The Time Keeper: Part 1

in #story7 years ago

Hello Steemians! Like my previous works, here's another short series that I'm writing for your reading pleasure.
Nothing too fancy- Just simple and straight forward story telling in very short sentences.
Hope you enjoy it! 

The Time Keeper: Part 1

Image source


One fine day I wanted to take a cab to the city

Meeting a fine lady for a movie we have booked

At a taxi stand an old lady is seen selling clocks

With tattered clothes and long white hair

In front of her, weird looking clocks with very old designs

She smells like dead animal so no one would go near her

Some kids on bicycle even throws stuff at her

Making fun and calling her names

Strange that the adults were not even bothered about it

She seems to have an invisible wall around her

I too was uncomfortable going near her

But I need to flag a taxi where the old lady stands

Having a second thought a train would do just fine

The old lady suddenly turned and locked eyes with mine

Without saying a word I gasped and stuttered

"Are you waiting for a taxi?" I asked

"I'm just here selling clocks" She responded

I don't know why but I walked towards her

As if my mind was no longer mine 

My god she smells so bad I almost throw up

Within a second I was inches away from her

"Fancy some good quality clocks?" She asked

If I talk, I would die. For the stench will kill me before I speak

The old lady continued to show me her wares like a pro sales person

"I'm sorry but I don't need any clocks. Can I perhaps buy you some food?"

The old lady stopped and looked straight into my eyes

Her glare so cold it sent chills down my spine

Before I knew it everything around me froze 

Just like how you would pause your anime for a toilet break 

"Say, young man. Perhaps you will be more interested in my other wares"

"I have never met someone like you. I will offer something you can't resist"

"I don't need your money or food. What I desire is your time"

"Here I will let you choose, any abilities or powers you most desire"

"Trust me I will make it true. For I'm the genie in Pandora's box"

What a fraud this must be. An old lady treating me like a little kid

Whatever it is that she's trying to pull, I will never fall for it

Dammit because of this I will be late 

I'm not going to let this crazy old lady spoil my date

It took me great effort getting that girl to say "yes" 

To get this over with I must hurry

I'll just say anything that first come to mind

"I wish I can control over time so that...."

Before I could finish, I find myself stepping out of my house

"What the Fxxx" I said to myself

I looked around like a confused drunk donkey

Guess I gotta stop taking those drugs I bought online

Looking at my watch I'm at least 4 hours early

What a surprise! I have plenty of time!

As usual I walked down the street to the taxi stand

Deja Vu I see the same old lady standing there

But there's something different this time

Her clothes are proper and she's selling kittens 

I kept a distance trying to make sense of things

As I was deep in my thoughts the old lady turned and locked eyes with me

I can never forget those hair-raising, icy-cold glare 

I walked towards her but there were no foul smells

"Fancy some cute kitties?" She asked

"I don't like cats... have we, met before?" I asked

"I don't think we have. But.... thank you for the trade" The old lady grinned

"HEY Mister! HEY!" Someone was heard shouting nearby

As I turned around, a taxi was already waiting 

"HEY you want a ride? Get in! I don't have all day" The taxi driver shouted

As I turned to the old lady trying to get some answers, she's no longer there

Confused like a fox on wild mushrooms, I quickly got on the taxi

-End of Part 1-


If you enjoyed reading this, please consider following me on my future works :)  

Sort:  

Well I wish somebody kept my time it's going way to fast sometimes :/

I know what you mean brotha -_-"

After a short dmt "trip" I realize time can be kept. The old lady selling the clocks was always there.. I know I sound weird here, not too sure if you get what I meant lol. Somehow I'm now very intrigued to know more bout this stinky time keeper....keep it coming bruh

Yeah. I wonder what that stinkin' old lady has up her sleeves! lol

Cool post ! gotta see part 2.

Muchas Gracias!

Thanks for an interesting story. I enjoyed the read although the number of lines made it hard to follow. I look forward to chapter 2. ^^

Thanks for the feedback. I'll work on that on my next write up :)

Really enjoyed reading thanks for sharing keep on doing the good work will follow for sure !!

Thank you :)

Enjoyed reading aswell. Thanks. Upvoted, please follow me ;)

Thank you. Followed back.

@zublizainordin says @arconite I saw part 3... so better start here Part 1. Interesting story You do write. Salute..!

#zublizainordin
#teammalaysia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60308.44
ETH 2640.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54