How to Make a Wire Wrap Dragon Eye Pendant - Full Tutorial

in #steemmakers6 years ago

Hello my Steemian friends, at your request I wrote a full tutorial on how to make a wire wrap dragon eye pendant. It is my own way to create these beauties, hopefully you get inspired and add some more interesting details to my designs. Looking forward to hearing from you!

This is the pendant I just made.

first.jpg

You need wire and a dragon eye. I used silver plated wire 20 ga and copper wire 26 ga. The dragon eye is painted by me, on a glass pebble from the dollar store. Here is the tutorial on how to paint the dragon eye: How to paint dragon eyes pebbles

First steps are to cut the silver wire in 5 pieced about 10 inches long. You will hold these 5 pieces of wire together with a little fancy waving. I did a pattern of 5 rotation on one wire, 2 on 2, 2 on 3, 2 on 4, 2 on 5 and back down, as shown in photo. Make 5 triangles and don't worry much about the perfect look, as these wires will be in the back, not very visible. After the 5th triangle keep wrapping around the bottom wire for 1-2".

step1.jpg

Next step is to make another weave on the top 3 wires, as shown. Use pattern 2 on 1,2 on 2, 2 on 3, 2 on 2, 2 on 1, it looks cool and it's easy. Finish again with about 1" coils on the last wire.

step2.jpg

Next step: work in the opposite site. Weave together the 2 wires from the middle, as shown. Again, don't stress too much for the perfect weaving, it takes practice. Just try to work neatly.

step3.jpg

Your weaving is done! The fun part begins! Now you must shape the wires around your dragon eye. Be gentle, the wire is your friend. Use my examples in the pictures. Notice the top part is bent towards you, we're making a layer, to symbolize the eye lid.

step5.jpg

Now you need to work on the eye cabochon. In my case I use a pebble. This pebble needs to be secured and wrapped. I used a steampunk gear, here is a tutorial on how to do this wrap: How to wrap a dragon eye cabochon

step4.jpg

Place the wire wrapped eye in the already shaped frame. The wire #2 from both sides will be used to secure the dragon eye in the back, as shown in picture. Bend and twist the wire, don't cut the ends because we will coil them.

step6.jpg

At this point the dragon eye is held properly and it won't move. You will see 2 long wires hanging, bring them to the front of the pendant, across the bottom of the eye, it will symbolize the bottom eye-lid.

We are finishing the pendant now by coiling all the ends. At this point you use your own imagination and try to make it look very pretty. Use fine pliers and also your own fingers ;)

step7.jpg

The Dragon Eye Pendant is finished, but we still need a bail, so we can hang it. Cut a piece of silver wire, coil the ends and secure it on the back of the pendant with some copper wire. Make sure it is centered!

step8.jpg

Congratulations! You completed the tutorial! Now you know how to make an amazing piece of jewelry. If you want to go a little more fancier, you can oxidize and polish the pendant, like I did!

oxidized.jpg

2divider.png

Follow me and my stories starjewel.gif

StarjewelsmQ.jpg

Sort:  

Curious.. I know I've been by a few of your posts with your jewelry.. but... do you have a store? Or do you do custom orders?

Hi, I do have a store, I am not sure if I can post the link to my store in my articles here, I surely don’t want to look spammy. Please visit! Http://www.etsy.com/shop/MagickStone

Oh it's not spammy on your own post.. plus I asked for it... 😊

THANK YOU!!!

thank you for asking for it!!!! i'm loving this post and can't wait to check out her store!

Yes you can totally promote yourself in your own posts!!

hehehe never spammy on your own post!!! LOL

can't wait to go check out your store! this is a FABULOUS creation! i have to tell @anutu about it - and i'll tell you about @anutu! hehehehe you both would probably get along well!

he does upcycled work and its soooo neat - he just did this beautiful moss watch tutorial! so interesting and unusual! hope you both enjoy each other's work!!!!

Thank you so much, I checked his blog, awesome. We do have things in common 😊

yes!!! i just read his post about his aunt's lipstick.... wow!!!! he is so creative

and i saw your etsy shop!!!! i have my eye on two pieces for Christmas time for friends!!! hehehehehe i really like your work!!!

I checked out your store, and there's no shipping to Australia. Is this something you'd consider? Would you be willing to accept steem for a few pieces?

@holoz0r Thank you for liking my pieces enough to purchase them. I would consider shipping to Australia and accepting steem, but I have to check how much it costs. Contact me through my store and let me know what pieces you like so we can take it from there. 😊

I discussed it with "She who must be obeyed" (my partner) - as a gift for my mother in law, it came to the conclusion that she wouldn't wear it, and it would end up in a draw somewhere. :(

I can't let that happen to your work!

Wonderful work and I really love it, it looks so easy. Is there any way how to isolate the wire ends, plastic material or something?

I always coil them and tuck them in, so those ends never stick out to scratch. If you know a method to isolate them, please share. 😊

so beautiful and great tutorial!

Thank you sweety 😊

Wow, well done on the pendant AND on the tutorial! Really great effort and eye for detail!

Thank you so much, hopefully someone will try to make it and maybe improve my technique 😊

What a great post!

I really enjoyed the attention to detail you took with something each and every step. I've got a lot of copper wire lying around, and your ability to transform essential scrap into beauty is very inspiring!

Thank you for sharing!

I wish I was living close to you so I can steal that copper wire 😉 I love to use scrap and to upcycle; unfortunately I have to buy wire from crafts stores, and it is not cheap ☹️

All the wire I have is stripped from old electrical cables - not sure it would have the same properties as the material you're using - it looks a fair bit thicker than the gauges of wire I've got!

Hi starjewel,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much 🙏

Absolutely wonderful and creative!

You can definitely link to your store in your posts here. It's not spammy and you sure have unique work people would like to see and buy. You can do all the tutorials you want, and I am fascinated. But I would never in a million years be able to do this myself. I am sure I am not alone in this feeling!

😊 Practice makes all of us better. But there must be some passion and talent in the mix. I might do crazy wire art, but I can’t play any instrument 🎻 🎺 🎷 for example 😊

Hello this is looking very lovely!!!i really like that you show every step of your creation the result is pretty nice . The eye made me think of the eye of sauron in the lord of the rings:)

He he my daughter said the same 😀

:) hehehe so it definitely looks like it:D

Hi @starjewel It is interesting to see how people make some of their jewelry. I loved the step-by-step process with the photos you provided. This makes me want to try to make this just to see if I can do it! Thanks for providing your link to your store in another comment. I will be sure to pass it along to a friend of mine who is obsessed with shopping on Etsy!

Yes, I love to look at tutorials too. It’s amazing what people can do with their hands. Thank you for liking my piece, go head and try it, if you have time. Please share the results with me 😊

I will definitely do that when I get some more free time. I have started following you so I can remember to do that when I get the chance! Hopefully it will be soon!

Great, sounds like a plan! I followed you too. Looking forward to read your posts. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60897.42
ETH 3369.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51