Overcoming Writer's Block - Tips And Tricks

in #steempress6 years ago

I guess you will have noticed on my latest posts: I'm suffering from writer's block. I've looked up some techniques and compiled a list of tips that could come in useful.

writer's block

Source
 

Writer's Block = Emotional Block


I'm not really suffering from writer's block, it's more of a complete personal block.
I'm still struggling with so many emotions I don't know how to deal with, that it feels like there's a thunderstorm inside me. One time I have hundreds of ideas, but when I start to work them out, I toss them out one by one because I have the feeling they aren't good enough.

That's probably the core of the problem: as I wrote in a couple of my previous post, I often wonder what I'm doing here. I'm just a mediocre writer who has no special expertise. I have a bit of knowledge about a lot, I have a couple of limited skills, but there is nothing I'm particularly good at, or know a lot about.

I guess I'm back to the state of mind in which I was when I wrote:

 

Click the images to open the links
negative effect of steemIt on my self esteem

and

fear of failure

divider

 

Communities

 

Communities are the key here on SteemIt. I assume being part of a community could help me overcome my writer's block, but I feel like I'm taking more and more distance.

Not that I've really been an active, full, worthy member of any community - except maybe @newbieresteemday in the early days, but still..

It's the story of my life: I'm part of everything, but I'm also part of nothing. I don't want to get caught up in expectations and obligations, so I keep my distance.

Sometimes that turns out to be a good thing, but sometimes the feeling that I don't really belong anywhere makes me feel lonely. Then I have to remind myself that I've put myself in this situation by choice.

 

divider

 

Boring


Another thing that probably plays a big part in this situation is that there is absolutely nothing going on my my life. And when I say nothing, I really mean nothing.

I still spend my days in my bedroom, trying not to mess up my back again. Meanwhile, I've used up all the inspiration I could get out of these walls around me.

I know, I know... it's just the state of mind I'm in. There are plenty of things that happened before this awful year I could write about, but when I try, the fear of failure and the fact that I'm still intimidated by all those amazing writers here on SteemIt - who never seem to run out of ideas - gets me no further than a blank screen.

divider


Overcoming Writer's Block


Meanwhile, I've lost focus. This meant to become a post about overcoming writer's block.

I assume everyone has to deal with it at one time or another. Of course, there are always exceptions, lucky them!

I searched the web for tips that could be useful, and while I was at it, I thought I could just as well share them with you, in case you need them sometime in the future.

One of tip I came across became my favorite one instantly:

Don't be perfect
Click the image to enlarge
Source

There's a lot of truth in that. You are your own worst critic, and if you want everything to be perfect before it rolls out, nothing does. Check!

 

Tips


I've visited a lot of different sites, and almost all of them recommended the same tips:

  • Freewrite for a couple of minutes. Write about what's on your mind at that specific moment. This might get your creative juices flowing.
  • Take note of ANY idea that comes to mind during the day. These ideas might or might not come in useful one day. (I have tons of notebooks with ideas, but haven't used a single one yet)
  • Take a break, clear your head and get some physical exercise
  • Listen to music.
  • Create a routine.
I'm not going to list them all here, especially because I found a great infographic with a lot of tips. (Don't forget to read the writer's quotes at the end. They're pricesless!)  

 

How To Overcome Writer

Click image to enlarge
Source
divider


Alternative Ideas


To end this post with, I would like to refer to a post that lists very unique ideas to overcome your writer's block.

Because I know the website, it was no surprise to me that they could offer other ideas than the standard ones.

Here are some examples:

  • Use Google alerts to set up notifications for topics and keywords that are relevant to what you're blogging about. You'll then receive the newest articles related to your topics from which you can draw inspiration. Setting up Google Alerts is piece of cake. Watch me do it in just a few minutes in the video below.
  • Find interesting infographics and use the data-points to jump-start your writing.
  • Use tools like List.ly to find trending lists of topics.
  • Engage in groups on other (social) media sites to find out what people are talking about
Find more unique tips in the article '26 Tips for Overcoming Bloggers Block' On Social Media Examiner.

Social Media Examiner

divider


Will Something Work?


I will be trying several of the mentioned methods, hoping that I can leave behind this awful situation soon.

If I find anything that does the trick, I'll let you know.

 

simplymike

Signature created with The Logo Creator 7

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


 

 

steemitbloggers


Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


 

SmartVote Banner

 

dunite

 

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://mysteemworld.com/overcoming-writers-block-tips-and-tricks/

Sort:  

I learnt about "stop editing yourself" years ago when I start blogging😆 but since writing is my only way to help my self from being a teaser 😊 I never had that writting block's things except when I need to write a report 😂 I hate to write an annual report (thanks God I retired).

Thanks for sharing @simplymike, I think I'm gonna need tips and tricks as a preparation for the rainy days 😊 and wish that you'll get well soon.

You got voted by @votefun thanks to simplymike. To support development, check out Rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by simplymike from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Well look at you got an infographic going on and even a video. All I can say is if this is an example of you with writer's block I shudder to think of what you come out with when you hit flow.

It was the first tip I followed ('Write about it') and suddenly I had a topic and a whole lot of information that could be found.
Lol, I had the same thought earlier today: this posts shows no signsof writer's block.maybe it is focusI'm lacking, or inspiration. Maybe I can find some decent stuff about those topics formy next post:0)

Posted using Partiko Android

Focus is a huge issue with me. Seems like my mind is all over the place. Then too it has been a very off kilter couple of weeks. Hopefully Monday I can settle back into my nice comfy routine.
I do love that writing about writers block got you going.

Great post with lots of info, I need to work on writing more with my photos

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 23.44% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to simplymike! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

Interesting tips sometimes it happen to me, usually i watch a movie or a tv or i clean my house for searching ideas =)

Cleaning the house is so not an option, lol. Then I'd rather sit and stare at a blank screen;0)

Posted using Partiko Android

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31