Paper stop motion animation - I love you

in #stop-motion8 years ago (edited)

I made my first stop-motion animation last week and had an absolute ball – it was such a fun process! I’m officially hooked, and my goal is to be able to make a good quality five-minute claymation for my son’s second birthday in May next year.

I’m starting with simple 2D animations to get a handle on the basics.

This time, I decided to work with paper. Luckily, we hoard anything that’s vaguely useful, and I found some coloured paper tucked away in my office.

This animation was made by going backwards. I started with the final photo, and slowly cut away pieces starting with the flower (this tutorial shows you how to make your paper flowers bloom). Then I cut up the letters, one cut for each letter per photo. Finally, I slowly moved the pieces of cut paper out of the frame.

Taking the photos was time-consuming, maybe 90 minutes, and editing took about 30 minutes in Stop Motion Studio (which I bought for $14.99 on iTunes, but pretty much any editing software should work if you can figure out how to use it).

In my rush to get started, I forgot to change the aspect ratio on my camera to 16:9, so the letters are cut off slightly.

The final result

I surprised my husband with it because he’s an excellent human being and took our son out so I could take photos uninterrupted.

And a gif!

I found out you can make gifs in Stop Motion Studio. This is very exciting for me. I am going to make soooo many gifs.

I'll keep making these stop motion animations and sharing what I learn as I go.

Sort:  

I loved it I will follow your work. [I have included you on my Top5 series magazine](steemit. https://steemit.com/life/@skapaneas/steemit-s-top-5-daily-honorable-mentions-3) of honorable mentions.

I have faith in your work! welcome to

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. I'll be following your work and using the top 5s to find good content.

Lovely animation, nicely made. :)

Thank you! I am really looking forward to learning more techniques and working in 3D soon.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52