Fate of the Lerean Spectre: Part Two – and the 1973 $10 Bahamas Independence commemorative coin

1 R
Skully’s 6.9 0z T Masked Jolly Roger
Find Skully at Metals Mafia
Find Skully on YouTube

Ahoy me Pirate hearties, feast yea eyes on this beauty of a monster coin!

Bahama 10 Dollar Independence 10 July 1973

1
Reverse: The Santa Maria

1
Obverse: Elizabeth II Second Portrait

Coin Details

0.925 sterling silver, 49.7 g or 1.48 oz, 1.4795 oz ASW
50 mm diameter, 3 mm thickness
KM#42 Schon#28
Product of the Franklin mint (FM).
Comes with a Certificate of Authenticity, encapsulated in blister card and a presentation case.
28,000 BU
63,000 proof
91,000 total mintage
Numista’s Link

1
Size comparison with a US Quarter and a 1oz generic bar

R

The Fate of the Lerean Specter - Part Two

W

The old man looked into the fresh faces of these eager young men, he felt compelled to tell them that things may not appear as they seemed to be.
"Cursed am I and forever, The Abbott nor the Archbishop say they can't do anything for me either!" The veteran sailor slid his chair back to the table and dragged his wooden leg back around. The effort almost seemed to exhaust him.

"The Pay Masters, or what they call themselves, we're perhaps the real powers behind the King. I by chance stumbled across their careless small talk among the senior officers of the Specter. Though fighting for King, Country and honor is what chastens many common souls like me and you to loyal service there was no doubt that there be something amiss about the loyalties of Captain Meyer's command. A different purpose."

"We were s'posed to be the best of the best, the secret elite ship of the king and the Admiralty and were paid handsomely for it." He mockingly stared up to the ceiling, "I looked up to our flag and sensed no sacred loyalty from the Captain but only for those that wield the true power behind our puppet King. 'They' were obsessed with power and won't leave things be.
The flag became more an object of deception.

1W

His worn hands tighten around his flagon, "My rich pay and pension only reminded me of my hand in the Devil's work. I survived the butchering, rested in convalescence for several months under the auspices, care and hospitality of the East India Company. After the Specter finally landed at India three Company officials interrogated me and what survivors that have yet succumbed to their madness. I doubted they would believe our witness but surprisingly they took it to heart. Documenting every bloody detail." His body shivered in his struggle to overcome the demons shackled inside his mind. There was no escape from the haunted prison he carried with him.
This time the old man took a large gulp as if to chastens his reserve and dull his pain.

H

"One day I was told that The Specter was dry docked; refitted, repaired, cleaned up. With plenty of fancy talk they said I did the best I could and then they asked me to rejoin the new crew. They said that they valued my training and experience, offered to promote me to Second officer, and offered me a signing bonus of twelve gold Guinea! But as I get aboard her new finished deck, beheld her brand-new masts and sails, untried shiny cannon, and polished brass fixtures. I could still smell the scent of death and see the lingering ghosts of our dead crewmates we had long buried deep in the South China seas and my ears can still hear their cries of agony. When I close my eyes, I can almost hear that cursed Bird of Death, most nights I try to sleep but when a crow appeared on the main mast, my blood curdled as it stared right into my soul with its beady eyes I am convinced once I stayed aboard there will be no escape from the haunted Specter, I had to leave."

“A man that looked like some Banker said she will join a force of four other warships and two companies of Battle-hardened mercenaries.” The old man pulled a hanky from his pocket and wiped the beads of sweat from his brow, "The Specter will be going back the South China Sea, back to that demon and perhaps its doom! I pray it is enough."

He took a deep breath, "Now they pay me to remain silent. Not to tell a soul but I can’t stay silent for you lads."
He stares past the tavern window; the sun had already set. The serving wench lit more lanterns to illuminate the safe confines of the Rusty Gull tavern. Safe, as long as the ale kept flowing.
"'Er ye are ole man." She tops his flagon, "Listen to ‘em lads if ye know what's good for ya!"
"Thank ye Maggie, yer an angel." From his pocket the old man drops a big new silver crown on the table. “And top up the drinks for me young Lads ‘ere too. “
The Wench replied, “Oh getting sentimental with these lads aren’t we, sure I’ll top them all up in a jiffy.”
The old man looked each young cadet in the eyes, “If any o’ yea signed up for the Specter this will be the last I will see of ya!”
"Thank ye ole man, go on wit yer story." Beckoned the burly Cadet as his spectacled pal remained silent and clutched his drink.

H
Captain Meyer

"I was as at the wheel when that woman, no… that thing came aboard. It called our Captain Meyer by name and demanded it's silver we took from the Trader be returned to her.”
"She warned that the lives of our crew are the Captain's head if we did not heed her demands! Most of the men just chuckled. With the utmost confidence in his crew Captain Meyer simply ordered, 'Kill her!' "
"She carried on without a thread of unsettling of her being and replied, 'The souls of ye fine men be on yea head of Meyer, so be it.' "

"Now Big Bobby is a bit bonkers but he's a devil of an expert wit a cutlass, killed thirty-four men himself, he and his apprentice ‘Lucky’ wanted first crack at her. 'It'll just take a second mates!'"
Bobby charged first followed by ‘Lucky’. Wasn't until he was almost upon her that she let fly her sword an' poor Bobby's head was rolling on the deck. Then slashes off ‘Lucky's’ sword arm clean off at the elbow. Never seen anythin' so devilishly fast. We were the hunters, now we were the prey.”

1. My own photos/pictures
W. Wiki Commons
R. Clip art vectors from 123RF
H. Image from Horatio Hornblower by CS Forester TV series 1998-2003

R

Previous Episode

The Fate of the Lerean Specter: Part One – and Jolly Roger pour by Beyeridge Designs
The Fate of the Lerean Specter: Part Two – Bahamas $10 Independence, The Santa Maria

R

“Et lux in tenebris to serve laboro, sum sicarius” “I work in the shadows to serve the Light, I am an Assassin”

Sort:  

Hi kerrislravenhill,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you again @curie , this has made my day alright!

Well Deserved Young PIRATE Cap'n !!!

The sails on the ship are very nice. I wish I could feel the wind blowing the sails.

Posted using Partiko Android

I try to get that experience by running a hammock in the back yard on a breezy day, maybe having a few sheets of laundry for that effect.
The Santa Maria depicted on this coin was likely in its prime condition, when Christopher Columbus was granted this former merchant vessel it was already over 30 years old and second hand at the time and I don't recall him getting to the Bahamas but Haiti as originally documented.

A hammock is a great idea. I'd have to use headphones to block out the highway sounds😄. I didn't know Columbus had a used boat. I guess they last longer than cars but that's still a gamble!

Posted using Partiko Android

Correction, Watling Island of the Bahamas he was there. A gamble yes it was and Queen Isabella didn't want to invest in a 'High risk Low Return' venture too much so she granted him the cheap-undersized-and-not-really-suited-for-exploring-fixer-upper Santa Maria, the Nina, and the (Don't bump it from behind) Pinto from the Spanish used ship lot.

I have also use a water spray bottle to simulate the 'Spray of the Surf!'

Thank you kerrislravenhill! You've just received an upvote of 84% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank yea Sairr! Love t' see th' Jolly flyin 'er colors!

wow those coins, Is that a newly made or an old coin refurbished maybe. Where do you get one?
So you collecting them right?

The coin was originally made and sold by the Franklin mint of Pennsylvania. It is still new and has never been circulated since issued in 1973. The Bahamas periodically commissions the Franklin mint to produce special coins for gifts and souvenirs to commemorate special occasions. I got this coin from an Ebay coin dealer in Canada but it may be found for sale in Coin shows, Coin shops, on Ebay, or maybe a flea market, with only 90,000 minted worldwide it may be expensive. I purchased this for the equivalent of 2300 Indian Rupee without both the original case and certificate of authenticity.

wow its in good form considering it came into existence in 1973. Coins on special occasion sure sounds like an honor.
2300 without certificate sounds like a fair deal. And yes special thanks for converting it into my currency :P :):)

Congratulations @kerrislravenhill! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wow, has it been 15000 upvotes? Now that's some milestone, Thank you @steemitboard

You're welcome @kerrislravenhill
Feel free to support us back, vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and more powerful upvotes from us on your posts with our next notifications.

That Captain Meyer does not seem like a very likeable person. Am I seeing resemblance to a certain modern day political figure? Or is that just coincidental. Does she sport a bad comb-over under the tri-corn hat?

Anyway I think the coin bit at the beginning helped to set the mood of your story rather well. An engaging tale:)

Most of my Pirate writing will follow a long running story line from 1480s to the present, if I get to the present. The picture is just a coincidence, but the Meyer name I deliberately picked as reference to a spawn of Rothschild. Rothschild, The owner of most Central Banks, primary bane and real cause of the world's economic political ills throughout history. As a Canadian I admire this, as you refer to, current political leader's actual accomplishments rather than what media portrays him as. GDP over 3%, bigger tax return for the average Tax payer, Peace between North and South Korea should have landed him a dozen Nobel Peace prizes, actually defeated ISIS, and hasn't so far started a war, etc, etc. in under his three years in office against an obstructionist opposition. Not perfect but far more than the 'Done nothin but make the rich richer' Democrat rubber stamper in eight years previous. So I like Trump much better than our Prime Minister of the Dramatic arts Justin Trudeau.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58805.73
ETH 2642.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45