John the Barman. (Short story part 7.)

in #story7 years ago

This is a re-post of a short story I first began posting in September 2016, when I first joined steemit.
The story was first published in 2013 as an e-book and is based heavily, in location on my old local pub and my good friend who worked behind the bar.

John the barman-001.jpg

Death reached into his hooded top and pulled out a mobile phone. “Would you excuse me a moment, I have to take this,” he apologised and answered his phone.
“Hello… What?... Where are you?… Why the hell are you there?… Well I was doing something you know… No I don’t just sit about waiting for you to cause trouble… I do have a busy social life… No I’m not on a date… OK, give me five minutes.”
Death stood up and put the phone back into his pocket. “Sorry got to go, War has started a war.”
“What? Why? And where?” Thor asked excitedly.
“The Federated States of Micronesia; and it was because Pestilence said he couldn’t manage to do it there,” Death answered shaking his head.
“Well where the bloody hell is this Federated States of whatsit and why are they fighting?” Hercules asked.
“In the Pacific, seems the state of Chuuk is going to invade Pohnpei over a phosphate licence. As we speak, a force of fifty poorly trained farmers is on the march, with three newly converted fishing boats that comprise the Chuuk navy that will transport them and act as the invasion flotilla.”
“Have there been any casualties yet?” John asked.
“Two pigs and a parrot so far,” Death replied with a shrug.
“Can I come with you?” Thor asked excitedly.
“No, I’m not letting you loose with my brother War. A god of war and the personification of war on an island that size is asking for trouble,” Death answered. “Now if you will excuse me I must go.”
The three watched as Death walked over toward the exit but faded from view before he reached it.
“That was just showing off,” Thor grumbled. “It’s not fair, I would love to get involved in a little war again.”
“Why? You wouldn’t be any use if you did, you don’t have your hammer anymore,” Hercules said, sitting on one of the barstools.
“How do you know I haven’t?” Thor demanded angrily.
“Because, you daft sod, if you still had your hammer then you would still have your power and wouldn’t be the old sod that you are,” Hercules replied as if talking to a small child.
“Well what’s your excuse for being old then?” Thor asked sullenly.
“Don’t wanna talk about it,” Hercules mumbled, crossing his arms.
“No, you tell me or you know I’ll find out from someone else,” Thor demanded.
Hercules threw him a dirty look. “Zeus had to make cutbacks alright. The demi-gods all got laid off with a pittance of a pension.”
Thor stopped, his response never spoken. He sat down next to Hercules and put his hand on his shoulder. “That’s rough man, sorry, I didn’t know.”
“Right, if you two don’t start making a move, I’m going to have a phone call from the nursing home. If you’re late for your dinner again, the Matron has threatened to come down here and drag you both out,” John told them, sitting back down on his stool.
Hercules pulled a face. “It’s not that time again is it?” he sighed sadly and stood up. “Come on Thor, let’s go find out what’s for dinner.”
“Macaroni cheese, I asked before we came out,” Thor replied and then finished off his drink.
“I hate macaroni cheese, to think I used to save the world and now I end up being served macaroni cheese in that awful place.”
“Well if you still had your own teeth you would be able to have something you could chew,” Thor replied. “Now come on, we’ll call in at the bakers and get a pastry on the way to the bus stop.” Thor got up off his chair and both slowly set off down the stairs.
“Have you got my bus pass?” Hercules asked.
“Of course I have, you daft old beggar, it’s in my wallet with mine,” Thor replied tersely as they disappeared down the stairs.
John looked around the now empty bar. He had maybe an hour’s peace before the early evening punters turned up. The daytime trade may be quiet on the whole, but things would get lively as the night wore on.

To be continued.

Previous posts.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@alienbutt/john-the-barman-short-story-part-1

https://steemit.com/fiction/@alienbutt/john-the-barman-short-story-part-2

https://steemit.com/writing/@alienbutt/john-the-barman-short-story-part-3

https://steemit.com/fiction/@alienbutt/john-the-barman-short-story-part-4

https://steemit.com/story/@alienbutt/john-the-barman-short-story-part-5

https://steemit.com/fiction/@alienbutt/john-the-barman-short-story-part-6

Sort:  

Interesting piece... I look forward to seeing more of your post.
Thanks much

interesting story, I will wait in the next episode and post, regards @alienbutt

Finally caught up! That was fun, I'm kind of happy I got to take in a big chunk of it all at once.

This is great and I'm looking forward to more. It sounds like your friend the bartender had some pretty interesting experiences

The only angels he got to deal with was when the hells angels came in, the rest of the time it was just us rockers but he would have taken these customers in his stride.

You'd think Death would be more of a night time crowd kind of guy. Olympian Cutbacks, man that had to hurt Zeus, and Odin, I am sure he has had to have some cost cutting done also, maybe that is how Thor's Hammer "got lost", to help pay for bills and up keep.

The old gods power may fade but while they are remembered they never fully go away.

And we have a lot of reminders of them, and a lot of people that will remind us when we forget.

wow man, i'm hooked, now i have to go read from the first part, just my kind of story. nice story plot you have here.

This is cool.
But am kinda lost. Need to go back to understand clearly. But from the little i read, i enjoyed every piece .
After reading the previous ones , will b back to read this one again and will be expecting more post from you.
I greatly commend you for this
Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60795.60
ETH 2627.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58