Achievement Unlocked Bought New Refrigerator with SBD

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians. I would just like to share this milestone. I have been a Steemian for 153 days and counting. I hardly didn't even notice that I have been around for 5 months now. I have been enjoying myself posting and meeting new people. I have been hanging on some few crypto currencies for the past few years with no luck or success. I learned about Steem accidentally by researching for promising crypto. I can't remember which site it was but Steem was on the list. I also I used to exchange some of my Doge for another currency and again I found Steem on the list. I finally researched about it which brought me to Steemit. I was fascinated right away mixing social network, posting and crypto currency is pure genius. I wanted in right away so I registered right then and there. Then there was the wait and had to wait for more than a week before I got confirmed. Finally I got in and started posting and man it was hard. Though some it seems to be easy getting noticed right away from the start. I felt I was crawling and wanted to give up. Still I kept going and never gave up being discovered or not I was enjoying myself. I was able to revive my passion of photography and writing which I am continuously improving. Got noticed in some challenges and contests I was doing what I love. Got discovered by @Curie twice which put me on trending for a while. Good days or bad day I didn't care I loved what I was doing.

I didn't care about the payout and thought that one Steem or SBD equals to $1 and never bothered to check the market. Just a few days ago I read a post about SBD rising to $2. Didn't pay attention and kept doing my usual posts, comments and upvotes. Then the following day seems that the community was going crazy about SBD. I had to check what was the fuzz about and man I was stunned that it has risen to $5 in usd exchange rate. Talked to my wife about it and we had a couple of SBD and she wanted to cash out some to buy a new refrigerator.

P1060649.JPG

This is our old refrigerator. Looks disgusting which is older than my daughter and had it since I was in college. Money here is not easy and raising two kids you need to prioritize your spending wisely. It's not that we can't buy one since the refrigerator has been working fine and never broke down we never bothered to replace it. We could just use the money for something else in priority. I have seem Steemians purchasing Mac Books, cars and other stuff which I was blown away and totally amazed. With Steemit we were able to buy a new refrigerator. It may not be much but to us it is a big thing.

P1060629.JPG

P1060632.JPG

Here is what we got a 7.6 cubic ft Panasonic inverter refrigerator. I would say this is a cool change lower cost in electricity. When we bought it in one of my dogs just sat there for a couple of minutes and was just staring at it. I guess I was also doing that along with my son.

P1060642.JPG

Another challenge we had is how can we cash out some of our SBD. My wife @mhel sent me some of her SBD so we could combine it and just exchange in one go. At this time the value soared up to $12 and we felt we were seeing things. We had to do the exchange as soon as possible. I had no idea where to start so I had to do a little research. Then came to mind about @blocktrades which is the most popular exchange and with a massive upvote lol. I was confident and went thru with the exchange. I waited for a couple of minutes for the bitcoin transfer which took awhile and got a little worried. I learned that it was normal as the block chain was a little bit slow for bitcoin.

P1060638.JPG

Finally it went thru and the next challenge was getting it to our local currency and cashing out. Also I noticed that the bitcoin exchange was going up and down which was a significant amount. We had to wait to convert it as soon as it got a little higher to get the most out of it. Again did a little research and found a local exchange app which can transfer to a local money transfer to cash out. I was astonished that we had enough to make a purchase and as a bonus we had a little extra to take the kids out.

P1060639.JPG

Here is the happy Steemian with his new refrigerator. My kid could not believe how we were able to make the purchase he said it was unreal. Now he is a believer and would start posting aswell soon. Steemit is not just a social network it is a way of life, a chance to improve one's standard of living and loving it at the same time. Doing what you love and giving hope for a better life for everyone.

P1060641.JPG

I'm glad I found Steemit and beginning to share with some colleagues and people whom I encounter every time I go out for content.

Now my only problem is how to get rid of the old refrigerator. Keep on Steemin Steemians and never give up! Cheers!

I thank all the Steemians out there who made this possible.

Thanks @blocktrades smooth transaction which was perfect. Looking forward for more exchanges in the future.

Also my man Terry! You are awesome you inspire us to say YES and stop the No's and let's live life as it should be. Much love ma man Terry!

Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Taken with Lumix GX85

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

Nice Story! =)
Steem on!

Thanks mate it's all about the passion.

That is so exciting!!! Congrats to you guys, and YAY Steem!

Thank you it was an experience for us. Everyone was in awe when we told the story and would not believe.

Wow!! Congratulations! Such a great inspiration :)

Hey thanks. I'm honored to inspire someone :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15