. I sat there in
my car for a good half an hour before even starting the car.I just
froze thinking of old times with friends that i would never see again. My family all gone. Just me and my journey to survive.I never thought
i would endure a eternity of lonesomeness but hey i have nothing to
loose. Started up my car pushed the garage door button. And Plowed
through at least a dozen of them just waiting outside in my yard.they
flayed about on the ground still alive but less mobile. I continued down my abandoned street.There where so many of them that the street
was like a living dead barricade i sped up as fast as i could at
them.And plowed right through them at first, then my car got stuck
with so many of them i had no way of moving i was surrounded by them.
I put the car in reverse then back in drive 4 or 5 times it was a tense moment they where all over the car smashing in to the glass
trying to break in. I finally broke threw the living dead barricade.
And i made my way in to town. I was headed for the grocery store for
more supplies i was running dangerously low on food and water and
needed to restock. I had made it through the wasteland of the town, it was in ruins worse then i thought it would be buildings are on
fire,Windows smashed, blood and dead bodies through out the town it
looked like a war had been set off.The grocery store was not in bad shape for being abandoned for 6 months well on the upside at least
there was plenty of parking.I parked my car and counted them swarming
the front of the grocery store trying to get in. There where 5 of them
just banging at the plexy glass with all there might trying to go in a place they had once known.I saw a ladder on the side of the grocery
store i gathered up my backpack full of supplies grabbed my crowbar
opened the car door. And ran as fast as i could towards the ladder the
caught on to me and wobbled over to me as fast as they could.I got to
the ladder and as i was climbing up the ladder to get away one of them grabbed my foot trying to pull me off the ladder for a quick meal. i
wrangled my way out of my shoe and continued to climb i got to the top
and broke in to a skylight smashing the rusted out lock with my
crowbar.Below it was a office i jumped down from the roof in to the
office i decided to lock the door from the inside i searched threw the small office space and found nothing useful so i decided to write in
to my log before i forgot the already hazy details i try to block out
as i continue onward.Will keep updated.
5:00 Pm - I walked throughout the stores unlit hallways there was
another office down the hall i decided to check it out i had heard some rustling from inside. I thought maybe just maybe it was a
survivor.But as i turned the handle and opened the door to find a
scene out of a horror movie. A infected devouring a corpse that look
like it had been scavenged by a pack of wolves.i tried to sneak up on
the infected to kill it. As i crept towards it the floor creaked. It stoped eating.Got up turned around and started coming at me. After
seeing what it had done it was easy doing what i had to do next. I
grasped my crow bar with both hands as tight as i could held it over my head and ran towards the infected as fast as i could in a fit of
angry rage i kept swinging at it even after it had hit the ground.i
had a nervous breakdown after i had stopped i had never killed
anything before it was already dead and going to try and kill me as well as having killed someone else but it was still hard to warp my
mind around being in a place where its kill or be killed.I got my head
together and got out of that office as fast as i could closing the
door behind me.I ventured through the abandoned hallways leading in
to the grocery store itself.As soon as i opened that door the putrid smell of rotting produce was abundant it made my stomach cringe.I
ventured threw the small Grocery store making sure i was alone before
taking what uncontaminated canned goods and water as i could grab. The
place was empty all that could be heard throughout the store was the
infected moaning and constantly banging on the plexy glass the sound of the infected eerily echoed throughout the store.I grabbed anything
that i could get my hands on canned fruit mostly and bottled water. I
ran back up to the first office i had gotten in to the first time and
locked the door as i entered.I had some canned fruit for my lunch and
dinner. I'm going to stay here for the night i don't think i can make it back home in time before nightfall.And i don't want to have to go
through that living dead barricade at night.Hopefully i make it to the
morning.
11:00pm -The echos of the infected are heard through out the building its
hard to sleep thinking about if you will wake up to see another day in the dead lands.I just try to think of the better times before this
whole mess happened to give me some comfort of the way things use to be
but its hard to visualize anything like that after seeing what i saw today.Im going to try to sleep i don't think ti will do me any good its
hard to ignore the sound of the dead.
June 18th 7:00am
i never did get to sleep last night the sounds of the undead just intensified in volumes it was gut wrenching to hear the crys of the
undead. I got up had some breakfast canned fruit again.I'm going to get
out of this place and head out to try and find more supplies around
town.
7:45 am
My car has been stolen i went out to the roof and did a double take
how the hell am i supposed to get outta here now i guess there are
still people out there.I guess i am going to stay put here in this store
until i come up with a plan to escape.I do not want to venture out on
foot with that many around. I might have to eventually the number of the infected in the front of the store has increased twofold. Double
the amount that where there last time. I think they can sense that
someone is in here i do not know how much longer the plexy glass will
hold them.
10:00 Am - after trying think of ways to try to escape from this place i searched through the desk one more time to see if there was
anything i could use. I found a little battery operated radio and
decided to turn it on. A recorded broadcast message repeated "Residents
of Greenland and surrounding towns. A safe haven from the infected has been setup on the outskirts of Greenland in the national guard depot
on main street. survivors are encouraged to bring food and any othe
supplies they can" The message just kept repeating. I have no other choice but to venture out there maybe its still there its my only hope
and its not to far from here.I am going to head out from this place i
cant take the sound of the dead any longer.
7:30 pm - I managed to escape from the local grocery store i almost did not make it. As i traveled down the ladder and ran from the side of the building. I ran in to a group of the infected i just froze there for a second frightened then i shook out of it ran right into them knocking them down and ran as fast as my legs could take me they where scattered all over as soon as i ran by any of them they would begin to follow me as if i was a rabbit at a dog track. I managed to get on to main street and make my way to the national guard depot. Still running panting for air i made my way quickly to the front entrance of the National Guard depot it seemed like all hope was lost i had a army of the dead coming towards me. I kept banging on the metal door till my hands started to bleed screaming at the top of my lungs help me! The army of the dead grew close and closer to me. i thought this was the end of me. Then i could hear the door being unlocked from the inside then a voice an actual human voice. It was a women's voice she yelled with fierce get in here now! i quickly listened and went inside when a women tells you to get in you get in. as i hurried inside the building she quickly closed the door back up and locked it as i looked out the door before it closed and saw how close the infected where to me i couldn't believe i made it as i was grateful for being alive standing there in relief I heard a gun being cocked and something pressed to the back of my head. Then the barrage of questions ensued by a man who was dressed in his army uniform that was covered in blood stains and filth. After the line of questioning was done they quickly grabbed my backpack and scoured through it for anything useful. After that they stripped me down naked to insure i had not been infected. When i was cleared things calmed down. They apologized to me for all this but they had to be sure I wasn’t infected quickly got dressed and then the introduction came. The man with the blood stained army gear was named Mitch he rambled on about how he was a captain in the us army and that he had seen many tours of combat and that these infected where the easiest tour of duty he had. to be honest he seemed to have a couple screws loose to me but i guess anyone would after having to deal with this whole ordeal. The females name was Jenna she was a S.W.A.T officer she seemed as tough as they come she was not in the talkative mood so i did not learn that much about her. They showed me around the facility it was just one large singular room with cots set up a little hospital not much in it but still useful. They even had a small kitchen going with the basic setup that could cook almost anything.It was not what i expected there where only 2 survivors Mitch And Jenna no more i made 3.As i am writing this in my cot Jenna asked me what i was doing.When i told her that i was documenting my journey through the dead lands for others to find if something happened she gave me a blank stare at first then asked me if she could read it.Well i guess i am done writing for the night so Jenna can read this. I have to say it is good to be around people again. June 19th 6:00 Am

Jenna woke me to give me back my journal.She said that i was
misinformed about something.That the infection was not started by
mosquitoes. She said that the mosquitoes was a cover up and that the
US government was trying out a new drug that made a solider that was unkillable. But there plan backfired when they did not get the
results the expected.I was actually kinda relieved to know that i
did not have to worry about a bug biting me and becoming a
infected.She also told me how she remembered the day that she
encountered the infected.Jenna and her S.W.A.T team got a call for a group of crazies attacking citizens. She told me how her whole
team was mauled to death within a few minutes of exiting the swat
vehicle. some of them people she had known for a long time and
where like family to her. I asked Jenna about Mitch and what was his deal. She told me that Mitch was stationed in this very
national guard depot his job was to train the up and coming
soldiers. Mitch lost his family to the infected and witnessed his
daughter get worse and worse from the infection he ended up taking
her life in order to defend a fellow citizen Jenna was with mitch
when this happened she said everyday after that he just got more and more crazy.I asked Jenna how her and Mitch met. She said that
Mitch actually recused her from the group of infected that killed
her swat team members Mitch pulled up in a Humvee got out pulled
his gun and killed every last infected he could get his hands on. Well Mitch told us to gear up and get ready where going on the hunt for more survivors and supplies i asked Jenna if they do this
regularly she said they used to but had not found anyone in a long
time but since I came here they where going to continue searching out survivors again. Ill write more when i can
June 19th 5:32 pm
This is it my final stand in the lands of the dead. Our Humvee has
run out of gas and where trapped inside surrounded by hundreds if not thousands of the infected. Jenna is here with me as i am writing
my last passage in my journal i don't know how much longer we can
last inside. Mitch has vanished he said he was going to venture
out on foot to find some gasoline that was 4 hours ago he never
returned. I never thought this is how i would die being eaten alive.I guess that's how the world works everything you thought
your life was going to turn in to never turns out. I just hope who
ever finds this continues on with there story.Me and Jenna are
going to make one final stand id much rather go out taking as many
of these bastards out as i can with me then dying a slow death of starvation and thirst. Well here goes nothing.
December 13th 2019
My name is Derek Clawson and here is my story.
To be continued.

Hope you guys enjoyed i posted it on here a couple of minutes ago but it messed up some of the words somehow so i thought i would reupload again also my ebook was on kindle but took it down recently so you guys could enjoy this short story

Sort:  

Add this- you took a generator and pried open a gas pump at a gas station, then used the generator to operate the fuel pump and fueled up the vehicles and every fuel container you could find. You can hit that location again, just replace the cover on the gas pump an leave the wires dangling for easy access. you find a home depot or lowes and obtain machetes, seeds garden tools, spare generator, water filtration equipment, and return to base. You venture out again- this time to raid all of the pharmacies you can find, for medical supplies- and return to base. You find a building with solar panels, rip them off- return to base with the panels, and inverter and a small refidgerator to store pershiable medications, etc, and you pick up a few survivors and vehicles along the way. You raid the NAPA, and other auto stores for batteries, cables and other supplies to keep the inverter going- so youdont have to waste gasoline and you make it a point to enter from the roof- a lesson learned to save the supplies inside. The garden produces its first vegetables and you enjoy the with your comrades. Next you hit a firarms and sporting goods store to find ammunition, more rifles, knives and body armor to protect the ones who venture out. you also hit an electronics store and obtain shortwave and ham radios and batteries, and dedicate a solar charging system to it. Let me know if you want anymore material or ideas. Godspeed. Marco

I have more-free- if you want it.

Thanks for the addins love all the detail you put into it! This was my first short story i ever published on kindle so its fairly old thank you for adding something new! Hope all is well

Anytime you want more info- just ask. I will try to read your stories- But one word of advice, would be to go back and correct any grammar errors. Some people harp on these issues. I wish I could say all is well, but it is only for a season. Im having to go on disability and Im not happy with the process or the fact that Im no longer able to perform my job after the stroke.

Great story! Love it! Please share more!

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55