Terry Fox - The Marathon Of Hope (Real Inspiration)

in #story6 years ago

Getting a dose of motivation not just during the sad days but every day is like a boost to our energy levels. The daily motivation probably keeps our spirits live and encouraging. I purposely read one motivating story of a personality and get motivated to just stay inspired and motivated, so that I get on my heels day in and day out.

I recently read about Terry Fox and I had goosebumps all over. It is said that hard work will one day change our signatures to autographs. As rightly said Terry's determination and perseverance has paid him for his wishes.

Let’s see what Terry has done in his life that made
people in Canada donate $24.17 million.

The first cry of Terry Stanley Fox – 28 July 1958. When Terry turns 19 years old, he discovers a malicious tumour in his right leg. The night before Terry could get his amputation done, he reads about an amputee runner and sets his target to run.

Terry plans a cross-Canada run in order to raise money for cancer research and awareness. Terry toils in training himself and covers about 3,107miles during his training periods.

“I’m not a dreamer, and I’m not saying this will initiate any kind of definitive answer or cure to cancer, but I believe in miracles. I have to.”

Those are the words of Terrey to the Canadian Cancer Society.

By then Terrey runs for 3,339 miles and stops outside of Thunder Bay, Ontario. And Terry's cancer shoots his lungs and he quotes,” I’m gonna do my very best. I’ll fight. I promise I won’t give up.” Hearing about Terry Fox, Isadore Sharp, the Chairman and CEO of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts organizes a fundraising run and also the CTV network organizes a telethon and raises $10million.

One month short to Terrys 23rd birthday, he bids a goodbye to all of us to rest in peace on 28 June 1981. Currently, the Terry Fox Foundation has collected over $715 million. And they support cancer research in the name of Terry.


aki_0000_steemitnew.png

Take a look at my other blogs as well;

  1. Still Alive with Fear Alive in Me - Life of Every Indian Women
  2. The Power of Lighting Lamps - Indian Tradition
  3. Food with Books

aki_0000_steemitnew.png

aki_0002_ezgif.com-webp-to-png.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63