You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Human Nature and "Adventures" in the Steemisphere

I have read quite a few of these rumblings, and I like yours the best. I have great respect for aggroed and I think he summed up the problem quite nicely, but the conclusions don't sit well with me. (For what it's worth - I'm not even quite a minnow, but what I have here represents a real investment of myself nonetheless).

Doing something immoral, or supporting it, when it is the most logical/least harmful course of action does not change the fact that it's immoral. I believe immoral things are immoral because ultimately, they produce the most harm of all - but it may not seem that way initially.

I don't think aggroed was really supporting the idea, but he did seem to make the case that a power down of steemit inc accounts would make such an action justifiable.

I would like to be in the #stopthepowerdown camp, but I'm not sure that I am. I'm more inclined to think that steemit can do what it wants, that it will anyway, and that if they are unwilling to be in the same risk pool as everyone else and contribute with skin in the game, then good riddance - even if it hurts.

So I, like you, will just wait to see what happens next...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for stopping by @wholeself-in and investing your time to write this well reasoned response.

"... but what I have here represents a real investment of myself nonetheless)."

Absolutely right. Our time has very significant value and, in my brief experience "in here," is under appreciated for how the investment of it adds value to our Steem blockchain.

"Doing something immoral, or supporting it, when it is the most logical/least harmful course of action does not change the fact that it's immoral."

Again, absolutely right! We are definitely "kindred spirits" ...

So ... We'll wait together to see what all of those "high over our heads" come up with. Intelligence and wisdom are not the same thing. Hopefully, those calmer and wiser will prevail ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44