Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #71 - Second entry - Minted Lamb Keto WrapsteemCreated with Sketch.

So while I was making my Smoked Snoek Christmas Star Wreath, my son's girlfriend, who paid us a lovely surprise visit, made a Minted Lamb Keto Wrap - really delicious with a crunchy lettuce wrap and juicy Minted Lamb burger - zero carbs!
So I used her leftovers and put one together for lunch and did it taste good plus there was no bloating afterwards!
IMG_20181216_193918.jpg

The son and the girlfriend are now following a Keto diet - a lifestyle they tell me :)
I was curious as this sounded very much like Paleo and Banting but discovered there were slight differences - all these diets allow high protein and fats but low or zero carbs. The Keto lifestyle is specifically designed to make the body go into Ketosis where the body is starved of carbs and burns fat for energy thus creating ketones in the body.
Read more about the differences and the benefits here.

Back to my second entry for week #71.
Ingredients

  • Lean organic free-range ground Lamb
  • 1 Red Onion diced
  • Mint finely diced
  • Garlic crushed
  • 1 free range Egg
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Grated Cheddar Cheese
  • Large lettuce leaf
  • 1 Red Onion sliced
  • 1 Tomato sliced
  • Bell Pepper

Mix meat, diced onion, garlic, egg & seasoning & form patties
IMG_20181216_184309.jpg
Shallow fry patties on both sides in olive oil on medium high heat, top with grated cheese to melt and fry extra sliced onions if you like your wraps/burgers served with caramelised onions
IMG_20181216_184400.jpg
Place large lettuce leaf on serving plate & top with cheesy minted lamb burger pattie
IMG_20181216_191705.jpg
Next to the party is sliced Tomatoes, salt and freshly ground black Pepper
IMG_20181216_192441.jpg
Then sliced sweet red Onions
IMG_20181216_192635.jpg
Wrap it all up neatly in the lettuce leaf, garnish with Bell Pepper and enjoy :)
IMG_20181216_193657.jpg
Sliced in half to reveal the juicy minted Lamb burger patty
IMG_20181216_193918.jpg
And almost forgot the proof photo - had already eaten one half of this delicious wrap - the son and girlfriend may still convert me ;)
IMG_20181216_201959.jpg
And as usual a quick look-see for all the busy people
IMG_20181216_184116-ANIMATION.gif

So guys and dolls, come show us your sandwiches here on @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #71 sponsored by @llfarms, a nice bounty to be won plus you'll meet some real nice people too ;)

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Looks luscious. I have been following a Keto diet for several months. It's worked nicely for me and within 4lbs of goal weight.

So why am I eating the Christmas Cookies my neighbor gave me today? I have asked the same question and the answer is "because they are so goooood." It'll take a couple days to get back to ketosis :) I just happen to know :)

That's good to hear @bigtom13 - not about the neighbour's cookies contravention though, but hey it can be fixed not so ;) My son researches anything in detail before he embarks on it and apparently there are other health benefits too! I often only eat half a bun as I feel overfull eating a whole bun with all that filling, this lettuce wrap was surprisingly satisfying and as I said there was none of the usual bloatedness afterwards!
Thanks for your valued comments :)

Smoked Snoek

Whenever I see this out of the corner of my eye, I read "Smoked Snake" ... which is different.

Definitely not smoked snake LOL, that would be beyond gross!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 344 (12/18/18)

Thank you so very much @thesteemengine :)

It's been a while since some1 has done a multi entry week ! Used to be pretty frequent, so this is great to see.

Those lamb burgers look fantastic, one of my fav types of burgers to make!

I like how you took inspiration from your son's gf. Lettuce wrap lol.

Good colour scheme and overall pres!

Thank you @jaybird, definitely making this again! Where are all the sandwiteers?!

They're out there somewhere. Low crypto markets usually cause low participation. Most of my favourites are still entering and they deserve the prizes so I'm fine with it.

Awesome sandwich idea @lizelle...love the no bread option! We all need more of this especially during the holidays! Saves more room for desserts ;) Love it! 2 entries this week, you're amazing my friend! Good luck!

Thank you my friend, somehow missed your comment here! My son & his girlfriend are always onto healthier options, we really enjoyed having this lettuce burger. Making one tonight for a light Saturday meal ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60