Trying Something New 🔥 pt2

IMG_1671.JPG

Ok so where did I leave off? Oh that's right... I was in process of melting some silver. So if I didn't mention before I was doing this in my friends garage. I actually let him do the first pour, but I got to do the melting. 😁🔥

IMG_1640.JPG

He threw in two silver art bars that he got at spot. The silver actually started melting quickly. However I learned that keeping it melted was the hard part.

IMG_1641.JPG
IMG_1642.JPG
He tried to use the mold once, but didn't like the way it turned out. Although I thought it was pretty good for a first try. Needles to say he remelted it.

IMG_1638.JPG

But then he just tried to pour some directly on the Metal we were using as a support. He did this one that he decided to keep.
IMG_1645.JPG
IMG_1646.JPG
He also did this random blob.
IMG_1643.JPG
He then just melted everything again and then took it out of the crucible when it cooled. He tried to hit it with a hammer to flatten it or some, lol.
IMG_1652.JPGIMG_1653.JPG

The one that actually turned it nice he stamped the weight on. It came out to 11.7 grams.
IMG_1649.JPG

Like I said in my original post it was a day of learning experiences. Glad I let him go first because I learned from some of his mistakes right out the gate.

I would really like to say that I have a whole new respect for these #metalsmafia guys. Quest, I think I used to much Flux, how do I get that shit out?

Next up you get to see my first pours! 😁

To be concluded....

A8C1E36C-489D-4569-BC43-536316DEC360-3049-000001F7087F8863.png945D3B77-5CAC-4213-89B7-AAC1B4F26264-9673-0000058A83219B1F.pngIMG_0866.JPG

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.38$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

You will get flux on the piece the first couple of pours if you put to much in. Knock the flux off then remelt it will stop when all the extra is out of the dish. Heat the silver up a few minutes after it melts to give yourself play time to pour it. Put the dish on top of your mold to keep the mold warm for pouring. 👍🏻

You rule Mr-v! Thanks for sharing expertise!

I never thought about that but definitely good advice thanks Vulcan!

Very cool bro, Practice makes perfect. I look forward to seeing you progress.✌🏻

The flux should float on top of the molten silver so use the carbon stirring stick to scrape it off the molten metal, the bits on the cold metal you could try hitting with a hammer, a tumbler is best for getting it off tho I think? I don't have one tho :-)

Nice ok I had a feeling about that. I was able to scrape some off while it was still molten with the rod.

Looks like you had some fun.

Can't wait to see what you made

Looks like a truly fun experience!

Looks like fun ;) #TheAlliance Power...

looks like you guys had fun

Very interesting to show the process, it is nice to show when things don't go so well. I shall look forward to your results.

Sweet first melt! I can't wait to try it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77