The Steem Sister Show - Episode 13 // Summertime!

in #steemsistershow6 years ago (edited)


Welcome to the thirteenth episode of the Steem Sister Show!

Your hosts are @coruscate and @maryjaney. We are two sisters using the Steem blockchain to chat about our life experiences and provide a little entertainment value to the Steemit Community.

Topic of this Episode – SUMMERTIME!


We had such a fun time chatting about our favorite season - summer. It is no surprise that food came up quite a bit! We also decided that since the episode was on summertime, we should go film down by the beach! I hope you guys enjoy the calming sound of crashing waves in the background. I promise that we worked extra hard to keep you guys entertained so that it didn't lull you to sleep!

  • Audience question from @jacksonoskele – How do you feel when you are about to experience a new season? (especially summer)
  • What is some of your favorite summer BBQ food?
  • Audience question from @cheekah – What is your favorite summer memory?
  • Are you planning any trips or vacations this summer?
  • Describe your ideal summer day.
  • Audience question from @topfreeser - Do you obtain and preserve fresh vegies in the summer?
  • Are there certain foods you enjoy more in the summer?
  • Have you ever had a bathing suit wardrobe malfunction?
  • Have you ever skinny dipped?

What is the Steem Sister Show All About?


We aim to bring more “non-crypto” related content to the Steem Blockchain. Although there is nothing wrong with this kind of content (@corsucate even posts on crypto related material sometimes) – we want to help create a better onboarding experience for new users. We talk a lot about attracting new users to the platform – but if the trending page is filled with crypto posts and flagging wars, they are likely to lose interest quickly.

We hope that by creating content that is more similar to what they are used to seeing on other social media sites – they will feel more excited about being here and creating content of their own!

How Does It Work?


We pick a different topic every episode, and then throw totally random questions about that topic in a hat and go back and forth. We always have a mix of our own questions and some audience questions. Our rule is that we cannot tell each other our answers before filming! So you guys are getting our raw, unfiltered reactions here.

Every episode we announce the next week’s topic so people can submit questions.

Want to win some SBD??

If we chose to answer your question in the next show… we will send you 2 SBD! Now that’s some easy money.

Next Week’s Topic : The Upside of Friendship


Next week, we are going to do an entire week on friendship! This is obviously a huge topic, and so we are dividing it into two different areas - the upsides and the downsides of friendship. We are now accepting questions for the UPSIDE! Basically - how to build friendships, maintaining close friendships, the benefits of creating bonds with others, what kind of activities we do with our friends etc...

You can probably guess that in the next episode, we will be accepting questions on the DOWNSIDE of friendship. Stay tuned for more details on that in our next episode.

So send us your questions!! Anything on the positive side of friendship is fair game. We have fun coming up with questions, but are always pleasantly surprised by how creative our audience is! Thanks in advance for sending us your questions.

Our "Upside of Friendship" episode will air next Tuesday.

Please support Dtube and stream this video through their service. Here is a YouTube link for those who need it though.

That’s a Wrap!


We hope you enjoyed watching our episode on SUMMERTIME! We are obviosly both super excited about the change in weather and temperature. We've already had a few glimpses of sunshine and some longer days... it's a great feeling!

If you have any thoughts or questions that came up from our summertime episode – feel free to shoot them in the comments below.

Next up, we have our episode on FASHION airing on Friday. Thanks for watching and we’ll see you guys in the next episode!

With Love,

The Steem Sisters

@corsucate and @maryjaney

64D26E0C-D0DD-4530-90FC-934817BD12C6.jpeg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Just comments:

  1. I can’t believe a full episode went by without talking about sushi

  2. What is a Conclusion Squirrel ??

Hahaha right??? I am shocked too! I didn’t think that was possible for us to talk for 20 minutes without sushi coming up. 😆

So at the end, Mary thought that a squirrel was about to jump at us, but was actually a dog running through the beach. LOL I almost cut that out, but I thought it was kind of funny so I kept it in. 😊

No I mean, I LOVE Conclusion Squirrel. I say you name the next episode that!!

hahah that also sounds like a GREAT band name. We might have finally found a name for our little uke duets. lol

I love sushi too! I enjoy sashimi the most. Dipping them into abundant of wasabi to have the bitting sensation in my mouth gives me the kick and satisfaction. Such a popular food but not being mentioned is really rare!

haha i'm glad you appreciate our regular sushi references!! I'm with you... I like a LOT of wasabi!

Glad to hear you guys talk about summer and the food you love in such a relaxing setting! I can't wait to hear you guys talk about friendship.

I'm interested in your background as well. Do you do this full time? I thought I read somewhere in your posts you have a full time job and you do this in your spare time?

So glad to hear you enjoyed this episode! I think we are both really excited for our friendship episodes next week too. :-)

Yes, I do work a full-time job and make content for steemit on the side. This means that I put in a LOT of hours! Haha

I would love for this to eventually be my full-time gig, but i’m not quite ready to make the leap yet. Since earnings on this platform are really volatile, depending on the price of Steem and who votes you, I need to have more of a war chest built up to weather the volatility. :-)

Thanks for asking!

Wow I'm certain you put in a lot of hours! I try as much as possible. Is your performance lacking at your day job?

I feel the same way. My corporate day job pays a lot, so I would have to be really successful on Steemit and the price of Steem would have to be high for me to do so!

Interesting that we are in similar places! As for my job... I still put in a lot of effort when I'm there. Sometimes it's hard though because my heart is elsewhere. ;)

Nawww, you took your sweaters off for the photo... quickest photo eva?

This was a great episode, and while there was a distinct lack of intro harmonizing, I loved the introduction of random Steem Sister beach puppies. I give this episode an A+.

We are so excited for summer, it hasn't rained for like 2 weeks now and that seems like a miracle, we opened our pool and we are beyond pumped! The forest just looks so amazing in the summer light... and we just planted 10 fruit trees... so maybe this time next year will be the refreshingest!

I'm with Lea, save all your trips for the winter... the PNW is just magic for the next few months.... although I am excited about a suitcase of tacos.

The waves were so nice! It might have been loud for your guys, but on video it was just super serene and so nice..... so much relax.

Alright Steem Sisters, my question is:

"Have you ever been surprised when someone has become your friend?"

I've had this so many times, when the most amazing/exciting/accomplished/attractive person around just decides they're going to be my best friend... and I never know why, but it's always super fun and exciting.

You are the KING of great comments!! I appreciate you taking the time to watch our show! Seriously, you are awesome.

You totally caught us... Mary suggested that we take off our sweaters for the photo. It was definitely a QUICK photo! haha

It's nice to have another PNW person on here who gets the idea of staying around for the summer! I feel like we dredge through the long winter so that we can make it to summer! I definitely want to be here for that. ;)

Also, i'm glad you enjoyed the sound of waves in the background! I was really worried that it would be too distracting, so i'm glad to hear that it wasn't!

Thanks for the awesome question for our Upside of Friendship episode, too!! You always come up with the most creative questions. I love it!

I don't know how would you take it but for me when I get to know summer is coming I am like OH God, why again. I hate summer because in my region it is very hot. Today it was 45 degree centigrade. So now you can get an idea why I hate summer. You can't really do anything when you are drowned in sweat and sun is burning everything.

But yeah I like the food in summer. I just love summer season's fruits.

Really appreciate your concern about bringing other content than crypto on dtube, this will help to get the attention of other people and brining more audience to the site.

Keep it up.

ahhh that makes sense! If summer meant inanely hot climates... I wouldn't like it either! Part of why summer is so exciting around here is because we have cold winters.

What are some of your favorite seasonal fruit that you get in your area?

Also, thanks for your support and kind words about our show! I'm happy to hear that you jive with our mission of bringing more non-crypto content to the platform!

Yes, I am very much excited and in support of you for bringing more and diverse content on Dtube.

I just made my first vlog yesterday and plan to make regular video on Dtube. I will be showing my day to day life on Dtube.

Yeah, exactly and then after winter you get to go on beach so that makes perfect sense for you to love summer.
I don't know if you have been to south east Asia, in any case I would love to invite you in Pakistan and host you. Our fruits and vegetables have the perfect taste becuase we have four seasons, so they ripe very well. Try to look for Pakistani or Indian fruits and you would love them.
I particularly love Mangoes, watermelon,Falsa and Jamon.

I'm sure you had a great time, summer is my favorite topic, after lunch lol, as for the new topic I would like to ask a question: as sisters, did you ever feel that a friendship would hurt your sister relationship? have you ever been jealous? Who's the friendlier of the two? who prefer female friends or male friends?
I hope my translator's doing well, good luck.

haha I love that you like talking about summer and food too! Also, thank you for submitting your questions for next week!! We really appreciate you taking the time to write out so many great questions!

You done a great job nice topic discussions. Keep sharing with us ..thanks

Thanks for the positive feedback! I'm glad you are enjoying our show.

Great coordination of sisters seen here, keep it up, and grow up 👍⬆️⬆️⬆️

Thanks for the positive feedback! I’m really glad to hear that you are enjoying our show. :-)

I missed this show so much. Thank God i'm done with my exams now. My question goes thus; If you were going to become a close friend with your partner, please share what would be important for him or her to know. Much love @coruscate and @maryjaney

What do you think about the most crucial thing to have in building a great friendship? And what is your point of view about "take and give" culture with our best friend, is it a must and beneficial? Why and why not.
Thank you girls. You are rock!!!

Thank you for answering my question. This is exciting, i love the way you two relate with each other.
The issue of friendship is one that we all love to talk about. How far can you go for your friend? By that i mean, how much would you sacrifice for a friend, would you sacrifice your life for your friend?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49