STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE BY LADY PENELOPE - THE POOCHIE SMOOTHIE

in #steemitrecipes8 years ago (edited)

                                                         

photocredit - Barklots

As most people who have read my post know, I am an avid fan of smoothies, juices and healthy foods. So when I was directed to look at the Steemit Culinary challenge by @englishchrivy it seemed a great way to connect hopefully with more Steemit friends.  

I spend most of Friday night looking through my books, online recipes to see what I could create that was original, would give good content and would make people remember me and smile :) NO PRESSURE -MUCH!!

SO AFTER MUCH DELIBERATION, HAIRPULLING AND READING …....

 TRA-LA............                       THE WHOLESOME POOCHIE SMOOTHIE!

YES that right folks – I created a smoothie that you  can give your dog as a treat.  The poochie smoothie is full of healthy veg and fruit with some protein from the meat. Dogs can be given certain vegetables and fruit that are not harmful for them. Given raw is ok or cooked and mixed into their meat is the usual way to get some healthy goodness into your beloved pooch. ( if not sure ask your vet for advice )

My dog at 4yrs old                                    

I have been giving my two dogs smoothies on and off for years as I want them to have all the same health benefits I have from my smoothies. I usually give them the left over veg from Sunday dinner, minus the gravy as its too salty. At the moment I am feeding a STRAY DESERT DOG, HONEY and decided to try this on her.......

What are the Health Benefits - Now I'm not a vet or a health professional but I grew up being told veg is good for you , “so eat it all up”! with this in mind I went about creating the Liver, Broccoli and Banana PoochSmoothie- (bear with me on this) Can dogs eat Veg and Fruit and What are the Health Benefits?

                                                           Source Citizen Tv  

Health Benefits:

Broccoli: - like little trees on a plate – but full of amazing goodness – high in Vitamins and Antioxidents to fight off infections, can bolster your immune system with a large dose of the beta-caroten broccoli contains. Good for eyes because of the high vitamin A content and trace mineral, zinc. And last, but not least, broccoli is high in fibre which is good for your digestive tract, preventing constipation and other bowel symptons – handy if your a street dog living off rubbish.

Bananas: #1 Superfood in a fruit bowl – yes seriously, that little yellow fruit that we all love is so high in goodness it takes the no.1 spot for being top for health benefits. High in natural sugars and fibre, bananas have more carbohydrates, Vitamin A and iron that the average Apple – should give banana's to the Doctor to keep him away!

Rich in pottasium and fibre, this little powerfruit can boost your energy levels when blood sugars are low. The pottasium in bananas helps the body's blood flow and deliver oxygen to the brain – good for “Honey”, the Desert Dog, if she needs to be alert to any dangers! 

2 little known fact that banana's are also good for – PMS for women, Bananas have plenty of vitamin B6. Some studies suggest that B6 may reduce symptoms of premenstrual syndrome (PMS), according to the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Dietary Supplements (source Lifestcript.com) Secondary, hangover cure – the natural vitamins and sugars can ease the pain of a hangover – liquidise a banana with natural yogurt and honey. The banana will calm the stomach and the honey helps to restore the blood sugar levels to normal. - Helpful to know, don't think Honey needs it for this though...


Peanut Butter: - dogs love peanut butter, or at least everydog I've had loves it, so I am guessing all dogs love it as well as humans!! Does it have any HealthBenefits? - Yes you will be surprised to know – lots actually (thankfully as I love PB&Jelly sandwiches). Packed full of nutrients, it was first made by the Aztecs and has lasted the course of time. Note avoid brands that have added sugar and oils, these are not so good, organic is much better for you.

Energy Boost - Peanut butter is high in calories and is therefore high in nutrition, including vitamin B3, tryptophan, and manganese. It contains both protein and healthy monosaturated fats, a good energy pick-me-up when you crave something to give you a boost. Improves Circulation due to its levels of iron content – helps maintain good ciruculation. Good for pottassium, magnesium and calcium, all good bone strengtheners. Very Good for Honey to maintain healthy bones.


So that was the fruit and veg element of the smoothie, but no dog will just drink this, I had to entice her in with something more appetising, something that smelled too good to miss........LIVER!


YES I went and bought 1kg of CHICKEN LIVER to supplement her diet. Cost me the grand total of $2 – bargain.  I told the butcher what I wanted it for and he looked at me as if I was crazy...apparently Chicken Liver is a delicacy here...oops 

                                                              

HEALTH BENEFITS OF LIVER

Boosts Immune System 

Liver is full of iron, helping to fight anemia and keeping your immune system in premium health.

High in Vitamin A:

You may be surprised to learn that Liver is  brimming with vitamin A in the form of retinol, alpha and beta-carotene including lycopene. With all of this its very good for optimal eye care – good for Honey to watch out for any dangers.

Keeps teeth and bones healthy -Rich in phosphorous, this makes it good for the teeth, gums and bone.

Good for the building of body tissue. A good source of Riboflavin (Vitamin B2) – this is essential for normal reproduction, growth, repair and development of body tissues including the skin. Chicken liver is loaded with 2.3mg of riboflavin; all good for Honeys' development and growth.

 

So here is the magic .............                      THE POOCH SMOOTHIE

                                                                                                                                        

INGREDIENTS:

250grms of chicken liver – cooked and chopped

5 florets of broccoli - 

¼ banana 

½ apple – NO SEEDS poisonous to dogs

1 tablespoon Peanut butter – organic if possible

filtered water

                                                                      

                                                                      

TO MAKE:

Place all the ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. 

Pour into 'Fido's' bowl and let the slurping begin or alternative if 'Fido' is not so sure – try mixing it over some of his/her biscuits/pasta/rice

                                                                          

HOPE YOU have enjoyed a different take on my usual smoothie recipes - should you feel brave by all means have some! - if not just think of the natural goodness you are giving your dog.


For more normal smoothies/juices/healthy food and living, please feel free to FOLLOW me – new friends always welcomed and comments definitely appreciated

HAPPY SMOOTHIE-ING  :)

THE FOLLOWING PICTURES ARE OF HONEY AND HER POOCHIE SMOOTHIE 

                                                                           


                                                                           

As night closes in - we head back home and 'Honey' heads back to where she sleeps in the basement of an empty villa, full tummy and happy :)

                                                                          

                                                                         

                                                                                 THATS ALL FOLKES! 


                                              




Sort:  

@ladypenelope1 hi, is this your entry for the Steemit Culinary Challenge?
if it is please use #steemitculinarychallenge, #food-trail and #steemtrail.
The pics aren't visible, I could copy paste them on my browser though and finally see them.

If you go back to your pics on imgur -

  • click on the pic and you would see the link and the word COPY beside it and beside it is an arrow pointing down
  • click on that drop down and you'll find Direct Links under Edit Image.
    When you click on the Direct Links
  • you'll find BBCode(Forums)
  • click COPY beside it and paste it here.

Good luck and I hope you get to see this soon.

yes it is and its been a trial and error with photo's etc tinyapps then Imgur - now I think I have got it - couldn't find original instructions and couldn't get pics to up load etc etc etc - now redone and hopefully its worked - thanks so much for help:)

@ladypenelope1 that's great! now it's all set up.
One more thing,

I spend most of Friday night looking through my books, online recipes to see what I could create that was original, would give good content and would make people remember me and smile :) NO PRESSURE -MUCH!!

Although, it has no hit on the net, I just want to confirm that this pooch smoothie recipe is all out of your own genius and if they happen to come out of those books or the net please cite the source. I hope you understand. Thank you.

please get back - so I could acknowledge this

anyway, all you have to do is confirm or cite the book source if it's from in there.

Also, the pic with the group of veggies on it - would you also please cite the source of that one - unless it's yours, too.

It's 11 hours before the challenge closes so since this is technically all your work - photos, writing and execution of recipe - I'm giving you the chance to get back to confirm or cite sources- and this entry would be counted since you have already posted it before closing time and I hope the community understands that. Let's all give her a chance - posting here has been a challenge for her lately so - let's give a leeway. Thank you.

Hi @englishchrivy I used up stuff that I had left over in the fridge, went and bought the liver especially - so I guess I can call it my own - I was actually looking for a different one for PEOPLE when i had this "lightbulb" idea - so if its ok I would like to
enter it if ok with everyone else :) and thank you to you for being a great person and helping me today :) all the photo's are my own except for the two I have labelled and sourced.

@ladypenelope1 thank you for getting back at me and for understanding, too and sorry for the late reply
Entry acknowledged!

@ladypenelope1 in case you are having trouble again, I made this post for you and the many others who had a hard time with pics. Keep writing!

thankyou appreciated - I have now starting to use Imgur you recommended and its so much simpler than Tinypic, and it works!! Bonus .
I enjoyed this 'cullinary challenge' well done for suggesting it .

Best wishes Penelope :)

This is a very interesting take on a traditional smoothie, modifying it for dogs.
She appears to have really enjoyed it!

she certainly did - I have been feeding her for the last 6 weeks, left overs etc - trying to make her life a little more comfortable - got a few video and photo's going to do a blog when i can figure out how to upload video!
thank you for your kind words :)

You are most welcome and I thought you did a great job.

hehehe the cute lil dog :) Resteemed

thankyou , and for the resteemed appreciated - Honey is getting better and more trusting of us - hopefully one day she will let me pat her!!

Not that this isn't a great recipe but the pic with dog having a go at the smoothie is a great find. :-)

thankyou - it was and just fitted in nicely for me . :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

You are so sweet to your dogs! And that's a clever idea for the smoothie challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55