Human Nature and "Adventures" in the Steemisphere

in #stopthepowerdown6 years ago (edited)

Up before sunrise 🌄 this morning, with limited time available, I have decided to write a post about all of the "rumblings" which are loud and growing louder surrounding the decision of @Ned and Steemit Inc to remove ~34M SP from their wallet and move it to Bittrex!?

Image Source

I don't have the time to read all of the many good posts currently being written about this topic. I first became aware of it via this post from @therealwolf.

I am writing this morning due to my comment becoming big enough to be its own post, in response to reading this post from @aggroed.

Issue in Focus


My initial response to @aggroed started with this:

"Thanks for writing this @aggroed. As with most of what I would write, you would write, or anyone else would write, I agree with a lot of it and there are portions I do not."

My single point of focus and concern, in reading what I have time for of all that is currently being written about Ned's actions, is the idea which he appears to be claiming initiated them. Modifying the blockchain to eliminate certain members from it. What?!

It is remarkable (and not in a good way either ...) to me that this would be considered a viable alternative. Ever. Under any circumstances …

Why on earth would any of us watching this unfold support anything like that? Sorry @aggroed, but your arguments in response are not persuasive. Sure, when the "smoke cleared" from the resulting carnage, there would be small pockets of support here and there for God only knows how many splinter blockchains were left.

I personally would be stunned if the vast majority wouldn't simply leave altogether and “wash their hands of it” wondering whatever possessed them to think this was a good idea (being on the Steem blockchain) to begin with … Count me in this group.

All of us should be very clear about what this thinking represents. No matter how "good" the argument might sound, for the exclusion of any one of us, here is my question to you. What about the next time?

What if you are in the "crosshairs" of whatever brilliant ___ (fill in the blank) led to the resulting outcome of excluding you? And the resulting loss of all of your time and effort?

Image Source

Best Alternative


It is unmistakably clear to me that we have a rich diversity of people from all over the world currently engaged on the Steem blockchain. We cannot possibly expect any of us would be in 100% “lock step” agreement with any of the rest. That should be understood and respected. All of the various “factions” should be able to peacefully coexist in the Steemisphere, in their own little corner of it. Collectively, we all benefit, as the effort put in by all of the individual groups adds value overall to the Steemisphere.

Hence, my image to open this post. All of the "islands" in the Steemisphere peacefully working away in their individual areas of interest / passion and linked by the common WIIFM (what's in it for me ...) principle desire to see the value of the Steem blockchain increase.

What is at stake? Our future. I think you have articulated that well @aggroed. I don't personally think that can be overstated. I am a mere dolphin, having worked hard for months to reach this goal at the close of 2018.

And my reward? To be faced with all of this ...

Human Nature



So, what was that @roleerob?

"... should be able to peacefully coexist ..."

Ahhh, yes ... There's the rub. Should be able ... BUT, how is that working for us so far ... Human nature, in "all of its glory," raises its ugly head. I will not take the time to put down all of the philosophical points about what this represents to me.

We all have our systems of belief about this most fundamental aspect of our decision to invest in this asset class. Is this fascinating technology, with all of its promise, capable of overcoming this most basic of historic problems?

Well, dear reader, we are in the midst of finding out. At least as it pertains to the Steem blockchain ...

Image Source

There are a lot of very bright people on the Steem blockchain. But ... How many wise people do we have "in here?"

Hope you "big boys" (and girls) get this resolved! The sooner, the better!!

Closing



Heading "out on the road" soon and with this post written, will now put this out of my mind for the time being, as I don't delude myself to think my opinion on this topic or anything else frankly matters much.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work (hopefully) together to build our Steem Community!

Respectfully,
Steemian @ roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Saturday, 19 January 2019!

divider 123.png


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Hello dear friend, I know that many people (investors) have been very affected by the steemit situation and it is understood, however, I am very grateful with this platform, it really is a blessing, and I do not want to leave it, and I really hope that everything will improve, the problems that have affected her will be solved, I still believe in steemit despite the situation it goes through, it is still a blessing for me and I know that this year will be better.

Yes, @blessed-girl ...

"... and I really hope that everything will improve, the problems that have affected her will be solved ..."

... so do I and many, many others. What I wrote about here is, at least for this "old warhorse," the crux of the problem. And this is the worse I have seen it, since I became actively involved on the Steem blockchain last May.

We'll both find out together what 2019 brings in the way of resolution. Hopefully in the very near future.

I think that the initiative has been taken out proportions as I think it had a positive connotation under it all by making a statement of trying to work in conjunction with Steemit Inc. However, it seems that there continues to be thoughts that we are better off without Steemit which I can’t disagree but to strip them of their stake would cause concerns of the reputation of the blockchain for sure. We are also starting to see some divide which is scary as the community is where the value is and if divided, value decreases. I am glad that we have the passion to defend our ecosystem in an effort for its success, but many times the cure is worst than the disease.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I respect your opinion @newageinv, so …

”I think that the initiative has been taken out proportions …”

… I’d like to be sure I understand to what you are referring here. Please let me know, as your time permits, as I would like to avoid any misunderstanding, as much as that is dependent upon me.

Overall, I support all that @aggroed said, with the major exception of any sort of endorsement, even as a last resort, of forking the blockchain in such a way as to exclude someone. The Witnesses here have a stewardship responsibility to do all in their power to hold the Steemisphere together. If they don’t like anyone, even Ned himself, there have to be alternative courses of action which do not involve threatening to take away someone’s “property.”

The moment we start allowing any sort of “majority rules” resulting in taking away the fruits of someone’s labor, I will be done here. That is a slippery slope and a path to disaster.

I will start by saying that I absolutely agree with you in that any move to fork anyone’s stake is a slippery slope of the beginning of the end for any blockchain. Regarding my comment, I think the real purpose by many of the top witnesses was to immutably post a type of commitment that they will not support a fork in an effort to stop the powerdown from Steemit. However, I think it has led to some thinking it was an implicit blackmail or the sorts. Again, I have read so much over the last 24 hours on this that is has been exhausting and we are probably at the point of forgetting the underlying issue which is how we move to a sustainable blockchain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Okay, thank you for the clarification @newageinv.

"... we are probably at the point of forgetting the underlying issue which is how we move to a sustainable blockchain."

Long-term, I agree with you. This is the underlying challenge of all blockchains, given how new this asset class is.

Short-term and right in front of us is the issue I have addressed in my post. Ned initiated his "defensive move," in response to it.

As I have said elsewhere, intelligence and wisdom are not the same thing. As we watch this drama unfold, I hope those calmer and wiser prevail ...


P.S. Yes, I am fired up ... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I have read quite a few of these rumblings, and I like yours the best. I have great respect for aggroed and I think he summed up the problem quite nicely, but the conclusions don't sit well with me. (For what it's worth - I'm not even quite a minnow, but what I have here represents a real investment of myself nonetheless).

Doing something immoral, or supporting it, when it is the most logical/least harmful course of action does not change the fact that it's immoral. I believe immoral things are immoral because ultimately, they produce the most harm of all - but it may not seem that way initially.

I don't think aggroed was really supporting the idea, but he did seem to make the case that a power down of steemit inc accounts would make such an action justifiable.

I would like to be in the #stopthepowerdown camp, but I'm not sure that I am. I'm more inclined to think that steemit can do what it wants, that it will anyway, and that if they are unwilling to be in the same risk pool as everyone else and contribute with skin in the game, then good riddance - even if it hurts.

So I, like you, will just wait to see what happens next...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for stopping by @wholeself-in and investing your time to write this well reasoned response.

"... but what I have here represents a real investment of myself nonetheless)."

Absolutely right. Our time has very significant value and, in my brief experience "in here," is under appreciated for how the investment of it adds value to our Steem blockchain.

"Doing something immoral, or supporting it, when it is the most logical/least harmful course of action does not change the fact that it's immoral."

Again, absolutely right! We are definitely "kindred spirits" ...

So ... We'll wait together to see what all of those "high over our heads" come up with. Intelligence and wisdom are not the same thing. Hopefully, those calmer and wiser will prevail ...

Posted using Partiko Android

While the power down seem to scare many Steemians, you may want to read through this post.

The post seem not intended to be out in public but it is there. I am not sure about the post, but if the buy-out of Steemit is true, I am not sure how that will impact the price of Steem. It looks like people are positive about it. And you may have noticed, price of Steem has gone up lately. I managed to buy some earlier today and Steem conversation is much lower than what I bought before if I compute using the rate of BTC that I used.

Just a bit of time "in here" to catch up a little, but wanted to thank you for this @macoolette. I glanced at it briefly. Neither of the principals inspire me with past displays of integrity, in my brief experience with them. And a mega corporation buying out a "controlling interest" in a blockchain? Hmmm ...

You may want to check out this post, this one post on the #steemit-stake channel Ned’s msg. references, and this post. We have private channels on Steem!? 👎 Would all of this be taking place if these folks thought Steemit was being sold? A lot more questions than answers. For me anyway …

So … There is a lot going on right now and I have no delusion that what I or most of us think really matters. We're left to wait and see ... With you and many others, given all of the time and effort we have invested, we'll hope for the best.

Until next time @macoolette, all the best to you!

Huh. This is really a great post i must say. And also the world steemsphere, it sounds good also

Thanks for stopping by and commenting @adenijiadeshina.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.940 which ranks you at #3969 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 51 places in the last three days (old rank 4020).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #99.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@roleerob You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55