Storytime #1- My Life Before Steemit and How It Helped Me Get a Job

in #story6 years ago

Hey guys!

Today I wanted to talk about my job. I currently work with an online news portal called newskarnataka.com. As the name suggests, it focuses mainly on news from my home state of Karnataka.

Life before Steemit

For the better part of two years, I was unemployed. I had one job during that duration and it was quite unpleasant. That coupled with the fact that I wasn't getting paid, pushed me to quit my job.

This was back in December of 2016. After that, I started focusing more on my bottle art. It was only when one of my friends suggested that I start selling my work that I started seriously getting more into my art. Things were okay for a while. I sold a few bottles and it did wonders for my self-esteem which before that point, if I am to be honest, was going downhill... and fast!

When Andy met Steemit

Towards the tail end of May of 2017 or the very beginning of June, my friend @firepower introduced me to Steemit.

I am a very curious person by nature, so it did not take much pushing to get me to sign up. I just began posting things randomly... some of my earlier content was from my other blogs (that's when I met Cheetahbot... LOL).

I began reading other people's posts on Steemit and stuff online to help me figure things out. What I could not figure out on my own or learn online, I learnt from some of the amazing people I met here on Steemit. Going for the Steemit meet ups helped me learn a lot too.

Once my blog was started doing better, I was pretty comfortable with what I was doing and I began writing more since the feedback was very encouraging. I however, had the lingering fear of not being able to come up with content for my blog. You see, I do things based on my mood. If I feel like baking, I will bake... even if I'm in the middle of an ocean, I will find a way to do it. If I feel like writing, I will write. If I feel like painting, I will paint. If I feel like cooking... you get the idea. There are also days when I want to do absolutely nothing.

That is why I knew that if I picked any one of my hobbies as a career, I would falter somewhere down the line... it was only a matter of time.

Having a stable job was something that made sense but unfortunately, I wasn't able to find the kind of job that I would be happy doing.

In May of 2017, I had applied for an accounting job with the parent company that owns the paper I currently work for. I did not make it through. I was kinda glad I did not get through because I did not want to end up in the finance field again. A few months later, I got a call to interview for the same job with the same company but, this time I did not go.

In September, I got another call from the same company. This time however, they were calling a different position- a copy editor.

I thought heck... I'll give it a shot. Went in, gave the interview and got a job offer in a week's time. I was thrilled!

A week into the job, I began to wonder why they called me to interview for the job as I knew for certain that I had not applied for it.

I wanted to ask my editor (my boss) why I was called but, I did not want to look stupid in the event that I had applied for the job and forgotten about it (I am pretty forgetful).

Last week, I gathered all my courage and asked my boss why I was called for the job. She said that they (my boss and her boss) were going through my job profile online and came across my mention of my blog. I knew that the only blog I had mentioned on my profile was the one on Steemit and I was like "Whoaaaaaaaaa."

I had mentioned my Steemit blog on my job profile as I was, at that time, looking for a content writing job. It blew my mind that they actually went through my blog, liked my writing, and called me for the interview.

Present day

It's been close to four months now. This is the best job I've ever had and I totally love it. There are good days and bad like any other job but, I would not give it up for anything.

I get to do new things... things I never imagined I would ever do.

Just yesterday I got a chance to cover an event, albeit a small one. Maybe I will write about it soon.

I'm thinking about writing about my experience in my new job... will probably make for a fun series since there is always a hint of unintentional humor when I'm involved.

Thanks for reading 🙂

Please upvote, resteem and follow.


Check out my other works below

Wedding Car Decor - My First

About # 17 – Polka

About # 16 – Gradient

About # 15 – Serenity

About # 14 – Star Flower


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.

Click here button to follow me on Instagram.

Sort:  

You are lucky in that case.You are doing a job you love.Following you😊

Thank you... followed back

That's a nice story. Glad to know that you are loving your work, nothing like that really. Is your boss now on Steemit? Haha.

@mydivathings you are right....
So some like and click on my post..
So i same to you

Haha... thanks... na she's not. She's got too much going on... lol

Wow!! Now that's quite an interesting story..

Good going Andy, keep up the good work and keep Steeming

Cheers!

:D thanks bro!

Hello you done your post...
So same here

Thank you 😊

What a pleasant surprise that must have been Andrea! :)

That's a nice incident to share! Cheers! Keep writing!

Take care.


Follow me, if you like my posts!

Hehe... yea it sure was. Thank you 😊

You are most welcome my friend! Have a great time!

Following your posts!


Follow me back to spread the love.

Thanks... followed back

Wow, I am really happy to know that you are doing good.

All the best for your future.

Hehehe.... thanks a lot :)

Your and my thoughts are a little similar. I also feel the same as you do while doing different things i.e according to mood. And congrats for the success. Followed..

Nice introduction 👌👏👏👏

Congratulations @andreanoronha! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
_Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @andreanoronha! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85