Cavite Philippines Meetup Caravan Experience

in #steemph7 years ago

1.JPG

After almost a month of planning, numerous updates thru discord, talking to people, inviting and finding the venue for the Meetup Caravan in Cavite. March 10 finally arrived the day that we have been waiting for. The Location Cafe Moraco in Kawit, Cavite in which you could read about here

Meet Up Caravan Steemit Cavite Update


3.JPG

We planned to come in a bit earlier as we wanted to help assist @steemitph and @dandalion set up for the event. Unfortunately we got caught up in a little traffic along the way which is a bit out of the ordinary in our location. Somehow we arrived just in time and saw Red and @dandalion parking their car on the side of the restaurant. We greeted them with a smile and gave Red a warm handshake and I knew handshakes goes a very long way. Steemians who we only knew by usernames are finally here and traveled 75 km just to meet us, share their experiences and tell us more about about the platform.


5.JPG

I came with my whole family @mhel @bearkid and @leviathan101 as we do everything together as a family. I wanted the kids to sit and listen as I want them to start early in this world of blogging and steem.



Also a special mention to one of my best buddy at work @kofspades who was busy checking his account as we waited for the others to arrive. My other best buddy @beatenegg was on his way with his wife Jonah. It is pretty amazing how my buddies also exerted effort to invite interested steemians and non steemians to join our meet up.


7.JPG

Here is @bearkid my lovely daughter together with @steemitph and @dandalion. We have a series that we release every Friday called Bear Kid Series. If you want to know about the bear outfit and read about our adventures feel free to check our latest episode.
Bear Kid Series Ep. 15 - Beach Day

If you want to know how the series was born please do give us a visit
Meet Bear Kid


After a while the people were arriving and the empty seats were being filled up. It feels so good and I appreciate all of the people who came to join our event. I recall when I was inviting friends to attend after giving them a brief introduction about Steemit. They were a bit hesitant and had questions like, "Earning money from blogging? What is the catch? There is always a catch." I keep telling them, "There is no catch, you get to eat for free and know about probably the most awesome thing that happened on the internet in this generation." They give me a puzzled look, "Why are they organizing an event?" I simply told them, "There are still a lot of people in this world who are selfless and willing to share an amazing gift to the community."


Red started the program and he got to the part about the basics of cashing out with coins.ph. Last year we really did not know anyone in the community and we had to find out on our own how cashing out works and about coins.ph. With all the questions from non steemians this is the perfect place to get them some answers all in one shot.


10.JPG

Red also discussed about the blockchain and how it works. Also an introduction to @sndbox and @utopian-io. I wish we had more time to get into more details about sndbox and mentorship which I just thought about when we got home.

In my 8 months here in Steemit I held on and consistently posted every single day. There are good days and bad days especially lately. When you feel like you have lost support and no one appreciates your content anymore. I also found out a few weeks ago when I started using busy.org that I am a plankton which is like almost close to a bacteria. I always thought I was a minnow but...........No I'm a plankton. Can't help to think about it but I always think about what @surpassinggoogle says to everyone "You are a whale to me."

As Red and @dandalion continued to discussed they got to the part of the importance of Powering Up and just think about if we had a lot of Dolphins in here in the Philippines we would be independent to support our community. In return give much more back significantly not only in our country but to everyone in need. In the perfect world I would love to think that there are no nations here and we are all just citizens in this platform that's why we are called Steemians.

It brings me much joy to see the people that we have invited shows so much interest. I am glad @bndr1021 brought along his wife who is seriously taking notes which very much amused me. Something that we only did back in college days. Here is a mother showing much interest and asking questions. It is important that we have more couples supporting and motivating each other.


Getting everyone involved in the family brings you to a whole new level of fun. Especially when we do brainstorming at the dinner table about content. I still get surprised sometimes that I am discussing about a post that got a @curie curation or a post that got a @bayanihan upvote with my daughter. Unlike before we never really talked about anything other than the daily rituals that we do. Seems like our family dinner conversations has changed to a whole new level.
This brings us to another topic which Red and @dandalion discussed which is about finding your niche and establishing what you can be known for. Doing so will lead you to your expertise and you can have multiple niches and not just stick to one. For me I find photography, culture and telling stories very enjoyable and I try to focus on those. I even merged two niches together with very interesting results.


14.JPG

Then Red showed this slide and questions filled my head.

"Are we ready?"
"Can we do it? There are still very few of us here in Cavite."
"I'm just a plankton with low SP"
"I'm hungry. Should I wait for the program to finish or steal a bite right now."

All these questions came into my head. But we need to start doing something right now along with my fellow Steemians here in Cavite. Then arrived @luvabi almost at the final leg of the program.

I said to myself "Who is she? Wait she looks familiar.
It happens that @luvabi is also from Cavite we had a little chat about the core and also about starting our own hub. To send our proposal whenever we are ready. It was like a breath of fresh air hearing that we have a lot of help and support. Hoping we could have more time to discuss about it very soon.


As a finale we had a special performance from @okaereyes with her boyfriend who I hope would be joining us soon as well. It was an awesome performance and you would be seeing the full performance to be posted by her soon.


This meetup is a success in my book. New friends, new things learned, new goals and looking towards a bright future for our community. We thank you @steemitph and @dandalion for going out of you way to be with us and thank you for bridging @steemph together. This is not the last meetup here but only just the beginning.

17.JPG

Before we end today I would like to show you the ref magnets that you gave us as souvenirs. It sticks on our refrigerator which was paid by SBD. If you want to read about our old refrigerator story feel free to visit
Achievement Unlocked Bought New Refrigerator with SBD

This is a constant reminder for us to post and blog everyday as life gets better and dreams do come true. Steem On!

18.JPG


Please vote for @steemgigs as witness by going to this link witness
or
If you would prefer have @surpassinggoogle as a voting proxy to choose for you.

Give him a follow to witness an extraordinary person in this platform.

Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness

Follow @bayanihan where the impossible becomes possible thru unity

and have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines.

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

Wow what a great meeting! And you are a whale for me as well! I always love to read your stories and see your pictures! A perfect combination between joy and life!

Thank you very much. It was an amazing experience meeting other steemians face to face.

We had so much fun Sir @watersnake101! Your effort to bring us together in this successful event was really highly appreciated 😊 Let's Get SteemPH.Cavite rock the steemit world! Whatever you're planning to do, know that me, along with my friends in Cavite, will be here to support you all the way!

I am glad to meet you. Thanks for your support. We are all in this together. I sent you a msg.

Same here Sir. I admire how your whole family bonds in steemit. 😊

I got your message. Thank you for trusting me Sir 😊

We will have some updates within the week. Will keep you in the loop.

na eexcite na ako tuloy sa aming meet-up!!

Will look forward to your meetup bro.

Good job, rai!

Thanks hope to be seeing more post from you 😁

Good job my friend!!! And again, thank you!

We did it bro we will talk dor more plans ahead.

Looking forward to it!!!

Hooray!! Thank you for this event kuya and I’ll be posting soon .. 😊

Thank you very much for your amazing performance. Show the world what you can do.

This is so inspiring and I'm so envious that you have this marvelous group of people to learn from and network with!

I am a person who doesn't normally go to meetups but this one was different. I was pretty excited collaborating and looking for a venue. Meeting fellow steemians in person was refreshing.

It sounds like it went well! I am glad you were not disappointed!

sayang di ko alam na may ganito.. taga Cavite din ako (Dasma).

Keep in touch bro we have future plans for Cavite. Anna is also from dasma.

Wow your magnets are personalized???
Cool stuff!

Then arrived @luvabi almost at the final leg of the program.

That's an understatement haha but I'm so happy I got to meet all of you even if it was in a rush. We're really excited about Cavite!!!

I tried to make it sound a little discreet lol. The magnets are awesome all thanks to @dandalion. In regards to our hub it is serious responsibility we are doing careful planning and send you the details within the week. Thanks 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73