Home made pitas and falafel for steemit sandwich contest week 90

in #steemitsandwichcontest5 years ago (edited)

image

Today I was making my own pitas, they only sell small pitas at the shop and you can't put much in it, so I just made my own with some falafel, because they are quite expensive to buy and some of the ingredients have a lot of numbers (nasty preservatives). To make the pitas it is only 4 things needed.

Ingredients for pita

300g holemeal flour
2 tablespoons dried yeast
Pinch of salt
200ml warm water

Just a matter of mixing those things up and rolling them out.

image

Preheat oven nice and warm and bang them in until they rise and go golden brown, it doesn't take long, about 10 minutes.

image

Falafel is also quite easy to make, here is a bullet proof recipe.

Ingredients for falafel

500g cooked chickpeas
1 potato cooked
1 onion
4 garlic cloves
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 teaspoon Black pepper
Pinch of salt

I like to use turmeric in most of the things I cook because of the health benefits, anti inflammatory, restoration of cells and fights off cancer, black pepper needs to be with it to help activate it, I found this information from Dr Greger.

I cook the potato with the skin on and once cooked I peel it off. First in the food processor goes the onions and garlic with parsley.

image

Then chickpeas, spices and potato

image

Once processed roll in some crumbs and lay on a tray.

image

And baked for 30 minutes.

image

OK so what's inside the pita? We got home made lemon and mustard humus with spinach leaves, tomatoes, avo, cucumber, sour kraut, carrot, yellow pepper and falafel.

image

image

image

It was massive, and I was absolutely stuffed after that, but it was worth it, totally awesome!

Thanks for checking out my pitas and enjoy the rest of the weekend!

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9UPkojdU5SsMGgrV3Fru2GAPRGnYtQPcUPCBrsEpKzT2zne8q4aT1C7NxQ83vHn3dj9rF3XeeT8WTndu1uGg3RZkFWd.gif

Sort:  

Your pitas look a little bit like bread which I probably like better than pita from the shop. I'm not such a fan of a very soft bread :)

I love falafel! Don't make it too often at home as it tastes best when it's fresh and we are just two of us so we're not able to finish one batch and I'm too lazy to bake a small batch every day :)

Your pita sandwich is epic!!! Thank you for sharing and have a lovely weekend!

Thank you very much @delishtreats

Fast-food for real foodies like myself yumyumyum


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh, this makes me very hungry @gguy773, well done. I love making my own pitas, you're right, the ones you buy are too small and full of extra "stuff" Great sandwich!!

Thanks @birdsinparadise, it's always better to do it yourself 🙂

Oh yum @gguy773, this looks absolutely scrumptious and so healthy, a meal all on its own! That Pita bread looks amazing!

Thanks @lizelle, glad you like it.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Awesome home made pita and falafel. Love the sing too lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60930.55
ETH 2367.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48