Steemprentice Mentoring Initiative Report 9/13/2016 - New FAQ and Tip Sheet, Updated Statistics.

in #steemprentice8 years ago


Steemprentice Mentoring Initiative Report 9/13/2016


Steemprentice has been active for about a week now and is running smoothly. The #steemprentice channel in steemit.chat now has 71 members and we've been able to track at least 18 unique people that have recieved some form of help on topics including writing style, wording (especially for non-native English speakers,) topic choices, headline and thumbnail image selection, tag selection, and networking suggestions.

Steemprentice Spreadsheet


I am very proud to annouce that the Steemprentice FAQ and Tips has also been built up (looking at it as a never ending work in progress.) The document can recieve comments so feel free to mention if something should be changed and/or added. [Thank you to @pfunk for the majority of the Do's and Dont's section.]

Steemprentice FAQ and TIPS


I'm excited that at least 6 people who have received help have gotten payouts higher than they had been getting prior to joining Steemprentice. Personally I give the credit on these 'wins' to the authors themselves. Regardless of payout their posts have improved on multiple levels in just the last week. A couple days ago @zionuziriel received the first 2 SD progress award from Steemprentice for showing marked progress in her posts but is yet to have that one that 'pops.'

We've had some member put out their own posts on the group that is greatly appreciated. The most recent I've seen is the Steemprentice Spotlight by @virtualgrowth who has also worked up a logo for the group.

Right now our biggest limitation is exposure for the group. If you run across new users to Steemit or those that seem frustrated, please direct them to the #steemprentice channel in steemit.chat. Many don't know that they have an easy place to go for help. We have users in differing time zones so the channel can be monitored frequently. I've still got 8 more finders fee awards available and have been able to give out 2 finders fee awards (1 SD each) to @andrew0 and @zionuziriel for bringing new people in need of some help into the group.

I wanted to give a Massive thanks to other active mentors; @kryptik, @gonzo, @ines-f, @justtryme90, @virtualgrowth, @jtstreetman and @ziogio. This would never be happening without all the groups efforts. (Sorry if I've missed anyone, just throw something at me in the chat room. Lol)

In closing, when you feel like your not making it, or jealous of others successes...

Don't get angry...get MOTIVATED!

Keep Smiling and Steem On! :D


Images:
Original Image Mentor Source

Sort:  

Love all the initiatives we have going on right now. #steemprentice is one that will do so much towards retention and user experience not only for steemit.com but the entire STEEM ecosystem. Thank you for all that you do!

Ty! Even though it's been time consuming the gratification is off the charts. Huge shout out to all the members because I'd never had pulled this off alone!

Ty so much for what you guys in rhw do and your support for this project!

Great job, hope I will be able to bring more newbies in the future!

Having a FAQ is great to avoid repeating to the new people always the same things again and again :D

Thank you! And I very much appreciate you helping to find people needing a little help. Or really anybody looking for feedback with that being a rather rare commodity these days.

Exactly! The FAQ will make like a lot easier on the mentors. Next is organizing more common tips, that we find the group giving on a regular basis. :)

You're welcome!
I was just reading the FAQ and it's a great tool already!
Wish I had it when I started :)

I overwhelmed with your post :) Thanks a lot @sykochica for giving me a reward. I was so happy and lucky that I am part of this channel. Thanks for being there and for being my mentor.

Great post! 71 members in one week is not bad at all. We can do it! :)

Thank you @ziogio!
I've been loving the response. This was something that's been needed for a little while and so many veteran users have joined in to make it an awesome first week. It's been great seeing you do some mentor work in there as well! :D

Work like this really makes a difference. It brings new people on board and keeps others from drifting away.

Thank you and that is definitely the goal! The other bonus is that it gives no excuse to plagiarise when the needed tools are readily available with any help they might need.

Those that work can very likely succeed. Those who are lazy...well are lazy. Lol

In the FAQ, I like the quote "You're not going to understand it all and that is just fine." I think that's something to repeat over and over, to new people and to myself, as Steemit evolves. There will be a lot of experimentation and testing (for good and not) of the limits of the system.

Thank you!
It's so easy to get overwhelmed, especially with as complex a system Steemit is. The upside though is that we don't have to know how it all works to get the ball rolling as content creators. We just post stuff up and if it earns money, the next step of deciding what to do with the earnings is fun! That's the beauty behind the setup.

Here's a few great tips on what to do with earnings:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@piedpiper/so-you-just-earned-your-first-steem-dollars-now-what

That's a healthy perspective. It does help me to think how I can create something that will have value, even outside of Steemit, too.

Everybody has value! It's really just a matter of being able to find a place to apply it and being willing. :)

Long live the Optimists! :D

I like your last line. : ) I think the statistics show that pessimists live longer, but I'd rather be optimistic, lol. I am a gardener, so I'm an optimist by nature -- at least I will eat well!
Long live the Optimists!

Glad to hear it's going so well. keep up the great work and thanks for the tips.

Thanks for the mention, @sykochica. Keep up the awesome work!

Very cool. I dunno if y'all got this idea from my post a few weeks ago, if it was already in the works, or came up with it on your own. Just very glad to see it happening.

Hehe, there's a chance I had seen it. There was a huge wave of 'frustrated' type posts that went around. I've been working with a few people one on one for a couple weeks but couldn't really taken on more, hence the launch of the group. :)

Regardless of whales, this at least makes better writers, marketers and networkers :)
Feel free to join us, it's no obligation...can just pop in if/when you feel like offering help

Thanks for all your help and the logo! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53