[SteemitMamas Write Along] All about Witnesses

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

When I saw Steemitmamas' Write Along Challenge on Day 7 was 'Telling all about Witnesses', I postponed my writing because it could not be done as freewrite. I have to arrange the thoughts properly before I come up with anything. I knew about witnesses for some time now since I joined Steemit yet I do not fully comprehend 100% their job scope in term of how it looked like.

20180821_013543_0001.png
Designed by using Canva's app

What I know is, without them, the platform would not run well, or would not perform at all. Hence, witnesses are super important persons in Steemit platform and of course the Steem blockchain.


Before we get to understand what a witness does, we need to know the basic of Steem blockchain first.

Steemit.com is a social blogging platform based on decentralized blockchain called Steem.

The Steem blockchain produces blocks in 63-second rounds: 21 blocks per round at a target of 3 seconds between blocks. A decentralized blockchain needs a varied set of people running computers to create these blocks. There are many solutions to this, and Steem uses a consensus mechanism called Delegated Proof of Stake, or DPOS.~@pfunk

A block is any group of transactions, for example posts, votes, transfers, etc. Therefore the role of a witness running a block is crucial for the life of Steem blockchain. Without those blocks running, there will be no blockchain. Without the blockchain, of course there will be no Steem blockchain. And without Steem blockchain, there will be no Steemit platform.

I would like to understand it in my layman term, in order to run a restaurant, the most important part is the kitchen and preparation. Without someone buying and preparing all the ingredients, there will be no food to be cooked and served, hence no restaurant. Yet, for the restaurant to exist, there must be customers who consistently come to support.

In the DPOS system, what are called witnesses in Steem are delegated by the collective Steem Power-weighted witness approval votes from Steem accounts/users. There is a limit of thirty active witness votes that any account can make to prevent abuse, but these votes can be added or removed at any time. The top 20 witness accounts with the most witness votes are delegated to produce a block every round. A 21st position is shared by the backup witnesses, who are scheduled proportionally to the amount of stake-weighted community approval they have.

Therefore it is important as Steemit users to vote for witnesses. You can vote your witnesses here at https://steemit.com/~witnesses. Each Steemit users has maximum 30 votes to vote for your preferred witnesses. At the site, you can even read up the details of each witness at witness thread just beside the name.

As much as we need witnesses to run the Steem blockchain and Steemit platform, they also need our support by voting for them. So, if you haven't voted any, please do so.

U5drW1QHZ3JTKRHhU1ViMb4nrGFf4qr_1680x8400.png

My Witnesses (in no particular order, just to list a handful out of the 30 witnesses I voted)

@bitrocker2020

He is the reason I know there is such thing called witness. I joined @teammalaysia right after I joined Steemit and I was told he is the big brother that takes care of the growth of Team Malaysia. Indeed, he has worked very hard for the team as well as the future of Steem and Steemit. Definitely worth every votes for his as witness. I started off setting him as proxy for witnesses before I researched more on witnesses and made my own 30 choices of vote. @bitrocker2020 definitely is rocking the team and the platform.

@good-karma

@good-karma or known as Ferus is famous for his great development of eSteem app. Once you know how many votes he has casted to those who use eSteem app to post, you will know how generous he is. He is loved by many due to his humble personality and generous soul. All he wants to see is the growth of Steem by growing the communities. His dedication is remarkable. Also, eSteem is an awesome application that everyone should give it a try. Moreover, you will receive random upvotes from him and his curation trail. Nothing to lose. Only gain. I would say, he is definitely worth to be voted.

@roelandp


Another great witness whom we must vote, always on the look out to support communities, minnows and projects. And super generous who always spread out his votes to encourage users on the platform. He is also the main organiser who organises SteemFest and we all know SteemFest3 is coming, so I am pretty sure he is busy now with it plus he also has his own sweet family to take care. Just recently, about 4 months ago, he created https://solicitingpower.com - a gallery of projects worth supporting by delegating to them. @roelandp definitely has added a lot of value to Steem.

@ocd-witness

I was thrilled when I found out about @ocd who curates awesome content. They define themselves as Curation Guild for undervalued, quality posts by newcomers. Awesome, isn't it? As newcomer, when my article was picked by @ocd, it really made my day. They help newcomer to continue to strive for excellence and never give up. Definitely a-must-vote!

@curie

Similar to @ocd, @curie seeks to discover exceptional content and give you a real good upvotes. Every hard work you put into exceptional content worths it all once @curie spotted you. It is amazing how content creators' spirit are being lifted up because they see value in creating exceptional content.

@aggroed

I heard about @aggroed few days after I joined Steemit due to Peace, Abundance and Liberty discord. Then I discovered Minnow Support Project which is a Witness Project runs by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @someguy123, @neoxian, @followbtcnews, and @netuoso. The goal is to see the growth of Steemit by supporting minnows. One word - fabulous!

@qurator

Besides being curator for quality content, @qurator also support its members with daily upvotes, as well as hosting various contests like Tasty Tuesday, Toss Up Thursday and Photo Friday to encourage engagement of members. Not only that, @qurator helps its members to shine by promoting them via Shining Qurite or Shooting Star. Awesome Posum!

@steemgigs

Is a witness run by @surpassinggoogle, known as Sir Terry, yet another man who is loved by many because he first loves many. I have never failed to bump into people talking about how caring he is towards the people. Because of him and his projects like #ulog, #untalented, #teardrop, many users are being supported and thus, not giving up on this platform.

@pfunk

Another one who is always supporting communities, helping out projects and contents with generosity. He keeps the platform by just doing that. I have heard many talking about him as an awesome person, so do vote for him.

@arcange

I stumbled upon his comments many times on different post warning us about phishing comments and that is how I know he is working every hard to solve this problem in the platform. He is a great help on account recovery and dealing with phishing. Oh how I like his work.

@mahdiyari

The one who develops steemauto.com which helps us in autovoting a curation trail, fanbase, comment and even auto claim our rewards. I super love steemauto and am fully utilizing it so I won't miss voting users or trails I want to support.

@enginewitty

The one behind The Alliance, one who is known to lay down alot for the community as well as various project. Heard so much about him being a real nice person, in and out.

@kevinwong

Another big brother in @teammalaysia who is highly respected by many. I always thought he is a witness ever since he joined Steemit, even typed out his name to vote him as witness earlier on to realise I could not find him in the list. He has all the requirement to be one and recently when he became a witness, I was leaping in joy.

@thekitchenfairy

There is a saying in my culture that woman who excels in the kitchen and at the living hall, carried herself well socially and doing great works is hard to be found. But I found her in @steemitmamas and discovered she is a witness. Without hesitation, my vote goes to her.

@patrice

She is another great woman whom is highly favourable by many. She is also part of @steemcleaners and doing alot to sustain the platform

@c0ff33a

I always noticed his thoughtful comment which comes with a portrait of himself. Whenever you read his comment, all the blues will be gone in no time. He helps alot via his comments by encouraging and motivating users. That way, people will steem on happily because of his thoughtful comment. A really nice man. Check him out and give him your vote. Recently, he has announced joining witnesses with @derangedvisions in his post here.. I know @derangedvisions via his wife @faitherz33. Since both are great men, definitely this witness team deserves our vote.

@steempress

By @howo and @fredrikaa with their main development the SteemPress plugin which enables other blogs in other website to be integrated into Steemit platform. They have great vision to promote Steem globally by reaching to Bloggers from various website, start from WordPress. Once I know they become witness, I immediately casted my vote for them. Amazing and great vision and roadmap.


Besides witnesses I mentioned above, there are many awesome witnesses who really work hard day in and day out for Steem. Do check them out. How I wish I have 50 votes to cast. But for now 30 votes. You may start to fully utilise your 30 votes. (or else I really secretly wish you can donate your vote to me so that I have extra votes to cast)


Steemit Bloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png

81z0785jyr.png

IMG_20180813_212719.png

Steemit is a blogging and social networking website that uses its Steem blockchain-based rewards platform for publishers. Every content creators get rewarded with Steem cryptocurrency (which is tradeable) when you post, discover and comment on contents.

Amazingly, whatever I blog on WordPress also exists in Steemit.com thanks to @steempress who created SteemPress plugin to integrate WordPress' blog into Steemit.com. That way, I am reaching out to more audience just with one blog. Interested to explore new platform which rewards you? Create an account at Steemit.com and start earning your rewards. Don't forget to download SteemPress plugin here at https://wordpress.org/plugins/steempress/ to enjoy the benefits of having your contents appear at two platforms simultaneously. Check out this fantastic plugin now!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://iamjadeline.vornix.blog/2018/08/21/steemitmamas-write-along-all-about-witnesses/

Sort:  

Thanks for the post, iamjadeline.

This bot runs through hundreds of posts per day selecting a small percentage of posts that have exceptional positivity.

Your post has been selected and upvoted because it has a high concentration of positive words that give feel-good vibes. Thank you for creating content that focuses on the bright side.

Your post has also been entered to be included in a daily roundup of positive posts.Please comment 'yes' or 'no' if you feel that my bot is correct in its judgement of this post. Your comments will be used to determine if this article belongs in the curated list. Over time, your feedback will be used to improve the judgement of this bot

I shall say 'yes' haha

U vote for witness with a reason while other people have no reason why they vote the witness. I just vote a few so far for example "steempress". i upvote @steempress (@steempres-io) as witness because they make me active on steemit while I dont need to leave my wordpress. It means I build my steemit and wordpress account at the same time. It more interesting when they give us an upvote which it really helps us to build our steemit account.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. @steempress deserves our vote. 😊 And yes when they upvote us it gives us the boost to steem on. Thank you @coretan.aksara for dropping by. :)

I agree with you @iamjadeline. @steempress deserves our vote for witness.

Posted using Partiko Android

<3<3<3<3

Terimakasih for the very sweet shout out!!!

You are welcome @thekitchenfairy. Because you deserve it. ❤️

I love how elaborate your post is on witnesses! I'm glad to learn of some witnesses on your list which aren't on mine! So @derangedvisions is now a witness too?

@derangedvisions is a witness, team with @c0ff33a under the name @c0ff33a. You can read more of his update on the teaming up. Very interesting their tasks as witnesses.

I did thoroughly researched once when I wanted vote my own witnesses instead of using proxy. There are few more I wanted to write about but time do not allow. 😜

Yeah, this post looks like it took A LOT of time. Definitely different than a freewrite.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 229 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you very much for not only the Witness vote, but also the wonderful description of me as well - that is so very kind. I try my best to leave comments whenever I can on as many posts as possible - people like a comment on their work - it means something to know people looked at it and enjoyed it - especially when I see so many people working so very hard to create incredible content.

@derangedvisions is doing so much for community as well, his competitions have incredible prizes and really do bring people together. With our combined efforts we are spreading the Witness rewards as far as we can - and hopefully the community will continue to support us both in doing that.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I see you are top 100 now! Congratulations. Just added you to my list of witnesses.

Yes, and thank you very much that is a big help to us both. We are trying really hard to give as much back as we can - competitions, upvoting, sharing and commenting and also are weekly raffle to win SteemBasicIncomeShares.

Thank you @c0ff33a for great job and dedication to the platform together with @derangedvisions. You both definitely deserve our vote 😉

WOW! Thank you for this post!

There is a lot of valuable information regarding witnesses!

I added a couple of your witnesses to the list.

Great! There are such great people and do so many things behind the scene 🙂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alexdory from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, I am waiting for the Fundition link you asked in Fundition help for.
To bad you used up all of your witness nodes, my community had a nice witness called ro-witness, on position 83, which is used to help the community :D
Helpful that you raised some awareness into that. Keep supporting them and don't support the ones who don't do anything. We don't need rewards stockpiling somewhere but we need a liquidity and the ability to actually distribute the wealth to people needing it.
Cheers, and give me that Fundition link :D

Hi @alexdory. So glad to see you here. Oh yes I haven't really have the time to write it out for fundition. How have you been?

Thank you for letting me know on ro-witness. Will check it out😊

When I have done with the fundition post I will give you the link. Cheers :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66