So You Just Earned Your First Steem Dollars... Now What?

in #steemit8 years ago


A common question I get from newcomers is in regards to the first earnings that appear in their wallet. How do I spend this? Why are there three different kinds of "steem" listed here and what the heck are they? This is a quick, basic explanation to get you rolling confidently in the right direction.


Sort:  

Such a great thing to explain. I powered up once and then started doubting myself. It's good to hear a concrete answer on how this whole thing works :) i havnt yet cashed out anything but i think you're right, its smarter to do very first.

Always useful information for newcomers, keep up the good work.

Thanks. Looks like I've pretty much just turned into a Wal-Mart greeter. lol

Well, lately you are pretty much becoming the voice and face of Steemit.

Still confused.

Note that when he says "voting power" what he's referring to is your upvote power. The more steem power you have, the more your upvote is worth.

Downvotes too! It's nice to be able to stamp out trolls with a single stroke :)

I have seen @berniesanders stomp out a 100 upvotes in one go. ;)

lol That's so epic.

@vapekings14 - That would definitely be unfortunate for those involved, but we can't prevent people from being children in here and ruining their own experience and investment. It seems this place may take a bit of a transition period for people to shed the old mentality of the Fisher Price brand networks such as Reddit or Facebook. I say Fisher Price because those places are toys for children to play with. Now that this is here, we can say a place like Steemit is where the adults go. And you can be an adult (in the mind) at any age you choose. This just ain't the place to pitch fits and throw flame wars. People will figure that out on their own.

still we have to be careful if some people have personal problems with each other they shouldn't take it out on steemit down voting each other.

#bots auto flagging you? Well voting power is calculated by SteemPower / votes per day and flags count as votes, SteemPower is non transferable. This means if you comment every 20 seconds which is perfectly within steemit rules all that steempower evil whales put on those attack bots is quickly becoming worthless, I know the same bots are flagging all of us minnows so if you are being auto flagged pick a thread and reply every 20 seconds for a few days use your own thread if you dont want to spam anyone. I picked @neoxian and @pfunk to spam because they were frivolously flagging me even before the bots, you could even automate your account to do it. bots fighting bots! If we all fight back against the evil auto flag bots not only will we win but our SteemPower will have effectively more power than before. I love Steemit. I hate whomever sicked their downvote bots on me.

Point taken!!

Dunno why @soupper1 didn't like this, but it's not spam, so I gave it a 10% upvote to get you back out of the red. :)

Thank you for the upvote, I'm being stalked by @soupper1!!!

voting power is actually a measure of your votes. If you vote too frequently the percentage will go down and which mean your next votes will be worth less then before. Overtime if you wait by not voting the voting power will go back up.

That is true, but my statement is correct nevertheless. I figured I'd not overload the new folks with the details just yet. :)

An excellent point, technically "voting power" is something else.

I think what @piedpiper was referring to is voting influence based on Steem Power. Colloquially, "voting power" makes sense. I believe technically it's called "Round Shares".

As means throwing a lot?

Do upvoting give the voter any steem power or lose any steem power? Or does it only affect the post?

nice info..thanks mate

This is a question in general, but why a video and not the written word? Is it faster? Do you write out a script for it or speak off the cuff? Do you have good video recording equipment?

For me, I am so rarely somewhere I can watch a video -- usually at work, or on my phone, it's a hassle and less efficient. But it's obviously a thing, a way to post, just one I don't totally get. Just curious, thanks.

There are already a bazillion written guides about this stuff but in my experience running an online business, most casual users hate reading a lot of technical text... and there weren't any good videos for newcommers so I just decided to step in and meet that demand. I keep my recording gear set up at all times so it's easy to just press the magic button and begin. I never write it out beforehand because I don't have a teleprompter and I have to be able to look into the lens while speaking.

Personally, I prefer reading written text, since I can read fairly quickly. But I agree, there are probably some people who would rather watch a short video. This one does seem to rather well done.

well, now that you have SBD - you can dump them to me on Bittrex. I am almost alone in the bid-book.

Did I hear a thank you? :D

Great post... Thanks, namaste :)

@piedpiper

I won't worry about the SD just yet.
Already make $3sd , I am waiting for more.
Convert them all to Steem power 👍👍👍🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀 To da moon

Great video..

Absolutely spot on. I made a simple flowchart for the very same thing a while ago, but it's always nicer to see a detailed yet easy explanation in video form. :)

Steem Power Up for the win!

PS: Excuse the shameless plug :) https://steemit.com/steemit/@liberosist/not-sure-what-to-do-with-your-steem-dollars-follow-this-simple-flowchart

Different people prefer different formats. The more we have, the better. :)

Great stuff dude. As always. I watch all your vids. Love 'em. Gave you a shout out in my latest post for being a top contributor to Steemit. Thank you for your hard work!

edit: some dude below me said the exact same thing as me and I didn't even know. trippin'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55