Pennsif's Progress #607 - 6 months on and the radio waves to everyone

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

In just under an hour I will be on air again with another episode of 'The Alternative Lifestyle Show'.

Amazingly I have now being doing the show for 6 months.

It really has been a super experience. I have learnt so much. I have gained confidence week by week.

And I have spoken to so many fantastic people of steem.

Together with my other show, My Life In 8 Songs, I have calculated that I have now interviewed almost 200 people.

When I joined steemit back last June I never dreamed I would become an internet radio show host. I came to steem to blog about prepping and homesteading and hopefully earn enough to buy a solar PV system.

It was in the first Homesteaders Slack group a month or so after I joined that I met @crazybgadventure, a British ex-pat living in Bulgaria. He had just started a radio show on the newly formed MSP Waves Radio on the new PAL Discord, and he was looking for guests. I volunteered.

Unfortunately CrazyBG had to drop out of the radio show before I got to be on, but a week or two later I heard @ma1neevent was looking for guests for his Wednesday interview show.

That then was my first time live on MSP Waves with Ma1ne and I loved it.

The bug had bitten.

The Alternative Lifestyle Show


It wasn't long before I had my idea for a show for the homesteading and prepping community accepted by @globocop and @r0nd0n at MSP Waves.

The Alternative Lifestyle Show was born and heading for the airwaves.

When I first thought of the show title I had planned to put brackets around the word (Alternative) as I was rapidly discovering that what might be considered alternative in the outside world is pretty much the norm on steem.

Almost by virtue of being on steem you have to have a little bit of alternative in you somewhere.

Thoughout the autumn months I worked through the technicals, got a better internet connection and built up contacts.


I was still lacking confidence but a chance encounter with my two year old self fixed that when @globocop invited me to co-host a series of 1960s music shows he was running.

That was a great soft entry into hosting a radio show.

We did about 10 weeks of that and then by the beginning of the new year I was ready to start my new show.

The Alternative Lifestyle Show debuted on MSP Waves on Friday 26 January with guests @redrica talking about homeschooling, @geordieprepper discussing prepping, @halcyondaze speaking about gardening and @thebugiq chatting about a whole bunch of other things.

@redrica, together with @ravenruis and @awesomehomestead, helped me track down guests for the first couple of months. Gradually that got easier as the show became more well known.

As the weeks rolled on the remit and the appeal of the show broadened. I have had guests talking about homeschooling, unschooling, anti-vaccinations, basic income schemes, veganism, GMOs, cannabis cultivation, dumpster diving... as well as the staples of homesteading and prepping.

The highlights for me have included the Ozarks special with @papa-pepper and a whole bunch of great steem homesteaders from the Ozark Mountains region of the USA. The vegan special with @teamsteem, @krnel, @lenasveganliving, @ura-soul and others was an important show for me as it started me on my (almost complete) journey to becoming a vegan.

Having White Walking Feather @wwf and his Stewards of Terra Mater was an engrossing and very thought generating episode. Liberatarian Party presidential hopeful @adamkokesh was certainly a milestone interview for me. Interviewing @papa-pepper again for his second steem anniversary was another good one.

And tonight I have @surfermarly, @woman-onthe-wing, @jackdub, @makinstuff and @sir-thrive.

The show rolls on ... and I am loving it !

Join me every Friday on MSP Waves, 10pm - midnight UTC.



While you are here check out these to see what else I do :

[ main graphic from pixabay.com // photograph by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

Lovely craft you have @pennsif i must confess, you've really come a long way. Personally i wish you the very best in your career, the sky is your starting point on steemit community. Thanks for putting smile on people's face through your show. And thanks for sharing your previous episodes as well.

A great show @pennsif! I hope you have many more successful years doing the shows!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67