Dreamland. Story 2 "Dew" part 2

in #story7 years ago (edited)

DREAMLAND


DEW


Part 2

z4u- chris barbalis.jpg
Source; Unsplash - Chris Barbalis

For a moment I stood there, wondering what I should do. I yelled another time, but still no response. I walked just a little towards the place I expected the kid to be. I listened buth heard the kid nor the father or the dog. I walked a little further and then I heard the sound of footsteps. What was that? I called, but nobody replied my calling. I thought back to the moment my mind was playing tricks on me near the bridge, but that is not what is happening here, I thought. I surely heard footsteps of some sort. Where they footsteps? It was a tapping like sound. I froze. Did I see something rather small cross the path from one side to the other and did that make that tapping sound? Was I'm going crazy?

Hey! I shouted. Come here, come on! Maybe it was the dog, I thought, but there was no dog coming my way. What was it? I tried to look into the thick mist that was thicker on the grass than on the path I was on. I couldn't see the grass. I looked around and saw a stick. I grabbed the stick and waved around with it on the grass. Then I felt resistance, a strange sound and then something was holding it. I tried to pull it back, but whatever was holding the other end of the stick was stronger than me.
I nearly let the stick go, but what was inside the fog, wasn't interested in the stick anymore. I pulled it out, and the end that was in the mist was nearly gone. Like something bit it off. I looked at the stick and nearly lost my mind. What the fuck is happening? What is out there in the mist?

I turned around and started to run back to the bridge, to cross to the side where I live.

z5-eigen.png
Photo made by myself.

It took ages untill I finally reached the bridge. While I was gasping for air I quickly crossed the bridge. Years of smoking paid out now, for a second I swore to never smoke again, but I knew that the first moment I'd come home, I would light another one.

After I crossed the bridge I started to walk a bit slower. I watched the path before me, where they on this side also? I didn't take any chances. Step by step I came closer to home. I saw a neighbour walking his dog, it's to say, I thought it was a neighbour.

Keep your dog away from the grass, I shouted, but the man didn't reply. I walked a bit faster towards him and came closer so he could hear me. It was Rob. A neighbour a couple of doors away from where I live.

Hey Rob, don't let the dog get on the gras, I think there might be something in it.
Rob looked at me as if I was drunk.

Are you okay, Carl? Fell on your head? Something on the grass? What should be there, if I may ask?

Well, I don't know what it is, but it bit a stick I was holding. It wasn't a dog, I would have recognized it. It was much stronger. I'm not kidding, Rob. Better don't let him get on it.

Rob looked at me and saw my anxious face.

You're all sweaty man, are you really okay? He asked concerned.

I'm fine, mate. I just need to get home and inform the police. I'm not joking, seriously.

I said Rob goodbye and went home as fast as I could. I regained my breath while I was talking to Rob. Soon I was home.

z1u-karsten-wurth-inf1783-64227.jpg
Source; Unsplash - Karsten Wurth

At home I saw the asking faces.

No time, I said. I have to call the police, there's something inside the mist, and I think it's very dangerous.
While I was on the Phone with the police, my wife and kids were listening, and with every word I said, their eyes grew bigger. The officer at the Phone promised me to send a unit right away, and that a car would come to pick me up to show them where I saw the mist thing, as he called it.

My wife and kids kept asking me questions, but I said that I already said all there was to say. I didn't know what it was, only that it was small and strong. It had to be small, cause it looked not much bigger than a small sized dog that I saw crossing the path. I tried to describe it, but what I described would have been a rather big bug.

Bugs in the mist? my son asked.

I don't know, buddy, but you stay inside untill the mist is gone.

The police just arrived. Are you ready sir? I nodded. A second car arrived. I asked where the second car was for, but the officer told me there was no time to explain. I had to come fast.

In the car I asked again. Why that second car?

It's for the safety of your family Sir. Better be safe, don't you agree?

I guess, I said.

We arrived at the place where I directed them. The officer called and within five minutes the place was packed with marines...

To be continued...

z6f-david bruce (l).jpg
Source; Flickr - David Bruce
License; https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

previous parts;
https://steemit.com/story/@carlschrijft/dreamland-story-2-dew-part-1

steempromo1.jpg

Sort:  

for a second I thought the second car was a loony van and they were going to take you away to an asylum :)

This is getting good, staying tuned for potential alien dream bug weirdness. By any chance did it look anything like this?!?

(my art)

Nice try, but nope. lol. You aren't too far from where it's heading though ;)

BTW Carl I noticed a fair amount of typos misusages of words in both parts, which in no way detracted from my enjoyment of this story - only mentioning in a friendly spirit as I think these might benefit from a second set of eyes and a quick proofread. I see you are in the Netherlands and I am guessing English is a second language, yes?

Have you checked out the fiction workshop channel in PAL (the Minnow Support Project discord chat)? Folks are super friendly and supportive there and I am sure you could find people willing to proofread before you publish if you are willing to help them work on their pieces as well. From what I have seen it is a really nice community and quite helpful.

Cheers - Carl

Thanks for the advice. It's my second language indeed. I use a translate site for some words. It's never as it should be. I will try the proofreading, thanks!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carlschrijft to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Great work:-)

Thank you. It's the translation of a story I published in Dutch in a book called "Vanaf de linkerzijde" (From the left side)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67623.71
ETH 3786.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70