Stop Bitching - Grow Apples!

in #steemstem6 years ago

healthy-apple-summer-garden.jpg

Yummy apples - Public Domain

Well, if you are like me you love apples. They are my favorite fruit, especially the green ones. I am fortunate enough to have a fresh supplies of apples in my mother´s garden. And today I will try to convince you to get that, too. In today´s post I will walk you through the process of planting an apple tree and, along the way, will report my findings after reading some journal articles about the health benefits. This is an opinion piece, which has scientific background. In order to be transparent I invite you to check my sources. I will also suggest some futher reading at the end of this post and I hope I can motivate you to do some research yourself. Anyways, let´s get at it.

Step One: Get The Garden Ready And Plant That Tree

It is common knowledge that activity has various health benefits. Gardening means moderate physical activity and does have perceived positive effects on individuals. From personal experience: my grandma is still doing gardening and she is fitter mentally and physically than most people her age. This is an just an illustration. A study has looked at several benefits of community gardens in Southeast Toronto. Growing urban health: Community gardening in South-East Toronto is a study that does not focus on statistics, but personal experiences.

It is interesting to read some of the comments of participants in this study. One of the most extreme ones I found was "It helps you hold onto life" (1). So, while not quantitative in nature, this study shows that people in Southeast Toronto perceived to feel better when gardening. A study by Shoemaker and Park observed body position of 15 elderly gardeners and concluded that gardening brought health benefits as well as risks (lower back pain was a common complaint of the observed gardeners). It is very difficult to find studies that deal with health benefits of gardening, so from here on I will establish, based on the cited literature, that gardening is moderate physical activity - granted, this is mostly true for elderly people, but societies tend to be older on average so I think this is appropriate for this post. Taking a step back, I am now looking at health benefits of physical activity. There are many studies out there focusing on health benefits of long term physical activity. In Long-term health benefits of physical activity – a systematic review of longitudinal studies the researchers analyzed a lot of data and concluded that prolonged physical activity decreased the risk of diseases like coronary heart disease or type 2 diabetes mellitus. Health benefits of physical activity in older patients: a review confirms the findings of the previous study and state an even broader variety of health benefits, including lower mortality, better bone health and reduced risk of certain cancers (breast and colon). It should be noted that this study focused on older people. Well, there are more studies that find correlations between physical activity and health. Studies like Exercise and well-being: a review of mental and physical health benefits associated with physical activity shows that physical activity can improve mental health. Other studies like Health benefits of physical activity: the evidence confirm what I mentioned above. Well the plot thickens and I think we have sufficient scientific evidence (at least for the scope of this post) to confirm the following: "moderate physical activity has various health benefits".
Ok, how does that relate to planting an apple tree? In order to profit from physical activity, you need to continuously do it. You can either plant very many apple trees, or you can build a bigger garden with more plants. Anyways, when you are planting your apple tree you are doing something good for your health.

Step Two: Wait For Them Apples

Granted, this is only a two-step process. This is desirable in science (makes things easier and more effective). Anyways, the probably biggest benefit of planting an apple tree is that you have a basically unlimited supply of fresh apples. Let´s take a look at some of the benefits of eating apples from your apple tree.

Green-Apple-Red-Apples-214148.jpg

Delicious apples - Public Domain

The consumption of fruit has been shown by various studies to have positive health effects. In a very large study - Prospective Study of Fruit and Vegetable Consumption and Risk of Lung Cancer Among Men and Women - it was found that fruit and vegetables can decrease the risk of lung cancer. This decrease was, however, not statistically significant. A very comprehensive review article titled A Comprehensive Review of Apples and Apple Components and Their Relationship to Human Health concluded that there is convincing scientific data that suggests that phytochemicals commonly found in apples has beneficial effects on human health. But what in the world are phytochemicals? Well, they are naturally-produced chemicals. As the name suggests, they are made by plants. In the case of apples, the very common ones are phenoles. This is a very broad group of chemicals. For example, phenolic compounds are not only healthy. Some endocrine disruptive compounds (like estrogen, bisphenol A, etc.) are phenolic compounds.

Phenol-2.svg.png

A phenolic functional
group - Public domain

In apples, the two beneficial phenolic groups are flavonoids and phenolic acids (2). One of the suggested main ways in which these phenoles are beneficial in health is through their antioxidant activity (3). Apples are high in flavonoids (4). A study conducted on Hawaii, Intake of Flavonoids and Lung Cancer, has shown that flavenoids seem to decrease the risk of lung cancer. This has not been the first of such studies. A few years earlier, an article Dietary Flavonoids and the Risk of Lung Cancer and Other Malignant Neoplasms has stated a very similar conclusion. I could go on and cite more and more studies why apples are healthy and which particular phytochemical is responsible for the obersved effect. Rather than doing that, and possible motivating somebody to buy supplements. Here is a review article that talks about health benefits of apples: Apple phytochemicals and their health benefits. I will try to explain why eating an apple is better than consuming equal amounts of phytochemicals separately. It seems very obvious: this compound may do this in your body so eat this compound to achieve this result - and then obviously the more the better. I believe that this is the most common misconception when it comes to health and diet, or even medicine. That is the reason why the supplement industry is continuously growing, even though the scientific evidence shows little to no benefits. But why does the scheme not work? Why does taking an isolated plant compound not prevent all the disease? The missing link: synergistic effects. The beauty of our body´s biochemistry is the complexity. Even though we have studied and (somewhat) understood complex systems like the Krebs Cycle, it is very difficult to predict what the intake of one compound does to the system. Our body is a dynamic system that tries to reach a point of balance, or homeostasis (not equilibrium: that would mean we were dead). Often times taking in compounds in high dosages means either completely messing up the biochemical balance in your body, or just peeing very expensive pee. What has synergism to do with this? Well, a single apple may not have the same amount of vitamin C as a supplement, but it also contains many other compounds like flavenoids. These compounds seem to work together in our body. I would highly recommend the review article by Rui Hai Liu. In this article Liu describes some observations described in the literature. For example does he mention that consumption of β-carotene supplements did not have the same effects as eating green and yellow vegetables and fruit (5).
Ok ok, lets go back to your apple tree. You either waited a few years or bought a tree that could bear fruits right away and now there they are: bright color, shiny in the sun, with a little drop of dew in the early morning. Man I wish I had an apple now. Just imagine picking that apple from your tree and taking a big bite. What do you think? This tastes so good! Or maybe something like this: I love you! One thing you will surely not think about is: So many pesticides! Yes, you are right, if you do not use pesticides, you will most likely not have them on your apple! And pesticides can be an issue. A study in Poland found that over 60% of their apple samples contained pesticides (6).

fruit-930300_960_720.jpg

Foul apple - Public Domain

Well, if we want cheap fruit it need to be mass produced. And nothing will kill an apple monoculture faster than some good old insects and fungi. To prevent their source of income from dying out due to pests, farmers use pesticides. Some farmers use multiple pesticides. Sadly this means synergistic effects. Well, they can be good and bad. Some toxins workd together synergistically to ruin your body. However, because your apple tree is a good distance away from such plantations, it should be safe from insecst and fungi. Thus, you will not need pesticides and you can enjoy your apple without the potential health hazards of pesticides.

Now, let me briefly summarize what we learned today:

  • Moderate activity is good for you (gardening might just be that)
  • Apples contain phytochemicals
  • Phytochemicals may prevent certain diseases (cancer, cardiovascular disease, etc.)
  • It seems to be better to eat whole fruits rather than supplements
  • Growing your own apples will prevent you from having pesticides on your apples

Now you may make out of that what you want. To me this sounds like a very sweet deal - literally. The problem: I am a poor student with no land to plant an apple tree on. However, as soon as I have land, or a garden, I will plant a variety or fruit trees.

Suggested Further Reading

If you have some time at hand I would recommend you reading some of these review articles.

Steemit-big.png

I started working on this post before my several week long hiatus. It was not until today that I found the time to finish it. I also want to give a shoutout to @csusbgeochem1 for his very encouraging words. I had no idea I actually had "fans" and people who really care about my content.

Hopefully I was able to convince you that growing your own fruits is better than just buying it in the store. To me growing food is also somehwat relaxing and, I know this sounds dumb, it makes me feel more like a man. There is something honorable to working the land. Again, I know this sounds funny but I am funky anyways.
A little tip on the side. If you cannot plant an apple tree because you live in an appartment: plant pees. I will start doing that as soon as I moved into my own appartmemt (probably in Newcastle upon Tyne). It is pretty simple and I have done that before. Also PEES ARE REALLY YUMMY!
Anyways, you have probably spent enough time reading my post so I will end it here. Looking forward to your comments. I will try to answer every comment (unless bs comments).

As always,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

There is nothing as good as having it natural, apples grown with pesticides or mineral supplements don't have the full capacity.

First time i hearing of synergistic effects of pesticides with benefiting chemicals in a fruit or vegetable. Although am aware they do have side effects but not aware of the synergistic relationship. Surely need to read it.

Thanks for advocating for nature and gardening (agriculture), their benefits to humans are numerous.
Sadly we can't seem to grow the green apple here in Nigeria, but there seems to one we call local apple which is not as sweet and nutritious as the green apple.

Well done.

Synergistic effects with pesticides means that even though the concentration of the pesticides used may be below harmful levels, the combination of them may cause harmful effects. Like, individually they are harmless, but in combination they can become a problem.
Thank you for your comment! Cheers!

Ooops my fault, i was thinking a relationship between pesticides and chemicals in a plant, fruit or vegetables.
Thanks for the clarification

Well it is my fault if I did not bring across my point very well.... No worries mate. Cheers!

Well the green apples don't grow here.. I guess the land or the climate isn't just favorable for the plant.
I was hoping you would guide us through the planting in a conditioned environment. 😁😁

Haha sorry. I am from Germany and apples here grow fine. But I believe that there are some more robust apple breeds you could get. You could also apply the above to any other plant, I just really like apples :D This post was inspired by some news I read that eating just one apple a day may actually increase the health of mankind. That got me curious. Anyways, thanks for the comment! Cheers!

Thanks @lesshorrible. There are some local breeds here but none is as sweet as having those fresh green apples. They taste much better. We plant some apples here and they do fine too.

Absolutely! To each their own, as they say:D Thanks again. Cheers!

Finally was able to commit time to this one. Thank you for mentioning me, I enjoy what I read in your blog. Nice job on the complete break down of going about gardening. Its ironic, I was just thinking of writing about my spring garden (just planted 2 days ago) ....lol I guess that can be an engagement right...start small if you have no land, pots and a window seal :)

Exactly! There may be problems, but you can always take a step to solve them (even if it is just a small one). The main "hidden message" here is that the only one that can do you right is yourself. Thanks for your support, I really appreciate it. Cheers!

One apples a day... keep the doctor away :)

Our favorite family activity in fall: hand-picking kilos of apples (in a place where pesticides are not used). We can store the fruits for 2-3 months easily and those are the favorite food-break for our kids :)

Very nice! My dad used to make huge amounts of apple wine back in the day. My grandpa had a piece of land and probably like 10-20 apple trees on it and he could not eat them all so my dad made some wine. We still have it, even after 20 years haha. Thanks for the comment! Cheers!

I guess, potentially ice-wine too? I really love ice wine (but this is pricy).

Actually never heard of ice-wine I think. Is that just cool wine? Cheers!

I upvoted you even I have bad memories concerning the apples :)
When I was a kid we were under the sanctions and that means - no import goods (no cocoa, no chocolate, not even CocaCola).

Every time I asked "is there something sweet" I got the same answer: "you have apples". I can't stand them

My mum used to live in the German Democratic Republic or "Eastern Germany" so she told me similar stories. I hope you can overcome your apple trauma and enjoy some one day! :D Cheers!

Hushasha....@lesshorrible .I love every concept in this post. I actually got interested in the phytochemical part of the post. The phytochemicals are plant chemical that have of medicinal purpose.They deal with oxidative stress in the body.They can also scanvage free radicals too. 👍

apples is a great way to stay younger thanks to the fact that it contains a lot antioxidant

I may take shit for taking this stance, but after all the research I did for my posts I want to say that antioxidants are overhyped. Thank you for your comment, though. Cheers!

Great article. Thank you for sharing :) Upvote & Follow'426095_3351218026007_229606719_n.jpg

Thank you for the comment. Cheers!

Hmm, Hey! is it true that company's spay their apples with chemicals to protect and lengthen shelf-life? if its true?

THEN YOUR GOD-DAMN! RIGHT THE ONLY SAFE WAY TO EAT APPLES NOW IS! TO GROW EM YOUR-SELF!

or just peel the skin of the apple first before eating it.

Yes chemicals are used in many aspects of the food industry, thus also with apples. But talking about what is being used and what they may do to us or the environment is a whole other post. Cheers!

The chemicals can actually flow into the fruit through the skin as they might contain pores (might be wrong) , natural is the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43