Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #33 - Smoked Chicken & Corn Bread Tuck-in

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

@jaybird has certainly revolutionised sandwich making here on steemit with his #steemitsandwichcontest, and we're already into SSC Week 33.
I highly recommend you enter this contest as you not only stand to win some decent steem, but you also get to meet awesome steemians.
My entry for this week is the Tuck-in Smoked Chicken Corn Bread, where everyone gets to sit around the table, tuck in and help themselves to delicious Corn Bread with a smoky chicken & mushroom filling.
IMG_20180324_205937.jpg

A Corn Bread ring with creamy Smoked Chicken & Mushroom filling in the middle ;)
Firstly, this Corn Bread is super easy and gets cooked in the microwave oven in a ring pan, I used a ring mold that was very popular in the 70s for gelatine based desserts and it worked like a bomb!
I will briefly tell you how to make the bread, so here are the ingredients for that:
IMG_20180324_171035_1.jpg
Spray a microwavable ring pan and sprinkle with paprika, fresh herbs & grated cheese.
IMG_20180324_175119.jpg
Grate 2 whole cobs of corn (or use 1 can creamstyle Sweetcorn - or plain Sweetcorn)
IMG_20180324_175132.jpg
Add 2 tablespoons sugar if using fresh corn - omit if using canned sweetcorn.
Add 2 Eggs & mix well.
IMG_20180324_180008.jpg
Add & mix well: 1 cup Maize Meal, 1 cup Cake Wheat Flour, 1 teaspoon Salt & 4 teaspoons Baking Powder (not baking soda)
Spoon into prepared ring pan.
IMG_20180324_211138.jpg
Cover with paper towel and cook on high for 7 minutes.
IMG_20180324_211114.jpg
Leave to rest a little before turning out. Place serving platter on top & invert corn bread.
IMG_20180324_210952.jpg
Carefully remove ring pan.
IMG_20180324_210918.jpg
Filling ingredients:
IMG_20180324_184410.jpg
Sautee chopped Spring Onions and Mushrooms.
IMG_20180324_184555.jpg
Add about 3/4 cup natural Yogurt.
IMG_20180324_184921.jpg
Thicken with about a tablespoon of Cornflour.
IMG_20180324_185133.jpg
Stir in sliced or diced Smoked Chicken fillets & a little grated cheese.
IMG_20180324_210750.jpg
Pile filling into middle of Corn Bread Ring...sandwich filling can only go in the middle, not so ;)
IMG_20180324_210003.jpg
IMG_20180324_195205.jpg
Everyone around our table tucked in and helped themselves to this giant sandwich.
IMG_20180324_205823.jpg
Hubby enjoying his sandwich :)
IMG_20180324_205911.jpg
My proof photo:
IMG_20180324_210249.jpg
A quick look at the process :)
20180325_113026-ANIMATION.gif


Original Content by @lizelle
Please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

oh my oath, I double vote this sandwich! this looks Epic @lizelle

This is...😋😋. Would definitely love to try it someday.

Thanks @mizdais, hope you get to make even just the corn bread

I definitely will when I do, and will sure do tag you when I do @lizelle

I totally agree. Would love to make it and enjoy it sometime in the near future.

Thanks @intrepidsurfer, have been so busy, must check out the competition ;)

Well busy or not, you have turned in an amazing sandwich today. This week has been rammed with sandwiches from all over the world. Plus with such variety. It is amazing to see.

The contest is hotting up for sure, don't envy @jaybird having to choose a winner!

Jeezus....I'm kinda speechless in some sense. What is going on here lol.

So many good ingredients here...Is this a wild, baked & loaded cornbread sandwich...?

Looks crazy good!

A friend brought me some fresh corn and it gave me the idea to make a cornbread sandwich ring, the filling is still in the middle not so ;)

This creativity of a sandwich is so amazing! I love the combination of ingredients ... the flavors and textures! The presentation is wonderful as well as the family/friends, like you said, can gather and share in the fun.

This is another one of yours I would like to try making. I need to be creative with the gelatin ring mold though. Don't have one but growing up in the Philippines, I remember using my mom's! I wish I had all the time in the world to try making all these recipes I'm learning from Steemit including yours.

Thanks again for a wonderful dish and for sharing your knowledge!

Thank you so very much for the awesome comments @offoodandart, the cornbread is very easy and actually much nicer if you use the canned creamstyle sweetcorn, can be baked in any microwave dish. It's very likely your Mom's mold was a Tupperware one like mine, it's ancient...like me :)

=D

Thanks for the tip about using creamstyle corn. I do have something in mind for what to bake it in. Once I've done a #myturn on it, I'll certainly let you know.

Btw, if you haven't heard of MyTurn, check these out when you get a chance:
Michellectv's Vodka Buck
Leelektrik's Lettuce Soup

Thanks I did not know about that, will certainly check it out :) Great idea this tag, I've got a couple of posts I've bookmarked with great recipes!

I think it's quite fun trying out others' recipes then giving them the deserved credit. =D

Hello Friend how are you? God this is a good sandwich I love corn bread or everything that has to do with corn, have you tasted cachapas? This is getting better every time, we are all very good with our styles, success for this week I see that you have done very well I already published my entry

Hey @yesslife, had a hectic Monday here, and I agree the contest is hotting up so we all have to up our game hey ;)
Will check your entry out, good luck!

How are you friend @lizelle how is your start of the week? I like this, corn is used a lot in my country, corn cakes, maize hallaquitas, many delicious things are prepared, I think it made my mouth water with this, success for this week 33

Hey @andrina, nice seeing you again & thank you! Sounds like you make interesting stuff with corn, I just love it :)

If in my country you can find many things to do with corn, the taste is incredible

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Like what we do? Consider voting for us as a steemit witness.


Thank you @curator, really appreciate your shout out!

I enjoy all the pics and thorough step by step instructions. Looks awesome! I really like the corn bread ring. I can think of some fillings to put in there but your creamy smoked chicken and mushroom mixture looks delicious. Great job. Good luck.

Thank you so much @tesscooks4u, you're right, one can think up all kinds of fillings for this & the corn bread is even nice eaten on its own, hot with thick butter!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 20:57:34
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 346.70/200.00
Total Photos: 64
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Never heard of it before. Looks tasty.

Love your inventive recipe..looks like such an amazing recipe. Like your step by step, photos too @lizelle!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68434.91
ETH 3745.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66