๐Ÿ’ฅ Starting the New Year as a Dolphin! ๐Ÿ’ฅ

in #steem โ€ข 6 years ago

Very pleased to be ending the year on a high note, I have just become a dolphin!

Image Source

It was an objective of mine, once I made the commitment to stick with my Steem "journey," to reach this goal. What a great feeling to be here!!

What does it take? What does looking back "over the trail" show?

Transaction History

As written elsewhere, I am first and foremost an investor in the Steem blockchain. Otherwise, we would never have "met." As the following shows, I have systematically added to my stake on the Steem blockchain:

So ... We all know the complexity of the interactions between STEEM, SBD, and STEEM POWER (SP). While I have kept track of transactions in a spreadsheet, I long ago gave up on trying to keep outright purchases, author rewards, curator rewards, and the continuous "interest" we have posted to our accounts separate. The above is as close as I can get.

Using the information available to us on SteemWorld, I have "earned" approximately $380. The rest is from investments. Yes, investments ...

Hmmm. Looks like the usual "buy high" and "sell low" story at the moment ... Ohhh, this is supposed to be a Happy New Year post. Let's not go there ... ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Note: Pleased to say the last power-up transaction above was carried out on SteemWorld, using the new KeyChain feature described by @steemchiller in his latest Weekly Support post. Works great!

    If you are not already doing so, please make sure you are following this great Steemian and upvote all of his posts and comments!!

While this tells something of the story, these are really only numbers. Far more important to me is the process of building relationships and learning about all that the Steemisphere has to offer. I did not take the first step on this journey, until my first post on May 14th.

Image Source

I am frankly too weary to do justice to some sort of "highlight reel" review of all that has happened from that time until now. So much has centered around engaging with others. From all over the world!

It has just been unforgettable for me, no matter what the future holds.

"Middle Class" on the Steem Blockchain

For just a bit, I want to comment on what attaining "dolphinhood" means to me. For me, it simply means I have reached something of a "middle class" position of influence on the Steem blockchain.

Image Source

Much has been written about this. By those better suited to it than I, such as the prolific writer from Finland, @tarazkp. A very important aspect of this new asset class, of which the Steem blockchain is a part, is the decentralization of power.

Image Source

At the moment, far too much of it is concentrated in the hands of far too few ... May the New Year bring a great increase in the number of those who have been able to reach the "middle class" of the Steem blockchain.

Closing



What a year 2018 has been! In some ways, it seemed long and drawn out, given my situation at work. Yet it also seems like it was just a flash! And then it was over ...

I want to sincerely thank all of those who have played such an important role in providing encouragement and support to me along the road "in here." It truly takes a community effort to make progress.

You never know what role you might play in the journey of another. Don't ever doubt that. Early on, I was very skeptical about a number of my experiences, but key interactions at critical times kept me going.

So thank you!!

For all my fellow Steemians, who are working hard on obtaining their objectives, I wish you all a great New Year! ๐Ÿ‘ ๐Ÿ˜Š

Respectfully,
Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and โ€œimmutably enshrined in the blockchainโ€ on Monday, 31 December 2018!

divider 123.png

Happy New Year!!!
๐Ÿ’ฅ ๐ŸŽฏ ๐Ÿ† ๐ŸŒˆ ๐Ÿ† ๐ŸŽฏ ๐Ÿ’ฅ

This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort: ย 

Congrats on reaching dolphin! Looks like you have managed to lower your average cost to a more likely number which will allow you to be in the green again. IMO the current prices won't last past mid year and then we will all be wishing we purchased more at these lows.

Thanks for stopping by @thedarkhorse! I appreciate all you do to keep the Pay-It-Forward community moving ahead.

"โ€ฆ you have managed to lower your average cost to a more likely number which will allow you to be in the green again."

Yes, well, weโ€™ll see. Youโ€™ll note I elected (I actually did, but deleted it โ€ฆ) to not โ€œcrunch the numbersโ€ on how much I have lost to date investing in Steem. There is a discipline to all of this, though, so I have successfully taken advantage of the opportunity to โ€œcost averageโ€ down. As I have repeatedly and painfully learned from past experience, that in and of itself is no guarantee of anything โ€ฆ

Personally not wildly excited about some of the โ€œhigh level dust upsโ€ I see going on โ€œin here,โ€ but perhaps that is unavoidable. There are some key โ€œplayersโ€ that need to get their act together. Quickly โ€ฆ

โ€IMO the current prices won't last past mid year and then we will all be wishing we purchased more at these lows.โ€

I obviously hope youโ€™re right. We donโ€™t have all that long to find out โ€ฆ

Until then, all the best to you and yours @thedarkhorse for a ...

๐Ÿ’ฅ Happy New Year!! ๐Ÿ’ฅ

Lowering average cost isn't a guarantee, but it does greatly increase chances of profits.

Now it's not what you want to hear, but I'm really hoping to see 7c steem before we see a real upturn. At that point I'd buy 20,000 steem and let it ride. Why 7c, just because it's a number that was tossed out there by someone and I quickly realized that I could buy a lot of steem at that price...lol.

Do feel that all the recent issues are good long term assuming we pull through the current situations. If we move forward as I expect people showing their true colors while the price was low will help people make more informed decisions on who to follow, support, and trust later when the price recovers. Honestly I'd love a couple of them to just leave and dump all their coins...I'd get my 7c steem then as would a lot of others who want to see steemit grow into something bigger and better.

If for some reason this all falls apart, then I lost some money on an investment. This is never ideal, but it is a risk with any investment you might have.

Yes, well, @thedarkhorse ...

"Now it's not what you want to hear, but I'm really hoping to see 7c steem before we see a real upturn."

... can't say I am in favor of that forecast. I'd rather it not even have dropped where it is, although I have done what I reasonably can to take advantage of it.

I think we'd have to see some more major screwups "in here," to get to that level. If that happens and some key "players" don't get their act together, then I don't why the "floor" would be $0.07.

Any of these "cryptos" could ultimately become absolutely worthless. In fact, I am prepared for that myself and the reason I don't "have all my eggs in one basket" ...

For your sake and mine, let's hope that STEEM isn't one of them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations Dolphin!
What a nice start @roleerob, so happy for you and Wish that you'll gain more wonderful days on Steemit. I can't stop saying Thank You so much for your support all this time and you're right, Engagement within community is the key to have fun on steemit and not to be sceptical to the situation on Crypto right now.

I'm so Grateful that I met you through the PIFC on Steemit. Wish you continued Success and look forward for more great news from you in 2019!

Great to "see" you @cicisaja! Happy to do my small part to support an exemplary Steemian like you!

"Engagement within community is the key to have fun on steemit"

Yes, absolutely. We have many great communities to chose from (too many for me to do justice to participating in them all ...) here on the Steem blockchain. The @pifc community of our "fearless leader" @thedarkhorse is still my personal favorite.

All the best to you and yours @cicisaja for a ...

๐Ÿ’ฅ Happy New Year!! ๐Ÿ’ฅ

Holy moly, since then have you accumulated so much SP!

Looks like you've been a little ahead of me in the race to 60 rep!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for stopping by @crypto.talk. Always nice to "see" you!

Yep, just a little ahead of you. But here is a full-support vote to get you "over the line" first. You deserve it! ๐Ÿ‘

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much man!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Mr. Dolphin! That was a great way to start the new year. ๐Ÿ’ฅ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’ฅ๐ŸŽก๐Ÿ’ฅ

I am amused by the way you track your transactions up with great details. I think that is how a real investor should be. While I on the other end tends to miss what seems to be small items but can aggregate to something big in the long run. You can be a role model to other investors. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thanks again for all your support. May all of those favors return to you in triple fold. ๐Ÿ™†โ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿคž

Thank you for your kind words @macoolette. I appreciate it@

My spreadsheet is the way I do most of my work as an engineer (employed as a Business Systems Analyst). What I am amused by is how a good investor would size this up quickly - buying high and selling low is the path to ruin ... ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now ... Mind you, I haven't sold any yet, so my losses are just "paper losses." But, at this point, it looks too much like too many of my other investments. ๐Ÿ˜ช

We will hope 2019 is a good year for starting to turn that around! ๐Ÿ‘

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought that should be buy low and sell high? ๐Ÿ˜Š I don't really think it is a good time to sell these days. The price continued to decline in the last few months but there is new year to look forward to. Yes, let's hope for good turn around in 2019! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Welcome to the club! I have to update my cost basis but with my next purchase I should also get below the $1 which is something I would have never thought possible when I started. Itโ€™s great to not only see that the middle class is growing but that it is also receiving people that are adding value to the community! Happy New Year!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for stopping by @newageinv!

" Welcome to the club!"

Thank you sir! Just doing my small part to show long-term support for our Steem blockchain.

Personally not wildly excited about some of the โ€œhigh level dust upsโ€ I see going on โ€œin here,โ€ but perhaps that is unavoidable. There are some key โ€œplayersโ€ that need to get their act together. Quickly โ€ฆ

โ€Itโ€™s great to not only see that the middle class is growing but that it is also receiving people that are adding value to the community!โ€

Yes, we can only hope we witness / experience a great new influx of them in 2019. We donโ€™t have all that long to find out โ€ฆ I know you are working tirelessly to help all of them that you can. I really appreciate that! ๐Ÿ‘

Until then, all the best to you and yours @newageinv for a ...

๐Ÿ’ฅ Happy New Year!! ๐Ÿ’ฅ


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared. I appreciate that! ๐Ÿ˜Š

I have been delegating to you for awhile now. Keep up the great work!! ๐Ÿ‘

Congrats on this awesome milestone, @roleerob.

Thank you @zorank! To you and yours ...

๐Ÿ’ฅ Happy New Year!! ๐Ÿ’ฅ

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 161 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Always nice to "see" you @trufflepig! Great to learn I have ended up in your daily truffle bag again.

Thanks for the encouraging word! ๐Ÿ‘

Happy New Year and congratulations to one of my favorite new Dolphins! I'm very happy for you, you deserve it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Thank you @lynncoyle1!

Part of a sort of "middle class" here on our Steem blockchain, I will always be using my "influence" to do my small part to add value to it.

Glad to "see" you back. Looking forward to future engagements! ๐Ÿ˜Š

๐Ÿ’ฅ Happy New Year ๐Ÿ’ฅ

Posted using Partiko Android

But I have more followers hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, you definitely have more followers @crypto.talk! You are internationally famous!!

I am just a lowly redfish, minnow, dolphin! ๐Ÿ˜‰

All the best to you @crypto.talk, for a great New Year! ๐Ÿ‘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61